We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”
Review of 201 Lake Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
201 Lake Street
Ranked #25 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We found 201 easy to find and was pleasantly surprised with the clean modern and quite spacious layout of our single bed unit. All the utensils were of quite good quality and they have a unique style of room service where you can choose from a range of local Resturants, order a meal and for a small fee have it delivered. This was a blessing after a reasonably long day of travel.
The position is close to the marina and there appears to be plenty of action close by.
For those having to visit sick friends the apartments are well situated within short walking distance of all the medical facilities including the Cairns Hospital.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had been to 201 Lake Street a couple of years back and was not disappointed on our return. The apartments are really nice and clean. The area is quiet, and you are within walking distance with everything that Cairns has to offer. Plenty of good walks to go on. The reception is really helpful. We used the pool and the BBQ while we were there, both immaculately clean. Enjoyed our stay and next time we are back in Cairns, this will be where we will be staying!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Had a booking here for 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment. Received a warm welcome from Phillip, who booked us in. He provided us with info on the building, plus booklets giving additional info which was quite useful. Parking is in the underground cark park (and thanks Phillip for the tip of driving in at an angle, otherwise you will scrape the underside ) or a few spaces outside reception. The apartment had ample space, was clean, and well appointed. The kitchen was supplied to all that you would need, and as it was a little unseasonably warm for the first day or so there, the ducted air conditioner was welcome. The overhead fans were all that was required for the rest of the stay. The view over Cairns and the harbour was superb.
The location was excellent, far enough away from the city ( about 10/15 minute walk ) but only a few minutes to the foreshore. There was quite a lot of traffic in the area, and there were roadworks to the roundabout outside. It didn’t bother us, but all you need to do was close the balcony door and it disappears. The whole building is maintained to a very high standard. The unit was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. An excellent place to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dazify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Rooms clean and comfortable bed. Thanks to Phil who looked after our booking. Highly recommend.good location. Easy walk to muddys the kids water park on esplanade. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raqmizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Loved Cairnes. Stayed at 201 LAKES. Upon our arrival back home found that the managment had deducted $150 from our account 'as the sofa need to be fumigated'. How dare he accuse us of smoking in the room when a balcony was sufficient to have a cigarette and only one smoker in our party. This monetary cost should be built into his cleaning/maintance program and not hit every second guest up; such a convient excuse and he gets his furnishings cleaned!!!! You accused and barked up the wrong tree and I feel sure we were not the only ones who paid/paying for your cleaning. Never have we been so insulted and humiliated at such a poor judgement. My suggestion: dont do it and if you do watch your wallet.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed at this place,18-1-13 till l21-1-13, apartments weren't that bad and neither was the facilities.

BUT we got absolutely got ripped off by them.

My wife and I absolutely respected the room and all facilities, but low and behold they rip $150 from our credit card because the room "had to be fumigated".

Rang them and enquired as to why, came up with some croc about an ash being in the room and that we must have been smoking in the room while we stayed there.

My wife smoked only on the balcony with the door closed and put the ash tray in the room upon our depatrure to assis the cleaners.

Upon inquirey the manager told me that "There was an ashtray in the room and the room had to be fumigated".

No amount of assuring him otherwise was accepted or appreciated.

I am a Non Smoker.

My wife and I appreciate that cigarette smoke is abhorent to those who do not smoke and this is why we took every precaution we thought acceptable to prevent the ingress of smoke into the room.

Apparently the (confessed) extensive delay in cleaning the room must have been our fault, and the presence of the ashtray in the room was enough to warrant the room having to be 'Fumigated".

May seem a bit petty to some Review readers, but dont blame me when it happens to you for the same or maybe completely different reason.

VERY VERY POOR, 201 LAKE STREET.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kym D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay while in cairns. Large clean rooms with all modern furniture an kitchens. good loocation 2 minuetes from the beach and 10 minutes from town. Only the internet speed could be improved

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonker_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#11 of 83 in Cairns
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
0.1 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#19 of 83 in Cairns
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 201 Lake Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 201 Lake Street

Address: 201 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £80 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 201 Lake Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
201 Lake Street is the perfect base to discover Cairns & Tropical North Queensland. Located just off The Esplanade and a casual stroll into Central Cairns. 201 Lake Street offers a mix of hotel rooms and fully self contained one and two bedroom apartments. The hotel rooms are perfect for corporate travellers and the apartments are ideal for holiday makers needing Cairns accommodation for a longer stay. When you're not exploring the surrounding tropical paradise, take advantage of the 20 metre resort pool with lap section and BBQ entertainment area. Free secure parking and free wireless internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 201 Lake Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
201 Lake Street Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing