We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great amenities, perfect location, clean spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Northern Greenhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great amenities, perfect location, clean spacious rooms”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hostel was so impressive. It used to be a hotel, so all the dorm rooms have their own bathroom. My friend and I stayed in the 6 bunk female dorm. The beds were comfy, the air conditioning was great, and they had these big baskets on wheels that slid under the bunks to put all your stuff in. Very cool. There were also lockers to keep your valuables in and they even had outlets inside them so you could charge things while you were gone. Our room had a large fridge and freezer and a kitchen sink. They cleaned the room and bathroom daily, and I even watched her as she scrubbed the shower top to bottom. Very impressive for a hostel. Laundry facilities on site. They provide free breakfast which is really just toast and peanut butter, but that's fine by me. They have a great common area, outdoor deck with a giant fan that keeps it really cool. Very modern furnishings and they have movie nights and free BBQ's. The only issue I had with this place was the internet. The logging on process was ridiculous and once you finally were on it was so slow. The location is great, just a few blocks from the esplanade. I definitely would stay at this hostel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauMR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Lauren,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us in Cairns. We are working towards speeding up the internet, so hopefully you will see some great innovations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    99
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
35
141
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I had a great stay at this hostel, the rooms were very clean and roomy, the fridge, wardrobes, cupboards and sink were welcome extras you don't usually find in hostels! Nice ensuite and great social area. They also do movie nights every week and a free BBQ which is quite substantial, not the usual one sausage in a slice of bread! Great location and helpful and friendly staff :)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma_L_T_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Best hostel i have stayed in while travelling Australia. Rooms are clean, have there own fridge, free wifi and great social area and kitchen. Also great as all the english football does be on in the tv room as they have fox sports. I did'nt use the pool but the pool area looked clean. Staff are also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc00byd0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I went with a group of 6 other people which was just perfect because you can rent a room for 6 here for just $25 a night. Staff was friendly and accommodating and they offered free breakfast. The common are for NG is open and inviting. It rained a lot while we were in Cairns, but the common area gave us a nice option to still enjoy the warm air. On Sunday they even provided a free barbecue for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Not too far from anything in cairns such as woolworths, cinema, lagoon etc. The wifi was shocking here though, something bout ip addresses but if you no what the issue is maybe fix it?? The beds are massive... Which is cool. Some hostels feel like a kids bunk bed but not this one.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chelle323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Northern greenhouse is one of the best hostels I've stayed at so far in Oz. Staff are helpful, polite and friendly and they always provide activities for travellers to do both indoors and out. There are opportunities to book no-pressure tours with them too which is great as you know its an honest deal. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_Neville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Northern Greenhouse is AMAZING! It's probably the best hostel I had ever stayed! I have stayed there with my brother for about 10 nights, and it did not disappoint me throughout the way!

They provide free basic breakfast (milk, cereals, toasts), free wifi (although it does not work well in the room and had some problems once in a while, but it is quite smooth at the common area); and so many free activities going on in the week! Including free BBQ dinner, free tour to the Rainforest, a swimming pool, a snooker table, a big and nice kitchen for everyone to use and enjoy! Their facilities and activities are too-good-to-be-true for budget travelers!

Staff are nice, all facilities and bed are clean because they have housekeeping for everyday. It is indeed a relatively quiet hostel compared to others; but then I enjoyed the spacious and chill atmosphere so much!

Location is superb as well! Although Cairns city is really not big, the hostel is situated in the middle of the Esplanade (city centre) and the Main train station, you can walk to both sides in less than 10 minutes! And there you would find numerous travel agents (which you would much needed in Cairns for travelling) and pubs and restaurants.

P.s. For Northern Greenhouse, they actually has their own private booking system; and as I know, the rates is better if you booked with them on their webpage than on other websites (which I did not know before going), so I would say, to avoid my mistake, it would be great as well if you can check out their webpage before booking!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.3 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northern Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Greenhouse

Property: The Northern Greenhouse
Address: 117 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shooting Star Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northern Greenhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Greenhouse is centrally located in the middle of Cairns with tour pick up points, night life and attractions less than a five minute walk from the hostel. Every room includes a an ensuite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, private balcony or garden, powered lockers and kitchenette. Guests also receive Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7 as well as experiences such as a Free trip to a hidden rainforest swimming hole, sailing classes, trip to nearby Ellis Beach, the Botanical Gardens and more.If you are still looking for ideas of tours and day trips, see the experts at our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for the best deals on travel and experiences around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Northern Greenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northern Greenhouse Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing