We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor in Cairns
Ranked #40 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

There were three of us, one from Canada and my husband and me from Sydney. We booked online two rooms. There are three floors in this apartment building but no lift which was difficult as we are all over 70. The rooms were clean, the beds good but the bathrooms were in some need of repair. One good thing was that there is a guest laundry for only $3 per load. Unfortunately a vehicle is needed to get into the main Cairns area. This distance is a mixed blessing as if you don't want the night life the apartment building is in a quiet area. Management was very helpful but I probably would not book this facility again.

Room Tip: Ask which floor your room would be on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsw203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments about the apartments being clean and comfortable are appreciated.
In relation to the set up of the complex; yes there is no lift and we always try to make that obvious to potential guests, however if guests book through a travel agent we receive very little information about the guests apart from booking dates and names and we receive no contact details. In situations where we are able to communicate with guests we always ask about which floor they would prefer to be on (ground floor apartments have balconies,but the apartments on the 2nd and 3rd floor tend to be brighter and quieter). We also assist guests with their luggage whenever we can.
We do like the fact we we are just out of the CBD; it's much quieter at night away from the night clubs and 'noisy' people in the CBD. There is a public bus stop 100 metres away ($2 and 7 minutes into the city) and a taxi will cost about $9 and take 5 minutes.
Brian and Anne (on-site managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Took a family vacation in Cairns, decided to pick Grosvenor due to good reviews from TripAdvisor. The apartment we took was nice and spacious, well located and close to some groceries and food joints. Though it was a very brief stay for the 5 of us, the thing worth mentioning here is the help we received from Ann, who was very knowledgeable about the tour options we can take, and patiently addressed the queries we had and made our stay a very pleasant one. I would definitely return in the near future.

The pool looked good, but was moderate sized, never got a chance to take a quick dip as one particular family just hogged the place every evening during our whole stay. Also, there was no lift n we were on the 3rd floor, so tht was a long way up with heavy suitcases we were carrying.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors would be better as there is no lift. Also, not much of a view to miss out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do appreciate your comments about your accommodation and the help you received from Anne to help you pick just the "right" tours for you - Brian and Anne (on-site managers).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Wife and I took a 7 day break from the winter hustle and bustle of Sydney life and flew to Cairns for some Aussie sun. Stayed at Grosvenor In Cairns as a result of Trip Advisor. Met both Brian and Ann who manage the place and have to say they looked after us pretty well. Nothing was a problem and made our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Brian and Ann gave us tips and ideas of places to go and see, things to do, where to go and where to stay away without that 'hard sell' that you become wary of. Accommodation was very clean, comfortable, well supplied and real value for money. Bus stop only 50metres away and buses take you anywhere you want to go, either north to Palm Cove, south to Cairns Central or west to Earlville Stocklands. Easy walking distance to Cairns Central and all the restaurants, night life and Lagoon. Two mini supermarkets,liquor shop and free use of 24 hr gym right across the road. Thanks for a great stay and making our short break relaxing. Will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your review and comments. Your comments about your accommodation and our service to you are appreciated. Although we try to give our guests as much information and assistance as possible we are always aware of not "overpowering guests with information or any 'hard sell' tactics. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you next visit Cairns (and remember to contact us directly by phone or email for the best possible deal) - Brian and Anne (on-site managers).


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My friend and I had five lovely warm, sunny days in Cairns. Brian gave us great advice about some trips, and we enjoyed a swim in the not-too-heated pool most days. Location was central for accessing the Esplanade, Restaurants, shopping, etc. Great meals at the Cock and Bull and Tandoori Nights just down the street. Rooms were clean and well supplied, staff always helpful and obliging. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Anne and I appreciate your positive comments (as do our housekeeping staff who we pass these commets onto).
The pool is solar heated and in summer we have to turn the solar heating off as the pool will heat up to over 30 degrees. In winter it loses heat at night when the temperature drops to about 15 to 18 degrees but the dry, sunny days do allow us to keep the pool temperature up around 23 to 25 degrees instead of the 18 to 20 degrees it would be without it. - Brian and Anne (on-site managers).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

There were five of us adults and we shared a double apartment which was great. Plenty of room with kitchen facilites and laundry and 2 bathrooms. Very clean and tidy. Close to everything including mini mart and liquor store. Also Cock and Bull just down the road where we had the best crocodile burgers ever!!- easy walking to most places. Brian was most helpful in everything that we asked of him. We never used the pool as the weather was not hot enough fou to do so. We were leaving there to go to Cooktown and coming back to Cairns after days enroute to Townsville and he said he would do us a great deal if we wanted to stay back with him if we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our 2 bedroom apartments are terrific value for large families; they are large enough to be able to add an extra bed or two if required with there still being plenty or room relax in (and the 2nd bathroom is appreciated by all guests). The nearby restaurants, bottle shop and supermarket are very convenient for our guests and yes, the Cock & Bull Hotel (250 meters away) is "great value", with good quality 'enormous' meals. We appreciate your positive comments - Brian and Anne (on-site managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed for one night at the Grosvenor. Had an family apartment room, which was two adjoining rooms with adjoining door open. It was great, lots of space. Nice and clean. Service at hotel was good. Walking distance to Muddies which is great for kids. Central location overall. Only complaint was the pool was pretty cold. I had booked at Grosvenor especially because i wanted a heated pool (went in July). Because its heated by solar panels if its not hot then the pool is not very hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsScroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your review and although you only stayed one night we do appreciate you taking the time to make comment. Muddies playground is a terrific playground area if you have small, children and is only a short walk away down to the northern end of the Esplanade. The pool is 'solar heated' but is not a heated (by gas or electric heater) as such. Most of the time we are able to keep the water temperature at a level that is comfortable for most guests - Brian and Anne (on-site managers).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a five day stay at the Grosvenor in Cairns we went up as a group of 19 for my nieces 18th birthday. We couldn't have asked for better accommodation and more helpful staff, we came up from Ballarat in Victoria so the airconditioned rooms and pool were great . Brian even looked after our luggage on the last day as we had a late flight and didn't want to lug bags every where with us he even opened a room when we got back to pick up bags so we could make a coffee and even have a quick shower before our flights. I have recommended the Grosvenor in Cairns to all our friends and family and know that if I get back to Cairns I will stay there again great effort all round guys :) .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to leave a review. Reviews are important as they serve to reinforce what we are "doing right" but also occasionally they help us recognise things we could be doing better.
Large groups are always a challenge but we always do our best to locate all their rooms close together and to make sure they have everything they require.
Having a late flight on check out day can always present problems for guests because the last thing you want to do is have to lug your luggage around all day. We are always happy to prove guests with a late checkout where possible and to store their luggage for them until they are ready to head out to the airport. The pool area has it's own shower and bathroom area and guests are always able to "relax around the pool" until ready to go or to go out for the day and then return to pick up their luggage and use the pool area shower and bathroom to freshen up before departing for the airport - Brian and Anne (on-site managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropic Towers Apartments
Tropic Towers Apartments
#41 of 84 in Cairns
82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cairns Harbour Lights
Cairns Harbour Lights
#15 of 84 in Cairns
815 reviews
1 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor in Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor in Cairns

Address: 186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £58 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor in Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor in Cairns is the perfect venue for your holiday or business trip to Cairns in Tropical North Queensland. Affordable, spacious, clean, comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom, fully self contained holiday apartments set in a tropical garden setting complete with solar heated pool/spa. Studios (no cooking facilities - but Studios do contain a microwave oven)are also available. The resident on-site managers will provide every assistance from booking tours to finding a good restaurant. NEW- WiFi internet access is now totally FREE in all apartments and outside areas. The 24 hour a day - 7 days a week gym / fitness center located only 200 meters away is also now totally FREE for all of our guests to use during their stay. Resdtaurants, Hotel, Supermarket, Bottle Shop, Take Away (Pizza, Fish & Chips, Chinese, Thai, Kebabs) all within 250 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grosvenor in Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing