We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property to stay at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great property to stay at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent two nights here having gone to Cairns for the reef experience. Sharon and David are great hosts and the rest of their staff is friendly as well. The room was very well appointed. The kitchenette is compact and well designed. My daughter loved soaking it up in the tub!
We didn't get to the pool, but the guest laundry was very useful. Sharon also made our reef tour bookings for us at some very handsome discounts. It is no surprise at all that this property is ranked so high in the trip advisor rankings.
Don't expect any frilly hotel trappings but do expect bang for your buck!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmchairTraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much for writing and my apologies for taking a little while to reply. David and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again and next time, you get to use the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    198
    43
    11
    12
See reviews for
125
263
44
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The room was extremely clean and was equipped with everything you could need. The service by David and Sharon (the owners) as well as the employees were excellent, they tried to do anything possible to make our stay better. They provided umbrellas, tour advice and discounts, drop off services and helped exchange my airplane tickets twice. Had a nice pool also that was always empty of people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I'm very glad you are safely home and hope that your husband is feeling much better. It was my pleasure to help you re-organize flights, I'm just sorry your holiday was marred with a hospital stay! You were all such lovely people and I hope you can return to Cairns and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a clean large room with two queen size beds and well maintained kitchen that was more like a small apartment. The room was spotless and the staff at the front desk could not be more obliging. This hotel is about a kilometre away from the main restaurants on the Esplanade and we found it a very pleasant walk home after a delicious meal. The swimming pool is a good size and was very well maintained.The Reef Palms offers exceptional value in a modern setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanthosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you, your review was much appreciated. We recently hosted a number of athletes for the Triathalon here in Cairns and boy, did they have a wet long weekend. I always admire their grit and determination and we applaud they efforts. Some were rewarded with PB times and others were just happy to finish in the wet conditions. For whatever reason our guests visit Cairns, we are always thrilled when they select to stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Came here to stay one night after week long camping trip up north and found it quite nice. The best part was the gigantic bathtub that was greatly appreciated after camping out. Nice kitchenetty and the front desk got us a cab for an early flight out. Everything was nice.If I had to complain about anything was the lady that checked us in was not in a chippy mood like the man there, but still very good place and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank czechpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi and thank you for writing. I understand how nice a bath is after a couple of weeks camping!
Your stay with us was short however we appreciate you writing, perhaps if in the region again you will stay with us again and have a longer soak in that tub!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nothing flash but immaculately clean and had everything you could possibly need. Owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Very well placed for getting around and is close to town. I would recommend this to anyone looking for good value for money, clean quiet accommodation and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: I would go for 1st floor as some ground floors face the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Good Morning and thank you, our Housekeeping staff are always thrilled when their efforts are recognized and we appreciate you taking the time to write. David and I hope that you enjoyed your stay in Australia, our weather has not been particularly sunny of late and while it doesn't stop people enjoying themselves they have been a little soggy at the end of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent a few nights here before and after our overnight trips and had a wonderful stay. The room was spotless and comfortable on both occasions with a well equipped kitchenette and hot shower. There was a swimming pool and a communal BBQ which was the cleanest we have seen on our travels! Although the units were self-contained, there was a basic service everyday which we did not expect but appreciated.

Sharon and David were brilliant hosts and ready to answer any questions we had. They also offered to keep our luggage whilst on trips and allowed us to leave our car in their car park while we were away.

Location is a little further from the centre but we had our own transport. They do provide shuttle service into town every hour in the mornings though. Overall a brilliant stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write, David and I really appreciate it and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also hope that you enjoyed your time in Australia and that you will come and stay with us again if you are in the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and i stayed here for two weeks and we had a fantastic time could not complain about anything Sharon and david are host's they wiil try and make your stay there the best time of your life highly recomend will be back soon for another visit

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curdie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for writing - May is a great month to come to Cairns - it isn't too hot and even though we had a bit of rain this month, which is unusual, the walk into the city is lovely along the sea front where there is always something to see. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will stay with us again if you are in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing