We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northern Greenhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Northern Greenhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Not too far from anything in cairns such as woolworths, cinema, lagoon etc. The wifi was shocking here though, something bout ip addresses but if you no what the issue is maybe fix it?? The beds are massive... Which is cool. Some hostels feel like a kids bunk bed but not this one.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chelle323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    97
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
35
140
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cairns
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Northern greenhouse is one of the best hostels I've stayed at so far in Oz. Staff are helpful, polite and friendly and they always provide activities for travellers to do both indoors and out. There are opportunities to book no-pressure tours with them too which is great as you know its an honest deal. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_Neville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Northern Greenhouse is AMAZING! It's probably the best hostel I had ever stayed! I have stayed there with my brother for about 10 nights, and it did not disappoint me throughout the way!

They provide free basic breakfast (milk, cereals, toasts), free wifi (although it does not work well in the room and had some problems once in a while, but it is quite smooth at the common area); and so many free activities going on in the week! Including free BBQ dinner, free tour to the Rainforest, a swimming pool, a snooker table, a big and nice kitchen for everyone to use and enjoy! Their facilities and activities are too-good-to-be-true for budget travelers!

Staff are nice, all facilities and bed are clean because they have housekeeping for everyday. It is indeed a relatively quiet hostel compared to others; but then I enjoyed the spacious and chill atmosphere so much!

Location is superb as well! Although Cairns city is really not big, the hostel is situated in the middle of the Esplanade (city centre) and the Main train station, you can walk to both sides in less than 10 minutes! And there you would find numerous travel agents (which you would much needed in Cairns for travelling) and pubs and restaurants.

P.s. For Northern Greenhouse, they actually has their own private booking system; and as I know, the rates is better if you booked with them on their webpage than on other websites (which I did not know before going), so I would say, to avoid my mistake, it would be great as well if you can check out their webpage before booking!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here 3 nights and was really pleased with all the extra little things they offer here. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which has its own small kitchen section with cupboards & a fridge to keep food in as well as a sink. Every person has a locker (need to supply your own padlock or buy one for $5) with a power pack inside so you can charge gadgets whilst you're out or sleeping! Also you get a cage on wheels each to store your backpacks under the bed so its really easy to just pull it out and get to your belongings. The bathrooms were cleaned every day and had a nice glass shower cubicle and hot water! (Which is a treat after 6 months in Asia).
Breakfast is included which is simple but free, only negative is that it stops at 9am which is a bit early! There is a large fully equipped kitchen to use which was amazing.
There is a large communal area to socialise, it's not a party hostel but we still got chatting to people and went out for a night out in town which is less than 5 mins walk from all the bars & nightlife (it's on the same road as the more well known Gilligan's).
There is a tour office on site to help book any excursions and both the staff there and on reception were super friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NaiomiMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Definately a nice and quiet place amongst all the rowdyness of Cairns. If youre 28+ or enjoy a quiet stay id def recommend this. The dormbeds are great and sturdy, rooms are cleaned every day, the kitchen is also pretty clean. Oh and the wifi is very reasonable, as im writing this review on it now.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Being one of my earlier experiences of Australian hostels, this gave me high expectations of other hostels yet to come! I loved the fact that this had "girls only" dorms, which included a shared bathroom within the dorm itself. There are plenty of chill out areas (chairs, tables, sofas and bean bags) for you to relax in and use their free wifi. The kitchen is large enough that there wasn't a queue whenever I needed to use the kitchen and you can find some basics provided too (salt, pepper, oil). Breakfast is included in the morning for free on a first come, first served basis. And there is a laundry room with a few machines, so all in all this had everything I needed and the staff at reception were very accommodating and friendly! Great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanLi1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hostel is really nice, one of the nicest I've seen. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm and it was clean, air conditioned, had a nice bathroom with shower, refrigerator, sink, small patio, and comfy beds. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful at the front desk and the travel Center. The reception area is 24 hours which is handy if you have an early or late flight, early tour etc. they have free luggage storage (handy) a nice pool, really nice open air chill out area with couches and fans and sunshade and a huge common kitchen with everything you need and more. Free coffee and bread, peanut butter, jam and toasters for breakfast. Dorm roommates were friendly and social so it's a great spot to meet people without being a "party hostel" so you can still get a great sleep. Really central and easy to walk to the esplanade where lots of the nightlife, shops, and restaurants are. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Avoid the dorm beds right next to the aircon units...brrrrrrr
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvvinScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.2 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northern Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Greenhouse

Property: The Northern Greenhouse
Address: 117 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shooting Star Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northern Greenhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Greenhouse is centrally located in the middle of Cairns with tour pick up points, night life and attractions less than a five minute walk from the hostel. Every room includes a an ensuite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, private balcony or garden, powered lockers and kitchenette. Guests also receive Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7 as well as experiences such as a Free trip to a hidden rainforest swimming hole, sailing classes, trip to nearby Ellis Beach, the Botanical Gardens and more.If you are still looking for ideas of tours and day trips, see the experts at our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for the best deals on travel and experiences around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Northern Greenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northern Greenhouse Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing