We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
Ranked #25 of 591 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Overlooking Trinity Inlet at the Waterfront Harbour Lights, Dundee's Restaurant and Kickstart on the Waterfront at Dundees captures three ingredients -- great food, great location and perfect ambience. Dundees has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in which couples, parties and families can all feel welcome at any time of the day. Dundee's specialises in Australian beef, fresh seafood, pasta and salads, there is a dish to cater for every tastebud. Kickstart is the perfect place to Kickstart your day. It offers hearty and healthy breakfast and brunch options in the morning
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time there pleasent staff, very friendly and helpful. Especially Dana waited our table. Food was amazing I've always enjoyed coming here for dinner and I'll be back again. I would recommend it to other people.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy2084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h123987s, Owner at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I was pleased to read that you enjoy dining at our Restaurant and that you are a regular customer. We strive to provide good food and service which keeps our customers returning.

Kind regards
Tina Wort - Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    533
    191
    88
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best gluten free seafood meal ever”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I had this restaurant recommended by a local foodie and we are glad we managed to book in . Their gluten free options were numerous and noted on the menu something you don't always find and my gluten free fettuchini bug tail pasta was the best I've had . Oil garlic rocket
And chilli with Parmesan , all on perfect balance with the bugs tails meat . Brilliant service from Our waitress Tash and her colleagues . Thanks for a great evening of delicious seafood .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodgloriousyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h123987s, Owner at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our Restaurant. We understand that there are lots of people with Gluten intolerance, or other food intolerances and we have designed our Menu as much as possible to cater for different tastes and dietary needs. I'm glad that you were happy with our range of GF meals and that you enjoyed your meal and service.

Kind regards
Tina Wort - Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Remo, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dundee's”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have had the pleasure of dining in this restaurant a few times over the past year.
It never fails to provide great service & fantastic food.
Well done

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy9361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h123987s, Owner at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Chrissy, I'm glad we were able to fit you in and that you enjoyed your evening with us. We do our best to fit everyone in, even on the busiest of nights, and maintain our high standard of food and service. Thank you for visiting us.

Kind regards
Tina Wort - Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location +”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great food, wonderful location and friendly staff. We arrived on a very busy evening but they managed to squeeze us in and still provide us with excellent service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Turaga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h123987s, Owner at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Good morning, I was pleased to read that although you hadn't booked and we were very busy, that we looked after you and you enjoyed yourselves. We do get very busy, and it is best to book, but we will do our best to fit everyone in and maintain the same high standard of food and service. Thank you.

Kind regards
Tina Wort - Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had fantastic, friendly service; excellent food and an all-round great experience! Dundees is our favourite restaurant in Cairns.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h123987s, Owner at Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Good morning Chris, thank you for your great review. We pride ourselves on our fine food and good service and it is nice to know that we are achieving our goal, and our customers enjoy dining with us.

Kind regards
Tina Wort - Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing