We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Motel, not quite central.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Motel, not quite central.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have stayed in some great places on our travels, Reef Palms is up there with the best. A five minute cab ride from the airport, We were greeted by a nice reception area with breakfast room adjacent. For the staff here nothing seems to be to much trouble.They even let us take pool towels for our trip to the reef. They assited us with information on eating and trips. Our room was spacious and clean Table and chairs, sofa, mini kitchen and small balcony. Nice bathroom. A laundry is available. Free Wifi and sports channels on TV. We loved the pool, and if it had not been for the other delights Cairns has to offer we would probably stayed there for the duration. The only downside is it is not quite walking distance to CBD it takes about 25 mins so you might have to use the bus or a cab, but its other atributes offset this All in all a top motel which I recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you very much for writing, it is always nice to know our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Easter is now upon us so we wish you an enjoyable Easter Break with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    199
    43
    11
    12
See reviews for
131
265
44
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed with my daughter here at the beginning of March. I have not one complaint about it. Sharon and David were most helpful and would do anything for you . We had already pre booked our trips but they advised us where to go in the town itself and what else there is to do. There are umbrellas for you to use when it rains which we were luck it didn't do a lot of. A courtesy mini bus into the town and also to the airport. The rooms were lovely and spacious and very clean, Loved the outdoor pool which was very warm and clean. It was like swimming in a rock pool - very picturesque. Walking into town took about 20 mins but was lovely along the sea front. Don't think it is fair to give less points for raining when it's not the owners' fault. Definitely a 10/10 and would most certainly recommend this and stay here again. You will not be disappointed with this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackwells2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi to you both, and didn't it rain! Thank heavens it has now stopped. Saturday was a terrible day and then Sunday, bright sunshine. I hope this gives you an excuse to come back to Cairns and see some one this of this Sunshine we keep talking about. Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. Have a Happy Easter from David and I and all the staff at Reef Palms Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at the Reef Palms Motel, from 31 March to 3 April as part of a 'round the world' trip.
On arrival, Sharon was very welcoming and informative about the excursions and activities within the local area, (she later booked all of our trips for us). She also advised on areas to avoid for safety purposes, (.e. sea crocodiles and stingers).
The room itself was large, very comfortable, clean and with a balcony overlooking the pool. Towels were changed and beds made daily. There were ample cooking facilities within the apartment.
Throughout our stay, both Sharon and husband Dave were consistently helpful and supportive. Dave runs a free shuttle service to pick up points at various times throughout the day, including the air-port. This proved an invaluable service.
The general ambiance within the motel was warm and friendly. Dave and Sharon were extremely helpful, even to the point of lending us their own insect repellent and after-sun, and helping with minor practical problems (i.e. when our make-up would not open!). There were excellent laundry facilities for guests. There was also a beautiful salt water pool with in built jacuzzi.
Overall, this was by far the most superior and comfortable motel of our entire trip. We also loved Sharon and Dave, who are a great, hospitable and welcoming couple. They are perfect hosts for your stay. If you are considering this motel, we would say 'go for it', it gives very good value for money and a first class service from the proprietors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolzoe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Girls! I see you made it home OK and I bet your mum's were pleased to see you both. It was lovely having you here, your smiling happy faces were a pleasure to see each evening when you came back and we discussed your adventures of the day. Please come and stay with us again if you ever come back this way again. Happy Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in Reef Palms from March 8 to 11, 2014.

After reading all the reviews about this place,only concern we had was internet , because some reviews mentioned the internet was not so good, so my husband email them to ask for a room with better internet connection and the internet in our room was super !

Since the reason we came to Cairns was for the Great Barrier Reef Experience,so we prepay a day trip on line even know nothing about Cairns, then we found out Reef Palms not only offers all kind of day trip booking , but also provides free transfer server to waiting spot. How thoughtful ! so we also book another day trip to Green Island through Sharon. Everything was going smoothly.

Cairns was the last destination of our Australia vacation and we were very grateful to stay in Reef Palm.

Very Thanks to Sharon and David :)


Tammy&Ondrej

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
David and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your stay not only with us but also to our beautiful country. Thank you for writing to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked our time they online as we forget to book the stay when we were planning our trip so we were just expecting a roof over our heads. David and Sharon were more than accommodating. They made day trips & taxis arrangements without batting an eye. The restaurant they suggested was so good we went twice. Thanks to both of them for they help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
It is always our pleasure to help our guests with tour bookings and transfers, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the rest of your stay in Australia was great too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

David and Sharon were wonderfully helpful hosts. This place is reasonable, very clean and great location to Cairns esplanade. David provides airport shuttle free. Lovely couple and lovely place. We booked second night we liked it so well

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
David and I are always delighted when guests like staying at Reef Palms so much that they extend their stay. Thank you for staying with us. The weather is finally clearing up after a couple of weeks of very wet weather. Everyone still seemed to have a good time and we had one lovely German couple who laughed at the rain every day - for them, at least it was warm instead of minus 2 degrees where they came from.....you just have to love Cairns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I traveled to Australia with friends in February 2013. We stayed at this hotel. $ 500 was stolen from the bag my friend while we was not in the room. We have been asking for help from the owner of the hotel. He promised to help us. But the next day his promises were not fulfilled. We had to go to the police. And in the end: it is necessary to store valuables in the safe, which does not have the keys. I do not recommend this hotel. The stay was spoiled. The hotel has no security cameras. Any outsider may open a room. Look at other hotels that have good safe and security.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I wonder whether you have selected the correct motel for this review. We have security cameras in our complex that monitor back to our front desk. We also have security gates in our complex that guests need to use to enter the complex with their room keys. Room safes are installed in all but one of our studios and the key to open the safe is available from reception at no extra charge to guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing