We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Price, Helpful Owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Price, Helpful Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Comfortable studio apartment at hotel prices. Owners arranged for our reef tour and car rental (including after hours pick up!). Great suggestions for restaurants and activities in the rain forest and beyond. The shuttle was a bonus until we picked up our car. Thanks!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SJLH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
You are very welcome. We enjoy helping our guests make the most of their stay with us in Cairns and were pleased we could save you some money by hiring a car to see some of the beautiful region. We hope the rest of your trip was just as nice although I know, the Great Barrier Reef and Cairns will be a little hard to beat but them I am biased. Take care and have a lovely Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    198
    43
    11
    12
See reviews for
125
263
44
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at this inn the 2nd week of October and really enjoyed the hospitality of the owners, the location, and the price! The Breakfast and shuttle opportunities saved us money. We could have stayed at a place on the beach and paid triple the price. If you are wanting a nice size room with a kitchen and a location only 2 blocks from the beach, we highly recommend Dave and Sharon’s Reef Palms! Thank you again. Your friends in the Dallas TX area.

Room Tip: Not close in but they have a shuttle service to downtown. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
And I have to say you guys were wonderful and Dave and I enjoyed having you stay with us. Dave loves taking guests around in the shuttle bus as it gives him a chance to have a chat. We have many guests from all over the USA stay with us and it is very interesting to hear about their hometowns and how very different the seasons are from here in Cairns! We tend to live in shorts and teeshirts all year around so it is very different for us to hear that guests will be having a frozen christmas while we try to escape the heat! Christmas will soon be here so we wish you a very Merry Christmas and hope you will come and see us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We arrived on a Sunday eve and there was a bit of difficulty getting in as the front desk was closed, but we managed to raise the owners! A reasonable Ozzie pub within walking distance for a meal, but otherwise you would need to drive to eat out. Great room with really good kitchen area, so you can be completely self-catering if you choose. Very comfy and clean bed. Breakfast was basic but good. Nice little pool, which we didn't have time to use. Close to the airport so there is a bit of plane noise, but this didn't bother us at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for writing, it was nice to hear from you. With 2 great pubs and Indian and Italian restaurant all within 7 minutes walk, yes you are right, there are places to eat locally. The city is full of different eating locations but a great tip for our guests who have hire cars is to go up past the Botantical Gardens Edge Hill has some terrific eateries and this is where the locals eat! We hope that the rest of your stay in Australia was great. Happy Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed only one night at Reef Palms on our way to the Daintree and this was perfect for us. It was a $15 (i think) taxi from the airport away, clean and when we couldn't find the keys to unlock the padlock on our bags the owner came to the rescue with a pair of cutters. The breakfast was simple but more than adequate. Lots of information and assistance was available in the lobby for tours and attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
It is always a bit of fun for us when we have to provide unusual services to our guests. Cutting locks off bags provides entertainment for us all to have a giggle. You were great guests and it was a shame you could not have stayed with us longer - hope you didn't have any more bag issues on your journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here at the start of our honeymoon travelling along the east coast of Australia. As we had previously mentioned that we were on honeymoon when we booked our room, we were told on our arrival that our room had been upgraded with a spa bathroom, which was a lovely gesture, and very much appreciated. Sharon and David, the proprieters, were fantastic at helping us 'settle in' and arranged all the excursions we wanted to go on, with ease and professionalism (Cairns Night Zoo/Tjapukai/Kuranda and a Great Barrier Reef snorkelling trip)
There is free internet in the reception area and a 'drop-off ' service into Cairns city centre (which was very useful, as it is a bit of a trek into town, if you do not hire a car and are not used to the tropical heat!)
The pool/barbecue area is well maintained, and the in-built jacuzzi next to a rockery is a fantastic feature. The laundry machines available are also really usefull, if you are staying for a week or more (as we were.) The owners/staff really make this a special place to stay in Cairns and we highly recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteBfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
David and I always are thrilled when couples choose to stay with us for their honeymoon, it is our pleasure to try to offer upgrades when available. You were a lovely couple and we enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope the remaining time you spent in Australia provides you with fond memories for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

When we first checked in I thought Sharon was a bit brash, but once we got chatting I realised my initial opinion was wrong, If you want any advice on trips to book she had so much knowledge, she is definitely the person to ask. She booked any trips you were interested in. The hotel offers a pick up and drop off service which was also very helpful, The rooms are very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. The hotel is a little out of town if you want to walk, but only about 5 minutes in the car to drive and plenty of parking in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write, we really appreciate our guests feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed the trips I was able to organize for you and that your time in Cairns was all that you expected. If ever you travel to Cairns again, we'd love to have you come back and stay and I can send you to so many other interesting places. Take care and have a lovely Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goirle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The best hotel we had! A very warm welcome from Sharon and her daughter. The room was very good, self contained is very nice. Nice spacey room with a little garden and 2 chairs and a table. Good BBQ place with plenty of space. Nice spacey room with a little garden and 2 chairs and a table. The tips for our trips were excellent. The transport from the hotel to the trips , extra tourist tips: GREAT!

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have a little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you very much for writing and for staying with us. Your kind review is much appreciated and we hope that if you are ever in Cairns again that you will come and stay with us.
The weather is getting quite warm now and Christmas will be here very soon. We all wish you and your family a lovely christmas and a prosperous 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing