We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Think idyllic tropical island without leaving...”
other travellers have booked this property
Your studio room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your studio room
Tabu is located in the Rainforest Hillside suburb of Freshwater, Cairns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Your studio room
Tabu is located in the Rainforest Hillside suburb of Freshwater, Cairns
Kingsize bed with a view into the Tropical Gardens
Private ensuite attached to studio room
Cocktails by the pool anyone!
Private patio for relaxing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bhoni1tad...
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Think idyllic tropical island without leaving Cairns”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A private tropical garden, amazing pool and first class room. Mark and Fairlie are down to earth, great fun and non-intrusive. A short walk to Freshwater railway station, convenient bus service and easy access to all attractions. Our expectations of Tabu were high and easily surpassed. As a great man often said, "do yourself a favour"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: B&B facilities and easy access to Cairns attractions
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thanks so much Bob and Teresa. Great to meet such fun loving people and really glad you had a good time at Tabu! We know you will enjoy the rest of your trip in Tropical North Queensland.
PS; Thanks for garden advice too Bob.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H
1 review
“Best B&B I've been experienced”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Mark and Fairly were wonderful hosts and very helpful with any little thing. Super comfortable suite and beautiful tropical gardens. The breakfast was plentiful, delicious and always at the time you elected to have it (Thanks Fairly for the early breakfast before our reef trip). My wife and I loved our visit and will definitely stay here again if/when we return to Cairns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful suite and wonderful breakfast.
Liked least: Wifi could be a bit stronger but honestly who needs the internet when in such a beautiful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thanks so much Mat for your kind words. You guys are more than welcome to come again! Glad we could make your stay at Tabu a comfortable one and hope you have nice memories of your trip to Cairns.
All the best, Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita A
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This rainforest hideaway, secludedly tucked away in one of the elite suburbs of Cairns, was an exquisite find. It surpassed all expectations. It was totally private, surrounded by lush rainforest and gardens, yet just walking distance from local hotspots. With indulgence and intrigue, there was a sense of peace and tranquility. The facility, private pool and gardens are well maintained. From the delicious tropical breakfasts to our comfortable bed, room and designer en-suite, our hosts were the best. They are both extremely friendly, kind-hearted, easy going and lots of fun; maintaining professional standards when it came to our privacy and space. An overall delightful stay; one which we will book up well ahead for our next visit to Cairns and The Great Barrier Reef. I don't want to be disappointed. Actually, I'd book the accommodation before my flights!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, facilities, ambiance and the hosts.
Liked least: My stay wasn't long enough.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vitod1966
Trinity Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“tropical bliss”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a beautiful tropical retreat this gorgeous B&B is!
Beautifully furnished air-conditioned room with outdoor/indoor bathroom.
Private hideaway set in a lush tropical garden, a horticulturist's dream!
Breakfast daily is superb, private use of the pool and garden made us feel like we had our own private villa in the rainforest.
Our hosts Mark and Fairlie are attentive & helpful, you are made to feel at home & yet you are left alone to enjoy your space.
Local French bakery, convenience store, pub & Freshwater train station just a few minutes walk away. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Our room, the outdoor shower, the pool, the breakfast, the company! peaceful, private luxury.
Liked least: That our garden will NEVER look like Tabu! :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thanks so much Vito! It was a delight to get to know you guys.It was nice to see you enjoying the garden and pool on that HOT summer weekend. Hope Niddy wasn't too sunburnt after the Trip to The Reef. Really look forward to catching up again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davlynski
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Peaceful, enjoyable, amazing tropical gardens”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A wonderful B+B option for anyone looking for a quiet relaxing stay. Room was a good size, king size bed, plenty of storage... and effective air conditioning.
The ensuite bathroom was also large, and good quality shampoos, soaps and towels on offer.
An outdoor terrace at the front of the cabin has a fridge, tea and coffee making, and an outdoor dining setting.... all overlooking the wonderful tropical gardens. Hidden away in the gardens, is a lovely shaded plunge pool, which was perfect for cooling off.
The hosts, Fairlie and Mark were very helpful, but thankfully not in your face.
Breakfasts were wonderful. Fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, boiled eggs, and thick toast.
Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megguthri...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven in a lush tropical garden”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I love this bed and breakfast, Such a beautiful room, shower, swimming pool etc in a fabulous lush tropical garden,I have stayed 2 x for a get away and love this place

It,s peaceful, private and the bus was near by to go into town, or easy driving anywhere. Some great little cafes near by, and Fairlie and Mark were wonderful hosts , with a lovely breakfast every morning. Thank you for my wonderful time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its just beautiful there
Liked least: That I cant live there,
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thanks Meg!! It was wonderful to enjoy your company. You were in Cairns at a lovely time of the year. Hot but great for relaxing. It was fun showing you around the garden and we are glad you enjoyed chilling by the pool.Please feel free to look us up next time in "Tropical Queensland". The cocktails are waiting:).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian l
Noumea, New Caledonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing