We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor in Cairns
Ranked #30 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Moama, Australia
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Unfortunately my wife and I only had 5 nights to stay at the Grosevnor but we loved every
minute of our stay. would have been happy to stay longer. It would appear that CarneyP must have stayed at a different place to us as we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others. We began our journey to Cairns at 3.00am on the day we arrived and could not fault the staff with their helpful attitude and we were looking forward to our holiday not an afternoon nap (old age perhaps) as we are 68 and 61 and loved it. Look forward to staying with you guys again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you Anne for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are appreciated. We always have a website only special running for guests looking to stay a little longer so that your visit to Cairns is not only enjoyable, but also affordable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grosvenor in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    47
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
50
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doveton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a verry good holiday at the Grosevnor in Cairns the room was verry cleane & the staff were verry helpfull in getting our tours orgnised for as , we had clean towels every day i would high recmend the Grosevnor to anyone goging to Cairns & i would stay there again on our next visit

Room Tip: Our room was quite nice & sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review. We always try to provide as much assistance as we possibly can with choosing restaurants and tours to ensure that you get the best experience from your visit to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed at the Grosevnor Cairns last week, and the first thing that became apparent to us was the fact that the staff were rude. When we initially booked in, the lady at the desk was relatively polite, telling us where to park the car etc., however, this soon went on a downward spiral. My husband and I were quite tired upon our arrival after catching an early flight to Cairns earlier that day, so we decided to have an afternoon nap. This was not to be however, as there was a dog in the reception area that continually barked all afternoon. Being that we were close to reception, it sounded as if the dog was in our room. Later that afternoon, we asked the lady at reception if we could have some towels for the pool. You would have thought we asked her to give up her right hand. She was very disgruntled by having to give them to us and mumbled as she went up stairs to collect them. By this stage we had decided to cut our stay at the Grosvenor short and only stay 2 out of the 4 nights that we had booked. When we checked out after the second night the man at the reception desk, looked at us and said " What's going on"? We simply said that we were checking out early and heading up to Port Douglas. His reply was "Ok then" nothing else. He didn't ask us if we had a pleasant stay, or if there was anything he could do for us. Overall, we found the staff very rude, and were extremely surprised at other reviews with their opinion that the staff were friendly. The unit we stayed in was clean enough and the location good, but that's about it. The Grosvenor itself is in dire need of repair, and simple things need fixing, such as broken pool tiles, paint work, etc. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmeyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your comments that your room was "clean enough" and the location was "good". In relation to the comments about the staff being "rude" - a quick perusal of all of the other reviews on TripAdvisor will show that the main theme running through nearly all of them is how friendly, courteous and helpful our staff are (which is Anne 90% of the time). Our guests are of the utmost importance to us during their stay and we go out of our way to do everything possible to make their stay with us as comfortable as possible; but there are some occasions when, despite our best efforts, we are unable to please or satisfy 'some guests' , but we try.

We provide guests with pool towels (free of charge) and there is no issue with providing them when asked politely., even after guests have used the white towels from their apartment at the pool. There are no missing tiles in the pool and to say that the complex is "in dire need of repair" is simply not true. There is one tile missing from the top of the waterfall feature at the swimming pool (where a previous guest tore it off while attempting to climb up the water feature. In an apartment complex such as the Grosvenor there are always maintenance issues to deal with and areas where painting 'touch ups' need to be done, but to give people the impression the complex is 'run down' and "in dire need of repair" is just simply wrong. The images on our website depict the complex as it currently is, in fact all apartments have been completely re-painted over the last 12 months.

'Jazz' is our 1 year old King Charles Cavalier cross and spends most of his day in reception. Apart from the occasional 'yelp' when I stand on his tail he hardly ever barks and when he does its because he's exited and usually just gives out one. Most of our guests love him to death.

When guests check out we always ask them ( when given the opportunity,) how their stay was and whether there were any issues with their accommodation or the complex in general. This feedback is important to us as it helps to reinforce what we are doing well and also to alert us to issues that we may not be aware of. Sometimes however guests put their key on the reception counter as they are walking out and say nothing or very little. I was at the reception counter when these guests left. I was aware that they were booked in for another two nights and was surprised to see them leaving with their luggage. After the guest placed his key on the counter and continued on toward the front door I did say "in a conversational tone) something like "what's going on"? All I got in reply was "we're leaving and going to Port Douglas" .... and they kept walking through the front door ... so I probably did say something like "Right......." because there was no opportunity to say anything else.

Anne and I would ask guests readers to view this guest review in context and compare it to nearly every other review on TripAdvisor when assessing its value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The customer service was excellent you made us feel like we were right at home and was always asking if we had any problems! Your rooms were spotless when we got there and even after cleaning was perfect!! The friendliness you guys give is just perfect you should go a long way in your business!! Thankyou so much Anne and Brian for the most perfect holiday!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Jessica, thank you for taking the time to leave a review re your recent stay at Grosvenor in Cairns.

The cleanliness of the apartments is one of our biggest considerations and to receive such comments reflects well on the excellent work of our Housekeeping staff. I have passed your comments onto them and they are also very appreciative.

We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us; you were a pleasure to have as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed in studio room. Very spacious and very clean. Continental breakfast presentation in a basket was a lovely touch. Crockery and cutlery for two was supplied in the room. Foxtel was good to have also. The pool is magnificent with a spa. BBQ available was really good in an undercover area. Quiet and tranquil setting. Pleasant to spend a holiday at. Regular buses are around the corner,excellent service into Cairns CBD. Many eateries in close proximity with supermarket close by also. All staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend to people I know and would stay again next time we visit Cairns.

Room Tip: Studio room very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Margaret,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Guest feedback is important to Anne and I, whether it be good or the occasional comment. We learn from it all.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us - Cairns is a wonderful City to visit on holiday and we do our best to ensure your stay is as comfortable and stress free as possible.

We would love to see you back at the Grosvenor again one day

Brian & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne (Aus)
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed here for a short business trip 1 week ago, and had been here before. Nothing is too difficult for the managers, and they must be complimented in making my stay very enjoyable! Rooms are well kept, location is good, and I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask Brian and Anne to give you their best: they will look after you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Jacques,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always look forward to welcoming return guests and you were no exception.

We have put a lot of work into the rooms over the last 18 months (complete re-paint, new curtains, new bed coverings, new living room furniture in apartments and new digital flat screen LCD TV's) so it is always nice to receive compliments on how good the complex and the apartments look.

'Customer Service' is not just a "corporate phrase" to Anne and I; it comes with the territory of managing a holiday 7 short term apartment complex and we work hard to try to meet every guests expectations in relation to their treatment and comfort while they stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2013

First impressions were very impressive and continued until the time we left. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. All staff were very attentive and helpful, from helping with suggestions on what to see, and when was the best time to see, booking attractions, taxi's, suggestions on where to eat, directions etc. Would certainly love to have stayed longer and would definately recommend and go again. Thanks Anne and Brian and staff at Grosvenor

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, General Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hi Patricia - thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Anne and I are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoyed our "little chats" about what you had been out doing every day and then planning what might be good for you to do the next day. One thing that Cairns does not lack is plenty of choice of activities for those on holiday.

We have been on most of the tours we recommend and are only too happy to provide you with all the advice and assistance that you may need in making just the right choice for you.

We look forward to you staying with us again one day.

Anne & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#44 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#32 of 84 in Cairns
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor in Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor in Cairns

Property: Grosvenor in Cairns
Address: 186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor in Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor in Cairns is the perfect venue for your holiday or business trip to Cairns in Tropical North Queensland. Affordable, spacious, clean, comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom, fully self contained holiday apartments set in a tropical garden setting complete with solar heated pool/spa. Studios (no cooking facilities - but Studios do contain a microwave oven)are also available. The resident on-site managers will provide every assistance from booking tours to finding a good restaurant. NEW- WiFi internet access is now totally FREE in all apartments and outside areas. The 24 hour a day - 7 days a week gym / fitness center located only 200 meters away is also now totally FREE for all of our guests to use during their stay. Resdtaurants, Hotel, Supermarket, Bottle Shop, Take Away (Pizza, Fish & Chips, Chinese, Thai, Kebabs) all within 250 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor in Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing