We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Northern Greenhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gem in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Best hostel in Cairns. Amid a sea of loud abnoxious hostels, this place is way better. Reasonably priced, clean rooms (washroom en suite) with outlets in the lockers, free breakfast daily, pancakes on Saturday, and bbq on Sunday, a staff that is so friendly and helpful, free Wifi, a great chill common area, full kitchen, and just overall nice people staying here. If you want a break from the party scene when coming back to your room (IE, it's possible to sleep) then this is your place. Only thing they need is to amplify the Wifi so it reaches to the rooms not just the common area. Also, more outlets throughout the common area would be great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRotenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi MRotenberg,
I was thrilled to read you enjoyed our hostel. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    99
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
35
141
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for a week and could not complain. Staff were beyond friendly, really took the time to go the extra mile, have never felt so welcomed and comfortable. Stayed in an apartment, which was perfect well maintained and clean and all the facilities were of similar standards. The location is great, far enough away from the parties but incredibly close to the main streets. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi LM,
It was great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My 10 year old son and I stayed here from 9th-17th August and both of us loved it. We stayed in a self contained room so we had our own bathroom, kitchenette and balcony overlooking the pool which was great. Room was spacious and clean and there were cleaners coming in every day to change the towels, clean the bathrooms, empty the bins and they even made our beds! The sytaff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. On our first night we couldn't get the tv working so the lady at reception came straight up and fixed it. Also Jasmin at the tour desk booked our trip to the reef and we found her to be a wealth of information. Pool is lovely and clean, the communal area is great and the free breakfast was a huge bonus as well as the bbq and pancakes on weekends. Free trips were great, we went to Crystal Cascades but there were 3 others that we didn't do due to lack of time. As my son said, the 'vibe' at Northern Greenhouse was a really good one, definitely not a party hostel but you could hang out in the communal area or by the pool where people always congregated and we found the people to be very friendly. Location is top notch, 5 minutes from EVERYTHING including the pubs, clubs, restaurants, lagoon, Cairns Central shopping centre and the main bus stops. Overall we loved our stay and cant wait to come back next year :)

Room Tip: Definitely worth spending a little extra and getting a self contained apartment, room 30 was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morphlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Director of Sales at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi Morphlady,
It was amazing to read about your great time at the Northern Greenhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed here for about 3 weeks in July, loved the hostel it was clean, tidy, great location - 5 min walk to mall and 5 min walk to beach! Free wifi and breakfast! Most days have a free tour going on... Staff helpful. I'll be staying at this hostel again when I go back to cairns next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 941Amz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A good location, not to near the party streets but near enough to walk anywhere you need to go in 5 mins. The rooms are spacious with lockers. There is a swimming pool with tables around. the communal areas are well maintained and as the free wifi only works on the terrace its a good place to socialise. Movies are shown on some nights, a free BBQ and pancakes each week also. Good price, and I would stay there again if I was in Cairns.

Room Tip: We had a room by the main road which meant the dustbins trucks woke us in the morning at 7am. the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Awesome hostel that has a pool, free breakfast and free trips/stuff nearly everyday. Free pancakes on Saturday mornings and free Sunday evening BBQs are a real treat. Rooms are big and are basically converted apartment/hotel rooms which means the en-suite is really nice and you have a balcony to hang out any wet towels. All rooms have fridges which is convenient if you want to keep food in your room and not bother storing it in the main fridge in the kitchen, as well as the lockers each having four power points in so you can lock away your laptops/ipads etc whilst they charge. Deck area was a lovely place to relax and use the free wifi. The location is convenient as it's near Cairns central as well as a short stroll from the esplanade and Woolworths. The reception staff are happy to help if you're not sure where you're going and need directions.

The only cons - the room I was in (16) was right above the hostel entrance which meant you always heard loud people coming back after a night out which can disrupt a good night sleep. The doors to the rooms are also hard to shut without making a loud noise. And in busy times in the evenings, the free wifi can be difficult to connect to or sometimes drops out which is slightly annoying.

It was a great stay though and was a very relaxed atmosphere. Definitely a place for people who don't want to party every single night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma4614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Had an awesome experience in Aussie, and a great place to stay topped it off very well. Free breakfast (nothing special but saves you from going out shopping), beautiful pool, very nice rooms, great service and free WiFi. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riley193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
0.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northern Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Greenhouse

Property: The Northern Greenhouse
Address: 117 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shooting Star Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northern Greenhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Greenhouse is centrally located in the middle of Cairns with tour pick up points, night life and attractions less than a five minute walk from the hostel. Every room includes a an ensuite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, private balcony or garden, powered lockers and kitchenette. Guests also receive Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7 as well as experiences such as a Free trip to a hidden rainforest swimming hole, sailing classes, trip to nearby Ellis Beach, the Botanical Gardens and more.If you are still looking for ideas of tours and day trips, see the experts at our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for the best deals on travel and experiences around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Northern Greenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northern Greenhouse Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing