We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Ranked #23 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We selected this accommodation after careful research. As we are on a two month tour of Australia washing facilities are a priority for us.

Apartment – This was a large apartment by most standards. It comprised a lounge area running through to a kitchen/dinette. There was a spacious balcony off the lounge section with a table and chairs.
The bedroom was well proportioned with cupboard space and a comfortable bed.

The bathroom was smaller when compared with the other rooms but was adequate. Off the bathroom was a small washroom with a washing machine and dryer.

There is adequate air-conditioning throughout.

Noise – There was no noise at all during my 5 day stay.

Reception (checking in and out) – The reception area doubles up as an office with a lot of tourist literature. The check-in procedures were fine and excellent advice was offered by the owners.

Apartment Location – Our apartment was on the upper floor and there is no lift unfortunately.

Complex Location – The complex is about a 20 minute walk out of the CBD.

Car-Park – There is a small car-park at the side of the complex. Being within the boundary it is secured and under cover. It is adequate for the number of apartments.

Misc – There is a vending machine within the complex with a good selection of cold drinks and snacks.

There is a small pool at the front of the complex.

All the equipment within the apartment functioned well.

Finally – Yes I would book this apartment again and can thoroughly recommend it to others.

I have added a few photographs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Koala Court Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Clean, spacious, comfortable apartment overlooking beautifully landscaped pool. Great value for money. Hosts Ruth and Alan made our very late arrival easy, with a friendly e-mail giving directions, and our apartment was ready for us with everything we could want. Ruth and Andy were helpful and friendly, recommending various trips and areas of interest in and around Northern Queensland. They even helped us to book accommodation for our stay in Palm Cove and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We appreciated our stay at Koala Court so much, that after our tour north, we booked there again for our last 4 nights in Cairns.

Although it was quite a walk to the pier and the CBD, we had a rental car so it was no problem to get around. However there are a range of shops, takeaways and restaurants just a block away which was very convenient for guests who did not have transport.

We would have no hesitation in staying at Koala Court Holiday Apartments again and thank Ruth and Andy for helping to make our stay so memorable.

Valda and Jim NZ

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Not an ideal location (a little over a mile walk to the Esplanade or wharf), but the owners are nice and very helpful. Our apartment was quite spacious, and you can book your travel excursions right there with them! We enjoyed ourselves and the apartment. Less than $20 cab ride from the airport!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I think this place is great value in a central location. The rooms are large. I have stayed many times over the years and always happy. Quiet, clean, and a short walk to the esplanade. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Value for money

Welcoming staff who will do all they can to make your stay ... our stay was broken with a 3 day reef dive trip and bags not required were stored for no additional cost ... These were placed into our room upon our return

Distance from CBD was a good walk

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGrinham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed there as part of a sporting trip/training camp in Cairns - so whole team stayed there and enjoyed the facilities. Apartments are spacious and well equipped with stove, microwave and plenty of pots and pans. Full size fridge made it easy to stock up food supplies for the week we were there. Yes, it is away from Cairns CBD/Esplanade but suited our purpose; it's only a 15 minute walk to Cairns Central Shopping Centre [shopping, food court, cinemas, etc.].

Room Tip: Best for stays over 2-3 nights - not really ideal/economical for an overnight visit.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirranbandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The apartment I stayed in with 3 friends was clean, a generous size and well equipped for a longer stay.
The managers, Andy and Ruth, were extremely helpful and full of information. Our visit was early April, Cairns wasn't busy and I wish that we had not tied ourselves into trips prior to arrival - Andy and Ruth are likely to have provided us with ideas about things to do that we did not find durin g our planning.

The apartments are away from central Cairns but the Esplanade, local shops and even the supermarket are walking distance.

Good place to stay. The rooms had plenty of ceiling fans and in April this was all that was needed to cool the place down.

Room Tip: Despite being on a main street, I think all rooms would be quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_B_12255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#33 of 84 in Cairns
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
0.4 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#27 of 84 in Cairns
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Court Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Court Holiday Apartments

Address: 147 - 155 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £66 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Court Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Koala Court Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing