We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family of 4” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citysider Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Citysider Holiday Apartments
Ranked #33 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family of 4”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights and despite reading some reviews around cleanliness and carpets we were very happy. Air cons were a bit old and noisy. There was less than half a roll of toilet paper when we arrived. When we asked for more we were told were not a hotel you have to go and buy your own. Despite pleadings that there was insufficient to no avail. Hope someone can use the extra we left. There was quite a hard sell on booking tours and they took back some free wifi when the tour we wanted was booked out so we only booked 1 tour.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We are self-catering apartments, so anything after the complimentary starter pack is the responsibility of the guests. We do provide each apartment with a full roll of toilet paper, never a leftover half a roll. More can be purchased from the supermarket or from Reception. As an incentive to book all tours with us, we offer free Wi-fi based on the amount of tours that are booked. Guests can also purchase Wi-fi from Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    82
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
112
37
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lausanne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Perfect accomodation for 2 adults and 3 children. Large rooms with fully equipped kitchen. We had a nice 4 nights stay and recommend it to all families staying a couple of days in Cairns (with a car).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent 5 nights at CitySider in Oct. 2013. The management was most welcoming and did everything to make our stay pleasant. The 2 bedroom apartment was very large and well maintained. Although we are expected to replace consumable items after using them, the management gladly gave what we required. The location is great. We were walking distance from any shopping as well for groceries. The management arranged our Kuranda rail and Skyrail tour. This was superb and reasonably priced. The management organized our car rental at a good price for our day trip to Port Douglas. The management also gave us a break on the room cost. My only recommendation to the management is to replace the lounge chairs as some were cracked and one did pinch me.

Room Tip: Speak with the management directly when booking rather than through a third party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marquis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Decor was nice but when we arrived the fridge was hot and the apartment smelt musty. Upon looking around the unit was in need of some serious TLC! There was mould on the walls and blinds. The kitchen cupboards also stank. On the last night of staying there I pull back my sons sheets to discover they were mouldy. We were obviously put in a unit surrounded by noisy permanent residents who kept us up at night. When I looked at the website it had pool views (which I was expecting) instead we had a view of old shipping containers and a business which could see straight into the unit. The toilet would run every 5 mins and dishwasher was crap. I would not be staying there again. You really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Citysider. Unfortunately, not every apartment can have a view of the pool, and one of the disadvantages of being near the CBD is the views are not always the best. We are lucky that not all of the apartments have the view that your apartment had. Most of our apartments have views of a creek, the railroad, the pool, or gardens.

We do find many of your ratings and comments a bit relentless. If your apartment was that unpleasant or you were disturbed in any way, we wish that you would have brought this to Management's attention. We would have been happy to do something about it, especially the noisy neighbours. Also, we have no earthly idea how your son's sheets became moldy, but we are certain that neither the bed nor the linen caused this. We provide all of our guests with fresh, professionally laundered sheets and a free weekly service if you stay 8 nights or more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

What a great place to stay in Cairns. Stayed for a week in the two bedroom apartment. we knew it wasn't serviced daily and that suited us fine. You can buy extra toilet paper and powder for dishes and washing machine for $1 at reception. A taxi from the wharf is about $10 and from the supermarket $7 so for the advantage of being away from noise was good. Missed catching up with Theresa this time, she is the more bubbly and chatty of the two, but Walter and their other staff was great. I hope Theresa gets well soon. We request a tour of Kuranda late one afternoon for the next day which they happily organised. As for the for sale sign I think that is other apartments in the complex. I remember some being sold last time I visited. I would certainly stay there again and recommended it to all my friends. The check out note did seem a bit unnecessary but it was great value for what we got. The gourmet delivery services was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The accommodation was clean, minus the leaking taps in the laundry area which nearly caused flooding of the apartment but after using a can opener to close the taps (as there were no knobs to turn them off) the problem dissolved itself.
The management style was very distasteful. My husband and I have both travelled a lot over the years, as a married couple and as single backpackers and never ever have had a note waiting for us (underneath the door) saying “Don’t forget to check out” on our last day. Just because Cairns does have a lot of young travellers, doesn't mean a married couple should be treated as unresponsible.
Late checkout was not possible. Not for a fee and not even for a couple of hours. Management style was “brutally German” and should be reconsidered.
And BYO salt and pepper. We went to McDonald's to grab some S&P as we were unwilling to buy it for only 4 days and leave the rest behind.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We appreciate your review and are happy that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We find it unfortunate that our Management style was not to your liking, but do find your rating a bit unfair. We have over the years debated whether or not a note titled “a friendly reminder” to remind guests of simple things was necessary. We found it helpful because it is easy to forget yourself while on holidays. We have had many guests that were even thankful because they actually forgot they were departing the next day. We are sorry that you found it offensive.

We would have been happy to help you with any leaking taps or other maintenance issues if they were brought to our attention. These things do happen unexpectedly at times.

We also apologise that late check outs are not always possible. Unfortunately, we sometimes have only a few hours to turn the apartment around for the next guest. It is not uncommon for hotels to get many back to back bookings making late check outs impossible. If we had the availability, we would have given you a late check out.

Since we are self-catering holiday apartments, it is BYO everything with the exception of a complimentary starter pack to get you by until you make it to the shops. It is simply the nature of self-contained apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerton North
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Before traveling to Cairns, I did a search on the Web to identify suitable accommodation for 4 adults. In all the searches, I kept coming back to Citysider Holiday Apartments as this best meet our requirements for location and cost. When we arrived on Saturday afternoon, the office had a sign saying to ring managers on the outdoor phone, he turned up within a couple of minutes. During our stay for 8 days, this happened a couple of times but we only had to wait no more than a couple of minutes for someone to turn up. While we did not have a lot of contact with the manager, he was friendly and provided the information we were after. The apartment we were in was on the ground floor. It was spacious and we found the beds and other furniture comfortable. As we cooked most of our meals, the kitchen was adequate but some of the cooking utensils ie frypan needs to be updated. Overall the apartment while showing signs of its age, met our expectations and we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_F172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
City Terraces Cairns
City Terraces Cairns
#49 of 89 in Cairns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#35 of 89 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#15 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns City Apartments
Cairns City Apartments
#44 of 89 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citysider Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citysider Holiday Apartments

Property: Citysider Holiday Apartments
Address: 17A Upward St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citysider Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan, modern city of Cairns is set in the heart of Tropical North Queensland, Australia. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, pristine World Heritage Rainforest, the scenic waterfalls of the Atherton Tablelands and an abundance of sun soaked beaches and islands. Staying at The Citysider Cairns Holiday Apartments with its Resort Facilities less than 10 minutes from the airport, casino and hundreds of shops, restaurants and cafes, is all about affordability, accessibility, comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Citysider Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing