We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An expensive mistake on the last night of our honeymoon!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant

Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 592 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$34
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An expensive mistake on the last night of our honeymoon!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were looking for fresh painted cray live from a tank and were excited when we found them here, even more so when we saw they did it Singapore Chiili style which was exactly what my husband had been looking for all over FNQ. When we ordered and were told it was $175 (regardless of weight) I baulked a little but we went ahead as we are happy to pay big money for amazing food. Unfortunately it wasn't amazing. Not even close. The crayfish was not cooked in the sauce, it came boiled, with some chilli sauce (which tasted like the one you buy at Coles) splatted on top and a little bowl full next to it on the plate. We quietly mentioned all this to the waitress when she asked how it was, the Maitre D then came over and we quietly told him the same thing. His excuse for the chef was that he's not used to cooking it. How can you justify charging customers $175 for something you don't know how to cook??! We were brought 2 glasses of dessert wine on the house and told we would get a discount on our bill however when the bill came there was no discount. We were beyond caring by this point and just wanted to leave so paid our extortionate bill and left. The shining star in all this was our waitress, she was fantastic, we couldn't have asked for better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    508
    159
    69
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise for a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I brought my Mum who was visiting Cairns for dinner and we left exclaiming how impressed we were with both the food and service! Living in Cairns - other locals will understand how rare this can be in some restaurants but from the moment we arrived to when we left we were made to feel welcome, a friendly face to help make recommendations, suggestions and despite being a very busy night with people waiting for tables to become available we were not left waiting for anything - nor was our waitress pushy or trying to rush us at all!
Moving on to the food we both ended up with the Barramundi and Prawn special served with asparagus and roast kipflers and a lemon garlic butter sauce - delightful and the gralic bread which preceded the meal was some of the best I have found! I am reserved ordering Barramundi as I had lived in the Gulf of Carpentaria a few years back and would not resort to farmed Barra, so was relieved to find out it was Wild.
I would certainly return and it is a great restaurant to bring visiting friends and family as you wont be left embarrassed for showing off what Cairns has to offer!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllieBobA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small portions, quite expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The menu was a little boring and after finally selecting my meal to be told it was unavailable. We were all quite in the mood for a great seafood meal but the pasta dish I did order was 8 prawns surrounding a cup of spaghetti with olive oil.........The vegetarian dish ordered was tasteless tofu and the salmon dish was great as it had the chilli on it that was meant to be served on the tofu dish. Overall not a great experience, the restaurant was full and we took that as a great sign, the service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leongatha, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The staff here are efficient and welcoming. We were directed to a lovely table on the esplanade with great views of the bay. We ordered garlic bread which was large and tasty. For mains we had the bugs and the king prawn and bugs their signature dishes each were served with a small salad and lemon butter sauce on the side. The seafood was cooked to perfection and ample on the plate. Every detail was considered here even a fluffy cold towel to wipe your hands on after you had finished stripping every morsel out of their shells. I can still taste it delicious .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barlow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had dinner twice in this restaurant which serves really good food and service is also fast and good

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rockingrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing