We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste Of China Restaurant

Taste Of China Restaurant
Ranked #329 of 592 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My family had an unpleasant experience at this restaurant during our recent visit to Cairns. The lady manager/ boss's attitude was terrible when we did not order as much food as she expected. When we asked for the bill, she just put it on the table and walked off. After paying up, she crumpled our change and said an unwilling thank you with a lousy atitude. Worst customer service that we have ever received in any restaurant. Can't stand her attitude!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TMH1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    18
    5
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience, the food, service, and the wine excellent. If you are after authentic chinese food this is the place for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The food here was very good. What impressed us most was that most of the clientele was Asian. They seemed to be at home here.
Prices were reasonable. Staff was friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John and Patric... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Enjoyable eating experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We walked into this restaurant because the restaurant looked busy from the street. It is always a good sign indicating the food is good. Our dishes came relatively quickly given the busy nature. We have ordered several dishes and found that they are very authentic Chinese dishes. The coral trout was exceptional! We went back there the next night and tried some other dishes. The friendly staff suggested Sichuan style beef, my mother lived in Sichuan for 8 months in the past and commented that the chef did a fantastic job on the cooking. Just how she remembered the dish was when she was there! In all, food was great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Avoid! Terrible! Asian looking customers are clueless tourists from China whom only understand Chinese menu!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Avoid! Terrible! Should stick to TA recommendations and stay away from this so called Chinese restaurant.

My biggest mistake to pick this restaurant based on observation that many Asian looking customers are inside.

I later found out that those Asian looking customers are actually tourists from China whom only read Chinese menu or tourist groups with meal pre-ordered by their local tour guide. Many tables (incl mine) have lots of dishes untouched ....

Rude owner (manager?) + horrible food = avoid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chapel_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Of China Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Taste Of China Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing