We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must in Cairns”

Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$22
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must in Cairns”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We ate here 3 times in 5 days driving in from Trinity Beach. The food was delicious and the presentation stunning. We could not fault any of the 7 dishes we had over the 3 visits. It was very hard to choose but one favourite was the duck curry. They could up their game on meet and greet. We had reservations and on 2 occasions we stood waiting at the designated spot and were looked at but not acknowledged or approached by any of the people who were standing at the order area looking at us. But the food is so fabulous, don't let that put you off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    280
    73
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and great ambience”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A lovely restaurant with good wine and good selection. For starters we had the beef, chicken land lamb sticks but they came out warm, not hot. The mains were very hood especially the prawn curry and the chicken. Good selection of wine although they did not have in stock the one we originally ordered. Would definitely go back here. Great service too! Must book in advance as they are always busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frustrated255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Balinese Rijsttafel with wine accompaniments”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner with multiple dishes, the rijsttafel (nice table) is very much like a banquet with a selection of entrees and mains which were shared amongst us. The entree portion sizes were a little on the small size but tasted delicious. The main dishes were served with a very healthy serving of rice, which our waitress offered to fill several times as we worked our way through each course. The accompanying wines were a little on the meager side, and were not listed in the menu so a little difficult to remember which were the nicer ones (one was a little average). Dessert were nice in particular the "buah" fresh fruit salad.
My favourite the "siap base kalas" balinese chicken curry was the stand out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philwill14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great authentic tasty food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Was staying at the Rydges Esplanade and checked Trip Advisor for nearby resturants and came across Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant which was literally across the street. Ordered the mixed satay skewers, Balinese chicken curry and rice - all were very reasonably priced. Skewers were tender and tasty and curry had authentic spices and wasn't too spicy. Was left very satisfied and would definately return when next in Cairns....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ralee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanunda, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful fresh food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

A great evening, helpful staff and a nice setting. Food was exceptional we will be back, freshness of the salads was the standout.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing