We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor in Cairns
Ranked #32 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The room was terrific and pool and barbecue area nice and private. The staff are very helpful, The Grosvenor is ideally located near shops, a hotel and a number of different restaurants, The CBD and marina are only a short bus trip away. We very much enjoyed our week there and will very likely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a selection of rooms and you should find one to suit
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor in Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned home from 8 nights stay at the Grosvenor. Definately not 4 Star didn't realise this was self rated, thought it was an industry standard. We arrived first night to no TV remote different to TV and no instructions, kettle had to hold down to boil and no air conditioning. TV and kettle got sorted next day. But no aircon for our complete stay. We did get portable coolers on 3rd day, but couldn't sleep with them on as too noisy and as my Aunty was from South Island of NZ she was struggling with heat. No shuttle and free wii fi kept dropping out, pool cold and distance to town too far. Plenty of places more central and nicer so look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Grosvenor. Brian gave us all the info we needed and was available to help out throughout our stay. Parking was close and easily accessed. There are no elevators but we had no trouble with stairs. We did find traveller's coming up the stairs echoed into our studio room due to the tiles and banging of baggage etc.. It was only one incident too. Location was excellent for us and on the road that came directly from the airport. We could have walked into town (20 mins or so) but had a hire car. We had adjoining rooms and our 2.5 year old was able to sleep soundly in the provided port-a-cot with the block-out blinds helping immensely. Internet access was excellent from our rooms (we had iPad and laptop to access it). Rooms were cleaned regularly and were reasonably clean when we first arrived. Towels could be changed daily if required. Pool was well fenced and accessible for all. It was overall a lovely setting and we would stay again.

Room Tip: If you have kids and get adjoining rooms put children/toddlers/babies in the one bedroom apartment b...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Re_gen_er_a_ted_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful week at the Grosvenor in Cairns, after arriving mid-morning we were able to go straight to our room which was comfortable and fully equipped with crockery, cutlery, toaster, kettle, tea and coffee, iron, ironing board and clothes airer. It was an easy and enjoyable walk for us in and out of the CBD, especially along the boardwalk on the Esplanade. There were fast food shops, bakery, supermarket, bottle shop, the Cock and Bull Hotel, Indian and Italian restaurants all within a 2 minute walk from the Grosvenor. Nothing was too much trouble for Brian and Anne who arranged tours and taxi for us. We also spent time in the pool or enjoying the sun on the day beds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Jenny - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Grosvenor in Cairns. Guest reviews are important for two reasons; 1) they provide feedback to us so we can see what we are doing "right" and what we sometimes get wrong; and 2) they provide a guide for other guests as to what to expect if they book accommodation.

We are happy that you had an enjoyable week with us and that you found everything in the apartment met your expectations.

We always try to accommodate requests for an early check in, particularly if we are notified in advance and can arrange your apartment to be ready as soon as you arrive.

Brian and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I were very happy we stayed here. The 1 bed apartment was large , clean and well equipped. The staff are friendly and very helpful and booking tours was no problem. There are grocery and liquor and fast food stores close by and a tavern over the road . Buses also are close but at $7 to $8 by taxi to town, taxi is great. The pool is a nice spot to come back to after a day out.

Room Tip: Make a booking yourself by phone.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Steven - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

Another 5/5 rating and we are on a roll! Our location is good, just far enough out of the center of town to be away from all the night time nolise but still close enough to be able to walk there or catch a bus or a taxi .... and shops, restaurants and a supermarket are all within 250 meters.

The room tip "make a booking yourself by phone" is a good tip as the cheapest price will ALWAYS be obtained from us directly! (by phone or email) - Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Brian was an excellent host. He was always available when we required assistance. The apartment was clean, organized and very convenient in terms of location. We had a one-bedroom apartment which was spacious and all fixtures were in good order. We found there was no need for a car as the bus stopped at the corner of the street. We would recommend the Grosvenor as a place to stay while visiting Cairns.

Wendy and Trevor

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Wendy - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Grosvenor in Cairns. A "5 out of 5" rating is always appreciated by not only Anne and I but all of our staff.

Most of guests find that they do not need a car unless they want to go on a few "self drive day trips", as the bus that goes into the center of town is only 100 meters away, a taxi to the Esplanade costs about $9 or it is just a peacefull 20 to 30 minute walk.

The apartment are large and well fitted out and we are adding additional items all the time. We are presently putting Rice Cookers and Halogen bench top ovens in the apartments so that guests can have a complete choice of what and how to cook if they choose to eat in for a couple of nights.

Brian and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The friendly and informative welcome from the staff at the Grosvenor was outstanding. We were advised of all the local eateries and shops that were within an easy walk with recommendations given of all the tourist areas too. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. The block out blinds were excellent, allowing a good solid sleep. We could not speak highly enough of this accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Vivien - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review re your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Cairns and that your accommodation met all of your expectations, including being able to get a good nights sleep - Brian and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#45 of 64 in Cairns
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#30 of 84 in Cairns
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Plaza Apartments Cairns
0.1 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor in Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor in Cairns

Address: 186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £61 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor in Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor in Cairns is the perfect venue for your holiday or business trip to Cairns in Tropical North Queensland. Affordable, spacious, clean, comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom, fully self contained holiday apartments set in a tropical garden setting complete with solar heated pool/spa. Studios (no cooking facilities - but Studios do contain a microwave oven)are also available. The resident on-site managers will provide every assistance from booking tours to finding a good restaurant. NEW- WiFi internet access is now totally FREE in all apartments and outside areas. The 24 hour a day - 7 days a week gym / fitness center located only 200 meters away is also now totally FREE for all of our guests to use during their stay. Resdtaurants, Hotel, Supermarket, Bottle Shop, Take Away (Pizza, Fish & Chips, Chinese, Thai, Kebabs) all within 250 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor in Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing