We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Northern Greenhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Best hostel I've stayed at during travels in Australia. By far the most clean and tidy hostel. It is also the quietest one I stayed at! The rooms allow for luggage to be packed and re packed, with baskets under the bed for more items to be contained.

Well worth the money! Good kitchen facilities

Stayed: July 2014
Thank eraine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for The Northern Greenhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very clean hostel and lovely layout. The covered area is a great place to hang out that is protected from the elements yet still outside. The girls I shared a room with we're very unfriendly (spoke no English) which put a damper on my experience. And the hostel environment was fairly unfriendly- everyone already had their friends and set groups. I made a few friends but we were all heading off. I ended up switching to another hostel due to the atmosphere here (unfriendly) which should not reflect on the hostel, just the guest I suppose. Very clean rooms with a great ensuite bathroom. Would stay here again but maybe bring a friend next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rig-lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Northern Greenhouse was a good place to stay. The rooms have lockers (with plugs) and big bins underneath the beds. There is also a fridge, ensuite, and balcony. Staff was nice, especially the man who helped us with the wifi, which did not work well. The ensuite in the dorm was a little challenging, since there were no other bathrooms that I knew of. They could also use lights at each bed. My dormmates were good. Good location, a couple blocks from the esplanade. We did have some ants in our room, near the fridge.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 685kelliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

One week Nothern Greenhouse is equal to one week without sleep. Before 03:00 a.m. you won't close an eye and that's every single night the case. If you are looking for party it will be your 5 star location. Wanna sleep don't choose the Northern Greenhouse.

The price isn't bad, the service during the day isn't too. Sorry guys, you do a good job but the noise is to bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTWorld0132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi RTWorld,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry to hear you experienced issues during your stay. This is the first we've heard of this issue, can you please contact us directly so we can address this issue further. Thanks again and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent service given by staff - on par perhaps with something you'd expect to find in a 5 star hotel. Clean rooms. Nice pool. Very central location. Unfortunately, I missed the free pancakes on Saturday morning. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniOhevYerushalayim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

stayed 4 nights here and it has to be one of the best backpackers around. Dorm rooms have ensuite and fridge AND freezer, lockers, poweboards in each locker, wire baskets for each guest to store their stuff under the bed, and choice of n or air con (though it was set to 20C). They have free WiFi and breakfast of toast and cereal and free trips to the waterfalls for a very short trip with lots of informative talking beforehand. It's a quiet hostel but a social one close to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 775traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This place is worth it. The covered common area was really great. There are people there to hang out every night. And since it rained daily, it was nice to not have to return to an indoor room.
Our room had air conditioning, but if it got turned off at night it was really uncomfortable. Otherwise, the rooms are really well setup.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank chuyllu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northern Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Greenhouse

Address: 117 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shooting Star Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £14 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northern Greenhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Greenhouse is centrally located in the middle of Cairns with tour pick up points, night life and attractions less than a five minute walk from the hostel. Every room includes a an ensuite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, private balcony or garden, powered lockers and kitchenette. Guests also receive Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7 as well as experiences such as a Free trip to a hidden rainforest swimming hole, sailing classes, trip to nearby Ellis Beach, the Botanical Gardens and more.If you are still looking for ideas of tours and day trips, see the experts at our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for the best deals on travel and experiences around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Northern Greenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northern Greenhouse Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing