We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
port douglas cottage and lodge
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved the cottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the cottage. The location is perfect, it's quiet because it's just off the main drag but it's also central - you don't need a car. We arrived to a big bowl of fruit, some champagne and Graeme welcoming us in his kind and understated way.

The cottage is small but a fantastic use of space. It's freshly painted, bright and clean. The kitchenette has everything you might need, including a dishwasher. There's a good sized balcony upstairs with table and chairs, and an outdoor area downstairs with a small heated pool and BBQ. There are also fans and airconditioning, though we didn't use either. Free wifi, some hair products and good linen were a few of the other nice touches.

Graeme was lovely and helpful - he also organized a transit for us back to the airport.

Wish we could have stayed longer, but I know we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The 4 of us stayed during the school holidays at the Lodge and found it was everything we wanted, walk to shops, walk to beach, but felt away from the crowds. Our 2 children spent as much time in the pool as the beach and Gary the owner even lent them some Lego. He went out of his way to make us feel at home. The facilities were spot on and the ambience was very relaxing. Look forward to returning

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeteG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cottage over the new year period for 2012/2013. All in all, a pleasant stay and quite unassuming for its location given that it's right in the heart of Port Douglas itself.

Tucked up a small driveway, half way up a hill lies the Cottage and Lodge premises. You'd miss it quite easily if you weren't paying close attention. The place was extremely clean throughout and bug free so long as the doors were kept closed. The pool area of the Cottage overlooks the sidestreet in which it is positioned from the front yard area of the building. Quite nice in all, my only criticism is that it should probably have a more private fence rather than one made from steel pickets. If you're more after something extremely private, go the Lodge at the back where it's a little more blocked off. This however was no big deal to us anyway.

Inside you'll find 2 airconditioners, one on each floor. Upstairs the bedroom and bathroom and downstairs the living / kitchen area. All of which are completely spotless and provide ample and good utilities to help make your stay comforting. Plenty of linen is available for both bathroom and pool area as well as plenty of reading material. The TV reception wasn't so flash during our visit but who the hell goes to watch TV while they're on vacation eh?

Given the property is one that's self contained, clearing of your rubbish is required upon you vacating the premises, again no problem for us. The host Graeme is an absolute champion! Nothing was too much trouble for him and he ensures your stay is as best as he can make it for you.

The rainforest setting is quite lovely with many surrounding tropical trees and the like. The worst part of that is the birds though as they get very noisy at almost all hours of the day or evening. Ear plugs usually see to that being sorted though. Had it not been for some tool letting off fireworks nearby at 1am on Jan 2nd, the birds may have just given some more quiet time. Then again, if some fool were letting off fireworks in my backyard, I'd go mental too!

The location of this great residence is close to most cafes and restaurants while the kitchen provides enough room to do what you need to do too with an easy clean up. If you are staying here, I'd recommend eating at Fresq cafe for some breakfast or lunch, getting some good fresh coffee from Whileaway bookshop or Origin coffee and getting a darn fine and well priced dinner at Bazaar in QT. All (excluding QT) are within walking distance from your room.

All up, great place to stay, nice and clean and mostly private. I would definitely recommend it to anybody after a place to stay that's well priced and close to what you need.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, the birds will drive you mad if you are a light sleeper. Perfect for a travelling co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at the Lodge, and unlike many places it really did match the description on the website.

Being in the centre of town and within walking distance of beach and other activites there was no need to hire a car. Also it was also a romantic, private retreat.

It was great to stay in a place designed for the tropics and that was not a cement box.

Our host was friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank PHM902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at The Lodge which is the larger of the two dwellings and is at the rear of the block. The house has open cathedral ceilings, french doors opening on to the long veranda, slate floors, and a wonderfully thought of functional stainless steel kitchen. With a central lounge and two bedrooms either side with their own ensuite, it is a perfect residence for couples to share (in our case we were travelling with older parents).
Graeme was super friendly and helpful, very easy to talk to without being overbearing. He booked our outer Barrier Reef trip which was helpful and unexpected as we did not think that the owner would provide any extra services beyond the accommodation. Reading other reviews it is evident that Graeme is a cool guy who works hard to please his guests and seems to have an awareness to help out in some way, even if it is a few cold beers and wine in the fridge!
The only gotcha's we found - was the driveway is difficult to reverse out of because of the ditch and curve (sorry about that scar on the palm tree!) and the pool as others have said, although private, doesn't get much sun and for the Lodge, it is up some stairs to the deck and a deep pool with a ladder which made it difficult for older people. The walk to town or beach is very close but for older people the hill is quiet steep, although a short distance, depending on ability could be - in our case, was a challenge. Personally I love the hill for a bit of a heart starter!
Overall, we loved the place and the fact that in such a busy resort town of Port Douglas we could retreat back to peace and quiet, tropical gardens and birds, to our private place and cool down in the pool. Wonderful, highly recommended, self catering accommodation. Hopefully we will be back one day...

Room Tip: The Lodge is 2 bedroom at the rear of the property, the Cottage is at the front for couples only and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ooomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Our wonderful host Graeme ensured our every need was taken care of, including invaluable local insight and tour information, and left us to enjoy our gorgeous cottage in this fantastic Port Douglas location - which couldn't have been more relaxing, convenient or indulgent!

The tranquil rainforest setting is a stunning scene to wake up to, (and beautiful bird life!) and the views across the Daintree rainforest are superb. Two minutes walk and you're amongst the great restaurants and boutiques in town, and a few minutes further down the road you're at the beautiful Four Mile beach.

We loved it, the pool, the stylish spacious rooms, the BBQ, the deck- seriously comfortable luxury, everything was spot on. Thank you Graeme for the best holiday we've had in years. We'll be back- and telling our friends too!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank VirginiaGFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed in the Lodge. Our host was great and advised us of what to do around town. It is right in the centre of town so you can walk everywhere. You have your own private pool and it's great to have a BBQ at night with the family. There are plenty to do in Port Douglas. The tour of the reef is fantastic and a must.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Sue64OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Balboa Holiday Apartments
Balboa Holiday Apartments
#14 of 55 in Port Douglas
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#5 of 55 in Port Douglas
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#4 of 55 in Port Douglas
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#18 of 55 in Port Douglas
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#3 of 55 in Port Douglas
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to port douglas cottage and lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about port douglas cottage and lodge

Property: port douglas cottage and lodge
Address: 4 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — port douglas cottage and lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Cottage & Lodge, two Queenslander style, architecturally designed hideaways located in the centre of Port Douglas. Each space have exclusive use of their own private heated pool, sundeck and BBQ.Nestled in a lush, vibrant tropical garden that retains some of the original giant rainforest trees, both the Cottage and the Lodge have their own individual tropical character.Typical of the Queenslander style buildings erected in the Port Douglas area over 100 years ago, The Port Douglas Lodge is a single storey building with wide, shady, cool verandahs, exposed timber stud work and high cathedral ceilings.The Port Douglas Cottage is a romantic two storey structure of similar traditional Queenslander design. The spacious first floor loft bedroom leads to a expansive deck with spectacular sunset views over the rainforest clad mountains of the Great Dividing Range and north to the World Heritage listed Daintree Rainforest.The romantic Port Douglas Cottage is one of the most popular vacation accomodation hideaways for honeymooners worldwide. An ideal location for small, intimate, exotic weddings and honeymoons. The Port Douglas Cottage & Lodge are exactly how one imagines a stylish tropical escape: white, fresh, uncomplicated and breezy. It has the feel of a tropical hinterland escape and echoes the style of the famous St Mary’s By The Sea church in Port Douglas, all easy walking distance to the beach, award winning restaurants, cafes, bars & boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your port douglas cottage and lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing