We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citysider Holiday Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tropical Heritage Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
127
86
13
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
86
13
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain linekuranda scenictwo bedroom apartmentwashing machine and dryerpool areano liftbooking toursminute walkwithin walking distanceeasy walkgood sizeliving areastayed for nightsair conhostsesplanadekitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The accommodation was clean, minus the leaking taps in the laundry area which nearly caused flooding of the apartment but after using a can opener to close the taps (as there were no knobs to turn them off) the problem dissolved itself.
The management style was very distasteful. My husband and I have both travelled a lot over the years, as a married couple and as single backpackers and never ever have had a note waiting for us (underneath the door) saying “Don’t forget to check out” on our last day. Just because Cairns does have a lot of young travellers, doesn't mean a married couple should be treated as unresponsible.
Late checkout was not possible. Not for a fee and not even for a couple of hours. Management style was “brutally German” and should be reconsidered.
And BYO salt and pepper. We went to McDonald's to grab some S&P as we were unwilling to buy it for only 4 days and leave the rest behind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We appreciate your review and are happy that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We find it unfortunate that our Management style was not to your liking, but do find your rating a bit unfair. We have over the years debated whether or not a note titled “a friendly reminder” to remind guests of simple things was necessary. We found it helpful because it is easy to forget yourself while on holidays. We have had many guests that were even thankful because they actually forgot they were departing the next day. We are sorry that you found it offensive.

We would have been happy to help you with any leaking taps or other maintenance issues if they were brought to our attention. These things do happen unexpectedly at times.

We also apologise that late check outs are not always possible. Unfortunately, we sometimes have only a few hours to turn the apartment around for the next guest. It is not uncommon for hotels to get many back to back bookings making late check outs impossible. If we had the availability, we would have given you a late check out.

Since we are self-catering holiday apartments, it is BYO everything with the exception of a complimentary starter pack to get you by until you make it to the shops. It is simply the nature of self-contained apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Before traveling to Cairns, I did a search on the Web to identify suitable accommodation for 4 adults. In all the searches, I kept coming back to Citysider Holiday Apartments as this best meet our requirements for location and cost. When we arrived on Saturday afternoon, the office had a sign saying to ring managers on the outdoor phone, he turned up within a couple of minutes. During our stay for 8 days, this happened a couple of times but we only had to wait no more than a couple of minutes for someone to turn up. While we did not have a lot of contact with the manager, he was friendly and provided the information we were after. The apartment we were in was on the ground floor. It was spacious and we found the beds and other furniture comfortable. As we cooked most of our meals, the kitchen was adequate but some of the cooking utensils ie frypan needs to be updated. Overall the apartment while showing signs of its age, met our expectations and we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_F172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Citysider during August. I am so glad we weren't staying longer. We nicknamed the manager 'Mr Grumpy'. When we first arrived he was very cold and unfriendly. He asked if we wanted to book some trips and we explained that we already had our trips arranged (when you are coming all the way from the UK you don't want to arrive somewhere to find that all the trips are booked up for the days you want.) He was most put out telling us that he could have saved us money and that we shouldn't come complaining to him if the trips we had booked didn't turn out the way we had hoped as only he knew the best operators. (All our trips turned out to be first class!)

The list of rules of what you can and can't do are vast. I am surprised there weren't rules about breathing too! There was a very curt/sarcastic message that was put on the reception door when it was closed. Reception hours are very short.

We travelled throughout Australia, NZ and the South Pacific and nowhere we went was unfriendly like this place is. The place wasn't that clean and the pool was green! All the other places we stayed (for similar cost) had been cleaned and the bed made daily. Not so here - the apartment wasn't that clean and at no time was it cleaned whilst we were there. All the other places had given us washing powder for the washing machine, washing up liquid etc on a daily basis as we needed it. A good touch as you don't want to be buying a whole box of washing cubes for a few days. Here though they ask you to pay for any sachets at the vast price of a dollar a sachet. :-( On departure we were presented with a long list of jobs that we should do before we departed e.g. putting the rubbish in the skips out by the road, cleaning the place and leaving it as we found it or we would be charged.

Just one other thing it is quite a long walk to the quay and shops.

I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here! Oh and the property has a 'for sale' sign up outside which may explain a lot!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Citysider Cairns. To be fair, we do believe that you have exaggerated quite a bit and misread a few things. We will try to address as many of these as possible.

‘Mr Grumpy’ is not half as grumpy as he seems. He just has a dry sense of humour.

The pool is green because the beige pebbles cause the surface reflection to be green, not because it is dirty (typical of pools constructed in the 80s and 90s in Australia. It is supposed to give the pool a natural look).

You booked a self-catering apartment, which means you are given a starter pack to get you by until you make it to the shops, and rooms are only serviced weekly (typical of this style accommodation in Australia). It also means you have to do the dishes (dishwasher provided), take out the trash, and leave the place in a reasonable state. That’s three things. It is not a long list. Truth be told, as long as the place is not trashed, we are happy.

We can see by your profile that you’ve been to quite a few places, and we admit that Australia is quite possibly the most expensive of them, which is unfortunate, but it’s just the market here. You will notice that most of our guests consider us good value. This is most likely because they’ve shopped around and compared the cost relative to other accommodation, and they are accustomed to the high cost of living in Australia.

It is unfortunate to have terms & conditions, by-laws, and pool rules in a complex (ALL businesses of this sort have them even if they are hidden away), but they are present for legal reasons, not because establishments enjoy having rules for rules’ sake.

The sign on the front door of reception says, ‘the office is open but currently unattended. For assistance, please pick up the phone to your right- >->->.’ This style of business requires the manager to be out of the office at times but still in the complex, and we are simply a phone call away, and reception hours are 8am to 6pm Mon-Sat and 9am-2pm Sun.

For those who don’t mind walking 10 to 15 minutes to either the esplanade or Cairns Centeral, we do have a good location.

The ‘For Sale’ sign on the front the property was for an individual unit at Citysider, not for the business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Unfriendly welcome with the clear advice that we can buy everything for our stay at the reception (toilet paper 1 $, washing powder (25gr) 1$, powder for the dishwasher 1$....), Rooms are at first sight clean, but don´t look to close under beds and behind the sofa - you will find unexpected things......Clear regulations for everything - one whole sheet of pool regulation like: if you what to eat something at the pool, stay at least 8 meters away from it. The "fully equipped kitchen" had a very old oven and only a very small pan. After touring for some weeks through Australia that was the first and the only place we cannot recommend. Very small and cold pool. Nevertheless it seems to us a good place for people who like the "deutsche Gründlichkeit". Due to the many regulations they can really feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Petra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Citysider Holiday Apartments. We do have to say that most of the accommodation that you booked in Australia were luxury apartments (Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay and Airlie Waterfront BnB), which are $150 to $200 per night more than us. It is quite hard to compete with the experience and service that you had there, so I think most of your negativity stems from a misunderstanding of the style of accommodation that you picked. We offer self-catering holiday apartments, which means the guests is mostly self-reliant, we provide you with a basic starter pack to get you by until you make it to the shops. It is unfortunate to have terms & conditions, by-laws, and pool rules in a complex (ALL businesses of this sort have them even if they are hidden away), and some of the rules do seem quite silly and obviously do not apply to most people, but when you do have that odd incident where someone is throwing food in the pool, or eating in the pool, then you want to have something in writing. (It says to stay 8 feet or about 2 ½ metres away, not 8 metres.) It is a bit surprising you even read that rule because it is not on open display but tucked away in the back of the compendium. These rules are also present for legal reasons, not because establishments enjoy having rules for rules’ sake. Also, perhaps our apartments are not as immaculate as the luxury apartments you are accustomed to because they are not newly renovated, but they are clean as most of our reviews attest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had never been to Cairns before so didn't know what to expect. Walter welcomed us with a friendly smile and a quick overview of places to see and the complex etc. We were on the second floor which could be difficult for people who aren't fit as there is no lift. The apartment was neat and tidy and had a lovely balcony. It was a real home away from home. The kitchen was quite well equipped and we had our own washing machine and dryer. It was approx. 15 to 20 minute easy walk to esplanade. We had 4 adults staying in the apartment and we were quite comfortable. The only minus was some of the apartments are permanent rentals and a couple of the residents get up early for work. Other than that it was a lovely holiday and would recommend Citysider Apartments to other travelers.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking up stairs, ask for a ground floor or first floor unit as there are no lifts.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews