We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic value”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and very impressed from reception to breakfast to room quality were unbelievable value for money. Reception were the most helpful we have experienced in Australia and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the option of breakfast is great, my husband had the full cooked breakfast and it was fantastic and great value for money, I had the continental one and there was so much choice and again great value for money. Keep up the good work Reef Palms you have it right.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magalan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Wow. Thank you very much. We love it when our guests enjoy their time with us. Neale will appreciate the comments regarding breakfasts as this is his specialty. Thanks again for staying with us and hope your enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was the 1st time we have been to Australia, and for our stay in Cairns we decided to stay at the "Reef Palms". We believe we couldn't have picked a better place. The Staff were fantastic and the service 1st class, our room was spacious, clean & well equipped.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northern20358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We are very happy we were able to make your first stay in Australia and enjoyable experience. We love to help our guests enjoy their time here in our beautiful part of the country. Hoping the rest of your time in Australia was as good and that you get the chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very clean, large and well equipped motel style apartments with kitchen facilities. Located
half an hour walk to the centre of town, it’s very reasonably priced. The owners were very
helpful with drinking and dining options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaninaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in August, I hope you enjoy fond memories of your trip to Australia and that you loved Cairns best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Like my heading says great place for everything except the internet connection. We are staying here for 8 nites and after 4 nites we have only been able to get to our email twice and only for a short time in the early AM hours. Kind of a bummer as we like to check back home with the family and send them a daily update and picture of the daily highlight. Oh well.........
But other than that Allyson & Neale are great hosts. They have gotten us booked on a few trips/tours and we are grateful for that. We would never have been able to do that ourselves given the internet bug we have experienced. Today we drove up to Port Douglas and got connected very easily at Target.
So back to Reef Palms - stay there and find a place to go for your internet stuff - you will not be disappointed. Ask to get a room in their newer 3 floor section.
I would stay there again and maybe get some sort of access point device to stay in touch back home easier.

Room Tip: stay in 3 story tower in back for quiet newer rooms. don't even try to get on the internet. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about Alison and Neale today, they are indeed a great couple who are helping us manage the motel at present. I am sorry the internet was hard to connect to. When we first introduced free internet for our guests, it was working well however with guests now trying to download movies and their newspapers, upload pictures, skype etc, it means some guests can't access. We appreciate your feedback and are installing extra routers in the coming weeks to rectify this issue. We do have an additional PC available free of charge in reception that allows guests internet access. Enjoy the rest of your trip in Australia and have a wonderful 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Reef Palms is a small and cozy motel located slightly away from the center of Cairns. The rooms are clean and reasonably maintained, but will be requiring a makeover soon. What really makes the difference though is the service - the hosts are really friendly and take very good care of you. They help you with all the bookings for tours and make suggestions for activities in and around Cairns. They take you to the center of Cairns by a free shuttle every morning and evening in order to solve your transport problem (at least one way). They also provide washing and drying facilities at a charge. Breakfast of bread and cereal is also provided for a charge - makes things convenient for you during the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi Subramani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Our staff really enjoy helping our guests enjoy their time in Cairns and helping them select trips to make the most of their stay here with us. It is always lovely to have guests from Singapore, one of my favourite shopping destinations that holds fond memories for me come and stay with us. 2014 has now begun and with it, the opportunity for us to enjoy another year welcoming guests to Cairns. Have a wonderful 2014 and again, thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We spent five nights at Reef Palms in December and had a pleasant stay. The service here is top notch - we felt well cared for. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the location quite nice as it sits a bit outside of the main hustle and bustle of Cairns. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. The esplanade is a short two blocks from Reef Palms, which we found to be absolutely perfect for morning or evening walks/jogs along the waterway. Parking at Reef Palms and in downtown was never a problem. The pool was very nice - clean and welcoming on a hot summer afternoon. The washer and dryer were convenient and easy to use.

Overall, our room needed an update, especially the kitchen. While all of the main appliances (toaster, fridge, kettle) met our basic cooking needs, the kitchen ware was cheap and well used. The knives in our unit were falling apart. The plastic pitcher reeked of vinegar (which we could not remove) and needed to be replaced...not a very welcomed addition to your lemonade. With a few basic replacements, the kitchen in our unit would be much improved.

Be warned - the 'wireless broadband' available in all units is...well...not really available. Consider yourself without internet during your stay here. Most of your time spent online will be wasted simply trying to stay connected or loading a basic email client. We found the claim of available internet very misleading. If your internet needs lie beyond using an email client at off peak hours, this isn't your place.

Overall, Reef Palms was a great place to stay, but had a few drawbacks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLTRTW1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for writing, it is nice to know that you enjoyed staying with us. I do apologise for the inconvenience with the internet, we are currently waiting for two extra routers to be installed to try to alieviate the slowness and difficulty of connecting to our service so we are trying to work through this issue. Take care and have a wonderful 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent five nights at the Reef Palms hotel. Would definitely recommend staying here especially if you are looking for self contained. Rooms are very clean and a good size for four adults. The front desk was very helpful, although we didn't really need much guidance as we have been to cairns several times. Great location near the airport and a reasonable walk into the city...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for writing and staying with us. It is great to see guests returning to this wonderful region. We hope that when you come to Cairns again, you will stay with us again. Have a wonderful 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £62 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing