We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome friendly quiet place..”
Review of Bohemia Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bohemia Central
Ranked #64 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome friendly quiet place..”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here after being denied at the Jack because I am Australian, but it turned out brilliant. The lovely gal at reception was really friendly and happy. The wifi is brilliant, the free breakfast great, the rooms quiet, guests are friendly and none of the drunkenmess I seen at most other places. It is a old place, so some may want more modern, but i feel old gives it charm. The pool is nice also :) For $20 it was nice sleep with fresh clean sheets, hot showers and fill up breakfast :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohemia_Central, Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Oh Scott!! I remember you :)
Very much thanx for writing down like this:-D
You are very nice man.
We will always do our best.
Have a good one. :)))))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
4
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

It was a great time.
Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR.
Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party.
Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean.
Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat.

All of staff are Sooooo kind. Thanks very much :))))

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkalkkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hi there~

Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party.
i wish we meet again.

Enjoy your travel.

Cheers ^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I appreciated it so much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaStings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you!

Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception.

With some renovations, a paint job and some block out curtains it could lift its game. I would try other places before coming again. Did not get value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to be one of the best hostels I had ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donegaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

we stayed here for 2 wks perfect location,lovely bar,everything is a hand away,

Room Tip: they are all the same unless u want a private room go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHARWEXFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I spent one week in 2008 in this hostel and I really felt like at home.The location is really really great!!!

The room was really clean and staff helpfully and nice!!!

Absolutely recommend this place...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#44 of 64 in Cairns
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Caravella Central
#49 of 85 in Cairns
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#41 of 85 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
0.1 mi away
Lazy Duck Hostel
Lazy Duck Hostel
#70 of 85 in Cairns
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Property: Bohemia Central
Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bohemia Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing