We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great spot”

Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
Ranked #24 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Overlooking Trinity Inlet at the Waterfront Harbour Lights, Dundee's Restaurant and Kickstart on the Waterfront at Dundees captures three ingredients -- great food, great location and perfect ambience. Dundees has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in which couples, parties and families can all feel welcome at any time of the day. Dundee's specialises in Australian beef, fresh seafood, pasta and salads, there is a dish to cater for every tastebud. Kickstart is the perfect place to Kickstart your day. It offers hearty and healthy breakfast and brunch options in the morning
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great spot”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Good food, great spot, cool atmosphere. Would eat here again for sure. Only issue was our mains arriving before our entree but they took the mains away and brought fresh ones after our entree arrived.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    530
    191
    88
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Social outing with work”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had booked for about 40 people on a Saturday night, the service was very good and fast despite the place being full. Food arrived quick and cooked to perfection, staff seemed organised with the food and the seating. The only downside when it came to getting drinks it took forever, people were going up asking for drinks and getting told to sit down at the table and wait for a staff member. At the end of the night we seemed to have a lot of drinks on our bill that nobody ordered, if only the organisation was as good with the drinks as it was the food it would have being perfect. As I said this was a big group and overall everybody was happy with the service and the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tikkani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great lunch deals”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Family and I have dined at Dundee's many times for lunch. Great value, great choices, great gluten free options including pasta. The owner is always welcoming. Dundee's is always in our top three lunch hot spots!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pixie001Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I came here for lunch and got the mussels spaghetti. It came out quickly and was very tasty! Service is great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliSullivan412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Excellent waterfront dining”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

To start with the only reason I am giving this 4 and not 5 stars is due to the fact i'm new to trip advisor and am saving 5star ratings for truly exceptional places. All that said I visited with my parents recently and we were all extremely impressed with this restaurant and would all recommend it to anyone. The staff were friendly and attentive without being too clingy as is a shame with some otherwise very good restaurants and can almost give a negative effect on the whole experience. We were asked if we wanted to order a starter whilst we still decided on our mains which was a nice touch as we were not kept waiting long at all. The menu was extensive and had plenty of variety although the only downside was the presentation as all of ours were a suffering from wear and tear but given the amount of content and general quality of them it would be highly costly to have them reprinted all the time so I would not hold that against them at all but still feel to give it a mention. The starter we shared was a great way to try some various Aussie delicacies with the buffalo being a real highlight. The mains were extremely well presented and very decent portions and granted I wasn't paying but well worth the money- the person who paid definitely wasn't complaining. I really would congratulate the chefs and f.o.h. staff alike for running such a great restaurant which had a nice busy atmosphere-always a good sign and they really deserve all the success they get. I would definitely return to this place and couldn't recommend it enough to anyone who is lucky enough to visit beautiful Cairns. Its got a fantastic location on the esplanade and if I haven't said it enough already, the food and staff were fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing