We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor in Cairns
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rainbow Inn(Cairns)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
65
48
18
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
48
18
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstay there againnight owlwashing machineone bedroom apartmentno elevatorbottle shophandy locationwalking distancethe wi fireef fleet terminalfirst floorbit datedpool areathe great barrier reeftourssupermarketroomy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Unfortunately my wife and I only had 5 nights to stay at the Grosevnor but we loved every
minute of our stay. would have been happy to stay longer. It would appear that CarneyP must have stayed at a different place to us as we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others. We began our journey to Cairns at 3.00am on the day we arrived and could not fault the staff with their helpful attitude and we were looking forward to our holiday not an afternoon nap (old age perhaps) as we are 68 and 61 and loved it. Look forward to staying with you guys again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you Anne for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are appreciated. We always have a website only special running for guests looking to stay a little longer so that your visit to Cairns is not only enjoyable, but also affordable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grosvenor in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a verry good holiday at the Grosevnor in Cairns the room was verry cleane & the staff were verry helpfull in getting our tours orgnised for as , we had clean towels every day i would high recmend the Grosevnor to anyone goging to Cairns & i would stay there again on our next visit

Room Tip: Our room was quite nice & sunny
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review. We always try to provide as much assistance as we possibly can with choosing restaurants and tours to ensure that you get the best experience from your visit to Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed at the Grosevnor Cairns last week, and the first thing that became apparent to us was the fact that the staff were rude. When we initially booked in, the lady at the desk was relatively polite, telling us where to park the car etc., however, this soon went on a downward spiral. My husband and I were quite tired upon our arrival after catching an early flight to Cairns earlier that day, so we decided to have an afternoon nap. This was not to be however, as there was a dog in the reception area that continually barked all afternoon. Being that we were close to reception, it sounded as if the dog was in our room. Later that afternoon, we asked the lady at reception if we could have some towels for the pool. You would have thought we asked her to give up her right hand. She was very disgruntled by having to give them to us and mumbled as she went up stairs to collect them. By this stage we had decided to cut our stay at the Grosvenor short and only stay 2 out of the 4 nights that we had booked. When we checked out after the second night the man at the reception desk, looked at us and said " What's going on"? We simply said that we were checking out early and heading up to Port Douglas. His reply was "Ok then" nothing else. He didn't ask us if we had a pleasant stay, or if there was anything he could do for us. Overall, we found the staff very rude, and were extremely surprised at other reviews with their opinion that the staff were friendly. The unit we stayed in was clean enough and the location good, but that's about it. The Grosvenor itself is in dire need of repair, and simple things need fixing, such as broken pool tiles, paint work, etc. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarmeyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your comments that your room was "clean enough" and the location was "good". In relation to the comments about the staff being "rude" - a quick perusal of all of the other reviews on TripAdvisor will show that the main theme running through nearly all of them is how friendly, courteous and helpful our staff are (which is Anne 90% of the time). Our guests are of the utmost importance to us during their stay and we go out of our way to do everything possible to make their stay with us as comfortable as possible; but there are some occasions when, despite our best efforts, we are unable to please or satisfy 'some guests' , but we try.

We provide guests with pool towels (free of charge) and there is no issue with providing them when asked politely., even after guests have used the white towels from their apartment at the pool. There are no missing tiles in the pool and to say that the complex is "in dire need of repair" is simply not true. There is one tile missing from the top of the waterfall feature at the swimming pool (where a previous guest tore it off while attempting to climb up the water feature. In an apartment complex such as the Grosvenor there are always maintenance issues to deal with and areas where painting 'touch ups' need to be done, but to give people the impression the complex is 'run down' and "in dire need of repair" is just simply wrong. The images on our website depict the complex as it currently is, in fact all apartments have been completely re-painted over the last 12 months.

'Jazz' is our 1 year old King Charles Cavalier cross and spends most of his day in reception. Apart from the occasional 'yelp' when I stand on his tail he hardly ever barks and when he does its because he's exited and usually just gives out one. Most of our guests love him to death.

When guests check out we always ask them ( when given the opportunity,) how their stay was and whether there were any issues with their accommodation or the complex in general. This feedback is important to us as it helps to reinforce what we are doing well and also to alert us to issues that we may not be aware of. Sometimes however guests put their key on the reception counter as they are walking out and say nothing or very little. I was at the reception counter when these guests left. I was aware that they were booked in for another two nights and was surprised to see them leaving with their luggage. After the guest placed his key on the counter and continued on toward the front door I did say "in a conversational tone) something like "what's going on"? All I got in reply was "we're leaving and going to Port Douglas" .... and they kept walking through the front door ... so I probably did say something like "Right......." because there was no opportunity to say anything else.

Anne and I would ask guests readers to view this guest review in context and compare it to nearly every other review on TripAdvisor when assessing its value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The customer service was excellent you made us feel like we were right at home and was always asking if we had any problems! Your rooms were spotless when we got there and even after cleaning was perfect!! The friendliness you guys give is just perfect you should go a long way in your business!! Thankyou so much Anne and Brian for the most perfect holiday!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Jessica, thank you for taking the time to leave a review re your recent stay at Grosvenor in Cairns.

The cleanliness of the apartments is one of our biggest considerations and to receive such comments reflects well on the excellent work of our Housekeeping staff. I have passed your comments onto them and they are also very appreciative.

We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us; you were a pleasure to have as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed in studio room. Very spacious and very clean. Continental breakfast presentation in a basket was a lovely touch. Crockery and cutlery for two was supplied in the room. Foxtel was good to have also. The pool is magnificent with a spa. BBQ available was really good in an undercover area. Quiet and tranquil setting. Pleasant to spend a holiday at. Regular buses are around the corner,excellent service into Cairns CBD. Many eateries in close proximity with supermarket close by also. All staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend to people I know and would stay again next time we visit Cairns.

Room Tip: Studio room very spacious.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Guest feedback is important to Anne and I, whether it be good or the occasional comment. We learn from it all.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us - Cairns is a wonderful City to visit on holiday and we do our best to ensure your stay is as comfortable and stress free as possible.

We would love to see you back at the Grosvenor again one day

Brian & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews