We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Holiday Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Granadilla Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granadilla Villa
Ranked #53 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We recently spent 6 days at Granadilla Villa on a family holiday. My husband and I travelled with two young children ( 6 and 4 ) from Victoria and we were joined by some family from London. The location was ideal, slightly in land but only a short drive to all the amenities and Cairns City Centre.

The Villa is situated in an extremely private location. It has a great pool, spa and spa bath together with all the home comforts that you could ask for. The accommodation was perfect in that we were both able to use it as an ideal base to explore the surrounds but equally also enjoy "home" days by just kicking back, relaxing and utilizing all the benefits the Villa itself had to offer. It is a very family friendly accommodation, the kids were always entertained which meant the adults could also relax.

My favourite feature was the uninterrupted view of Cairns, trully awesome !

My husband would say it was the pool, he and the kids spent every opportunity they could in there.

The host was also extremely helpful and accommodating. He has provided a lbrary of information about the local attractions which ensure you will not miss a thing !

I will definately return and would not hesitate to recommend the place to family, friends and beyond !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissKet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dalby, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our Motor Cycle group trekked north to escape the southern winter and needed a base which was comfy and quiet to explore the North. Granadilla was perfect, all our needs catered for and plenty of room for individual needs.

Nothing forgotten in the planning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband I wanted to stay some where peaceful and private after working hard all year and we found it at Granadilla Villa. The house is every thing you could ask for and there was every thing you need. The view From the house is magnificent, I loved the large pool and spa and the large spa bath. One of my favourite places was the massage chair in the lounge room as we did not know there was going to be one there. We did have a bit of rain the first two days but the weather was beautiful for the remaining days of our stay. We hired a car so we could get around and we went to visit some very lovely places in the week we were there. Ivan is very helpful and is only a phone call away if you need him. We would recommend Granadilla Villa to everyone. It would be perfect for big families or even two family as the house has plenty of room.
Thank you again Ivan for making all this possible. Graham and Kay

Room Tip: I think a car is a must if you want to travel around to see everything that Cairns has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The house was perfect for my family needs. It provided the perfect place to rest after a long day and enjoy the views. Plenty of rooms for the kids to play and keep them entertained, we will be back and recommended this to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We travelled to Cairns with an excited 2 year old who thought the plane trip was "magic!" When we arrived at Granadilla Villa it was pure magic again. The house and grounds are unbelievably impressive and we all found the accommodation fabulous and our 2 year old grandaughter just loved the freedom that this accommodation gave.
The house and grounds were clean and tidy and the icing on the cake was the perfect pool and spa overlooking the Cairns skyline. We had peace, tranquility and sunny blue skies for the whole of our week's stay and we just wished we could have stayed longer!!
Ivan was the perfect host and was most helpful with booking a trip out to the reef which was just perfect for our son and daughter in law's 1st reef experience.
Cairns has so much to offer especially for young children and we seemed to spend most of our time down at the amazing Esplanade lagoon pools or at "Muddys" park with water features just for kids - there is a really good cafe there too and wonderful cappuccinos!!!!!!
We had fantastic trips to Cairns Tropical Zoo, Kuranda with butterfies and koalas, Paronella Park and Tjapukai Aboriginal Culture Village as well as some of the surrounding beaches (we loved Palm Beach!)
All in all an amazing trip topped by our wonderful accommodation at Granadilla Villa. We will most certainly be back in the not too distant future. Thanks very much Ivan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katek_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Queensland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Thanks for the lovely stay at Granadilla Villa. It was exactly what we wanted. Peace, tranquility and relaxation away from the bustle of the city but still very close. Thanks to the host Ivan who also booked our bus hire and arranged our tours for us. We highly recommend the Great Barrier Reef tour on the Reef Magic and the ATV Tour with Down and Dirty Bikes. The tours that Ivan booked for us were awesome and definitely memorable. Thanks heaps for the lovely stay at Granadilla Villa and thanks Ivan for arranging our tours. It was fantastic. We will definitely be becoming back.
Donald, Black & Harrison Families

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakyrodon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We came to Cairns for a month and stayed in a few accommodations. This was the best place and the best value. It compares highly with anything you would expect in Europe and is truly a paradise home. The pool is large, sunny and private. The home is large and very relaxing. The owners are most accommodating. I suggested the place could do with a coffee machine - no sooner said than provided. The beds are comfortable. The indoor jacuzzi is clean and a real treat. The large lounge has a large television. It really has everything you are looking for. Any gripes? If I was really fussy the big TV needs a sound system attached to it. But if that is all you can find wrong with a property you are not going to be disappointed. A real bonus for us was the FREE WIFI. It is worth coming just for the views. A most relaxing holiday destination. (Don't want to go home really.) You do need a car, as it is a short drive to the local shops and to the town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandDiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.2 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
3.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granadilla Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granadilla Villa

Property: Granadilla Villa
Address: 112 Mansfield Street Earlville, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing