We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An improvement on the last time”

Splash Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An improvement on the last time”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I went back to Splash with friends despite the last time my fish was very dry.
Only table vacant was inside - a bit disappointing on our last night but our own fault for not booking.
I ordered the macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi with sweet potato mash and greens. Apart from a lack of seasoning my fish was superb! Moist and succulent with a crunchy crust. Cooked to perfection. However my friends ordered the calamari and both serves were like rubber. But the waitress had no difficulty in taking them back and replacing them with a cheerful smile and saying that they aim to please. In saying that the service was very slow even when most diners had gone. One of our drinks was wrong and quickly replaced but the next order for drinks was so long that when we checked, they had forgotten or missed it.
Overall I would go back - my food was delicious - but I would make sure I had plenty of time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    192
    78
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent all round!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great menu with a broad range of choices. Attractive decor and pleasant surroundings overlooking the Esplanade. Table service was excellent with staff attentive, cheeful and efficient. Our party of 3 enjoyed our meals which were a cut above all others we had eaten during our 6 night stay in Cairns. Quality meals from a quality restaurant at a reasonable price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good spot for fish and chips”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

All three of us went for the fish and chips. Service was reasonably quick and the quality of the fish was great (battered fish want over fried!).

Helpful?
Thank Mabbitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
275 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Super seafood”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went to a number of restaurants during our 10 day visit to Cairns. Splash was the best by far. I had mahi-mahi encrusted in macadamia nuts. It was a super meal. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for you. The restaurant had a nice ambience with a view of the esplanade. If one is in the mood for seafood while in Cairns, we found that there is no better place than Splash.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brian790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best in Cairns”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It seemed hard to get good food and service in Cairns other than at the Hilton where we were staying. Prices are high (at least for those of us from Canada) and food and service mediocre. But happily we found an exception in Splash. Service was excellent, food - macadamia nut encrusted mahi-mahi - was fabulous, and a complimentary glass of port to end our meal only added to our satisfaction. Great location across from the esplanade; an easy walk from most hotels. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank novascotiakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Splash Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Splash Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing