We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Citysider a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citysider Holiday Apartments
Ranked #35 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We loved the Citysider. The apartment was clean and fresh and well equiped. It was far enough from the CBD to be quiet and only an $8 taxi ride from the waterfront restaurants and walking distance to the mall and supermarkets. Therese and Walter were superb hosts and couldn't have anything more to make our trip enjoyable. All their advice was spot on.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariaj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

For a week’s stay in Cairns, we found our apartment at the Citysider to be a clean and nicely equipped oasis in the city but just out of the way enough to be quiet and relaxing.

At just under $700 for the week, the price was good for a large one-bedroom suite, with a lovely queen bedroom, large kitchen, pleasant bathroom with excellent fixtures, and a washer and drier, secure parking. Ventilation was excellent throughout thanks to ceiling fans and screens on all windows and doors. A/C was available, but with the good air circulation and awnings over the windows, we found that it wasn’t needed. Moreover, even in 30-degree heat and humidity, the apartment felt pleasant thanks in part to the tile flooring throughout. A lovely bonus was a private balcony that overlooked the quiet tree-lined creek that runs along one side of the complex. The trees were frequented all day by a variety of lovely birds.

The kitchen was well-equipped with crockery and cutlery, a full-sized fridge, a full-sized stove and oven, a microwave, kettle, and so on—we never lacked for the item we wanted. The managers thoughtfully put a small milk in the fridge for use in tea or coffee on checkin. The furnishings and linens are not luxurious, just basic but in good taste and comfortable. In fact, that might describe much of the complex.

There are three connected apartment blocks arranged around a central parking area. Each block is about three floors. There is a pool with a nice shady deck and a barbeque. Even though we had neighbours above and below, the noise was never unreasonable. The managers emphasize quiet and renters seem to comply. In fact, the main asset of this location is its quietness. Out front is Upward Street, a wide minor road. Along one side runs a creek lined by trees. At the back is a quiet storage yard. The remaining side is adjacent to a railway line with a sleepy street beyond. Trains seemed to pass about 4 times a day, the earliest around 8 a.m., both passenger trains and freight. But train noise was not a problem. The railway is narrow gauge and the typical train was short. Also, the track is very straight and flat on this stretch so there were no screeching wheels or revving engines. The engines used a soft pleasant-sounding whistle at the crossing. Not bad at all.

While the location may seem out of the way to many, it suited us perfectly. It is in the city but just apart from it. We were able to go several days without a car because within 3 blocks are a late-night IGA and liquor store, the main bus routes on Sheridan Street, a bakery and a few fast-food restaurants, the railway station, and Cairns Central, the giant shopping centre with its banks, grocery stores, and giant food court. The Esplanade, the central restaurant district, and the Reef Terminal are farther afield but we walked there anyway. When we got a rental car, we found the location perfect for jumping on to the highway north or south.

All this is good, but the strong management really makes the place shine. The managers are a resident couple, both of whom are personable, well-organized, and good communicators online and in person. Their pride in their work and the property is evident at every turn. At checkin, they provided an excellent briefing and thereafter were available but never intrusive. They encouraged information requests during our stay and solicited feedback afterward.

The Citysider is not fancy—most definitely not a “resort” or one of the several tarted-up motels we saw masquerading as such. This place was just good honest value in medium-priced long-stay accommodation in Cairns.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The Citysider in Cairns is not super modern or prestigious. But it offers good, clean and spacious accommodation with everything you need at a reasonable cost.. It is situated on the rim of the central tourist area with a reasonable walk to the city centre, shops, restaurant area etc. We had a rental vehicle so this was not an issue for our small party of 3 older people and we regarded being away from the hustle and bustle as a bonus. The railway track is adjacent but this was not very busy and not a problem for us during our 5 night stay.

Theresa & Walter were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Theresa was invaluable helping with our planning & booking local tours. Everything she suggested turned out a winner.

Finally, we must commend the honesty of both Management and Staff. A box containing jewellry was inadvertently left in a bedroom drawer and not missed by us. When we arrived home from our trip, we received an email from Theresa asking whether it was our property. Such honesty is really appreciated and admired.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ennis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Therese, the manageress, was extremely friendly and helpful, particularly with tour information. The apartment met our expectations and we particularly enjoyed the outside balcony shadowed by trees and with an excellent view of the pool and barbeque area. The pool was large and inviting and the surrounding grounds are kept in immaculate order. We found "Citysider" handy to the various bus services we required and within satisfactory distances from shops, the city centre and the boardwalk and lagoon.

During our 18 days at this accommodation we did a lot of walking around Cairns and did not find any other tourist accommodation that we would have preferred to "Citysider".

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PearlyShells1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed in the Citysider during our last week in Queensland. We've stayed in two apartments. Both of them where clean, fully equiped with, microwave, dishwasher, bathroom, laundryfacilities, 2 bedrooms.
And then Therese and Walter Hartmann, two wonderfull people dedicated to the job they do. Very friendly, giving very good advice on what you can see and do in Cairns and surroundings.
If we ever come back to Cairns in the next few years or so, we will definitly go back and stay at the Citysider.
Therese and Walter, thank you for a great stay at the apartments.

With kind regards,

Fred, Nel, Daniël and Veerle van Dam

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pebe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Our Citysider apartment was clean, well maintained and had everything we required for a comfortable weeks stay. The decor is plain and fresh. The 42 inch Panasonic Viera plasma TV in our apartment was a nice quality touch.

The apartments are situated a wee bit away from the Cairns action. The large shopping mall with Coles supermarket, food court etc is a 10 to 15 minute walk away for the reasonably fit and the boardwalk / swimming lagoon and town centre a wee bit further. Access to a vehicle makes getting to things a lot easier from the Citysider particularly when returning in the dark evenings. We found ourselves using our hire car to go out in the evenings and after a few drinks leaving the car on street and either walking back or taking a taxi. It's a good way of brushing off the cobwebs when walking back to get the car next morning!. We didn't use the pool / barbequeue area much although it seemed to be pretty adequate. The basement parking with allocated space per apartment is good and there are adequate visitor spaces outside the apartments. The apartments are situated next to a railway line and there seems to be a daily pre dawn train which rumbles past. It wasn't a big issue for our group but worth bearing in mind if an uninterrupted nights sleep is important.

The big plus side of the Citysider is the personal service and excellent local knowledge of management team Therese and Walter Hartmann. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Therese was on duty during our weeks stay and has excellent knowledge of the local excursions, attractions and places of interest and the reception area stocks a mass of brochures and leaflets. The Hartmanns will book anything you want to go on and recommend things to suit your interests and abilities.

Having your own transport at the Citysider is an advantage and if you want upmarket furnishings, decor and surroundings then pay more and go somewhere else however for good value , clean and functional accommodation with excellent personal service then the Citysider is certainly worth consideration.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We loved the location (Not too busy) and were rapt with the spacious apartment and up-to-date fit out. The tropical view from the balcony was appreciated daily. Walter and Therese managed our late arrival admirably and communication was excellent. Our stay was carefree and unhindered. We truly welcomed Walters assistance with local tours, he managed to prevent us making some errors in choice and thereby only enhanced our visit.
We'll definately be making a return visit.
Regards
Scott Porter

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sport639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#20 of 85 in Cairns
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citysider Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citysider Holiday Apartments

Address: 17A Upward St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £61 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citysider Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan, modern city of Cairns is set in the heart of Tropical North Queensland, Australia. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, pristine World Heritage Rainforest, the scenic waterfalls of the Atherton Tablelands and an abundance of sun soaked beaches and islands. Staying at The Citysider Cairns Holiday Apartments with its Resort Facilities less than 10 minutes from the airport, casino and hundreds of shops, restaurants and cafes, is all about affordability, accessibility, comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citysider Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing