We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value place to stay with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Sunland Leisure Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
Ranked #57 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
new york
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value place to stay with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom 1-bath villa and the stay was alright. Rooms are small, but it had everything we needed - beds, linen, kitchen, fridge, utensils, and microwave. Bathroom and washbasin+shower were separate. There were public toilets, bath, and laundry facilities which were well maintained. We had a room close to road and there definitely was a lot of noise from walkers. We later found out that it is a near a small shopping center which is a good thing because of the availability of many things from liquor, food and groceries to medicine. It would be nice to have a villa on the inner side to avoid the noise. Part of the park seems to be in bad condition. We never went near the pool area. Since the area is protected with gates, safety was not an issue and the different types of people who stayed there (RVs, campers, and villas) nicely interacted with each other. Even though the sofa can be used as a sofa-bed, it is a poor quality one and bad for the back. It is within 3 km from city center and close to all the Cairns activities. Since it is a park-like setting, look out for frogs, squirrels, insects, and ants. You can have a decent stay as long as you understand that this is not a regular hotel stay. There is no room service and you will need to wash and reuse the towels yourself until the end of stay.

Room Tip: If you hate noise, try to stay from the roadside villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sub580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    41
    19
    13
    33
See reviews for
49
34
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Pros: It was one of the cheaper options for our family in Cairns. One of the beds was comfortable. The cabin was relatively clean. The staff were friendly and respectable.

What stood out: The place has an overall feeling of being a bit of a dive. Broken, scrappy or tacky things can be found aplenty. Although it's relatively suitable as a carvan park, we found that the pool (its biggest selling feature to us at time of booking) is in serious need of repair. The amount of exposed wrecked fibreglass, closed off areas with star pickets and the rickety stairs make the pool feel unsafe. This is our second day here (arrived last night) and we haven't had hot/warm water since last night. A maintenance guy had turned off the gas and had forgotten to turn it back on.

When we first arrived, the water ran brown because of a burst pipe somewhere, so we've been buying bottled water. The 3 wall mounted aircon units do pittance to keep the cabin cool. I've been running one all day in one of the rooms and it's cooler outside. A second guy has just come to get the main aircon unit working.

The cabin felt tidy when we first arrived, but the floors hadn't been mopped or vacuumed properly; a concern for my mother in law for our toddler. The main double bed seems to be comfortable, but the mattress my wife and I slept on was horrible, with a terrible sleep and both of us feeling like we'd been bashed up in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granticusiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Yes, we did have some issues before his arrival with a burst water main. While repairing it, the plumber broke the gas pipe. It was fixed immediately when were made aware of it. The air conditioner was set on fan only and 26 degrees. Since this was adjusted, it’s cooling perfectly.We are sorry guest was not 100% satisfied with his stay, but he was given a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night in a 2 room poolside villa. After the fastest check in I have ever had anywhere I was impressed, and that continued as we drove through the very well maintained park to our Villa. The room smelled a bit like bleach and we assumed it had just been cleaned, so we had to air it for a while, which was ok as we spent the afternoon and evening with friends at the nearby BBQ area while the kids enjoyed the pool area and playground. The gardens and BBQ were really well looked after, cement areas were clean and the kids really loved the water slide. Don't forget your Mosquito & insect repellant!!
The kitchen in our villa was well equipped with everything we needed from cooking equipment to plates, cutlery, glasses (even wine glasses) and tea and coffee. The Fridge was on and cold for our arrival.
Our air conditioners were a bit loud which impacted on me sleeping, beds were ok, pillows a bit flat, bedding was clean, towels were excellent (white, fluffy and dried well). Our bathroom was a bit small and it had no benches or shelves for make up/toothbrushes etc. but the mirror was a slim cabinet. Also there were no face washers supplied.
The room had a small sofa and limited Cable TV.
Car parking was right at the door.
We enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Room Tip: the 2 room poolside villas were twice the size of the budget poolside villas, worth the extra few do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was perfect for my needs - close enough to town, inexpensive, cooking facilities, laundry etc. Couldn't fault the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The cabin was old and a bit run down but clean and everything working. Would come again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach44_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a big double room next door near the shower block which is ideal, as we gathered it could be a bit of a stroll if located in certain areas of the park. Lots of pots, pans, containers and utensils to use which was handy as we were on a budget. Also used the BBQ facilities which were clean.

Big plus is that we went on a two day trip at the end of our stay, when we had not paid for accommodation, and was able to pay $10 to leave our car in the secure site, rather than just told to leave it on the street.

Be careful for ants, anything left unsealed or not in the fridge will get ants.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the shower blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_K_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed in the Family Villa for 6 days/7 nights. The room was well sized, the kitchen was well stocked with appliances and was a great home base for our trips into the CBD, Port Douglas, and Atherton Tablelands. Our villa was in the front row closest to the road. My only recommendation would be to request a villa further back in the complex. My reason for this is because of the steady stream of people walking past the fence especially on Friday and Saturday nights and the incidents of fighting and shouting that we heard. Otherwise it is great value for money. Some problems with ants - just don't leave anything out.

Room Tip: I am a super light sleeper and was constantly woken up by the folks walking along the street. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MW_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We hired a camper van and stayed one night camping before deciding to stay in onsite accomodation. We looked at our options and we boooked a villa with toilet and showers. The villa was spacious and layed out well with a lovely little verandah out the front. The grounds were fully maintained and the camp kitchen when we camped the one night was fitted out with everything to make your stay comfortable. The place was peaceful. For what you pay it is great value for money.

Room Tip: Definately one with a verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairns
1.2 mi away
Cairns Holiday Park
Cairns Holiday Park
#14 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lake Placid Tourist Park
Lake Placid Tourist Park
#21 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.8 mi away
White Rock Leisure Park
White Rock Leisure Park
#72 of 89 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
Cool Waters Holiday Park
Cool Waters Holiday Park
#18 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bohemia Resort
Bohemia Resort
#77 of 89 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sunland Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sunland Leisure Park

Property: Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
Address: 49-61 Little Pease Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Sunland Leisure Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunland is a 4 star Leisure Park offering affordable accommodation options, designed to cater to all types of budgets. We offer powered Van sites & camping areas with a Camp kitchen. All guests have full access to the BBQs & TV room, with Austar at no extra cost. The park has an Amenities block with coin operated laundry. Also kid’s playground and Resort style pool with a Pirate ship water slide (Great for the kids!!!). Large Shady Tropical park being only 4Km from the city and 5km to airport. Bus to city passes entrance regularly. 24 hour high speed wireless internet and for those without computers we have 2 internet cafes. And with 24 hour check in coming to stay has never been easier. We also offer Van and luggage storage for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cairns Sunland Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing