We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location and very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Villas Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were more than happy with Palm Villas! The location is ideal, rooms were clean and all that we needed, and an added bonus, the price was right! . Jakob the Manager could not do enough for you and was an expert on all attractions etc in Port Douglas and surrounds. We spoke to other guests at the pool and we all felt the place was great! Highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieJanEtte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Palm Villas Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our fourth trip to PD and Palm Villas is easily the best we have stayed in. It is exceptionally good value for the cost and positioning is central to everything, shops, restaurants, the famous 4 mile beach and the marina. We had apartment 3 which was great for us, quiet day & night, very clean & neat. Not 5 star flashy but that is not what we like. Comfortable & relaxing.
The host is Jacob who gets 11 out of 10 for his service. A most obliging, engaging & hospitable gentleman who is always there to help you out. Will will be back.

Room Tip: Downstairs at the back is very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetOutdoorsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Palm Villas is in an excellent location, a short walk to the main street of Port Douglas. Apartment had a lounge with a couch, coffee table and flat screen TV, separate bedroom with sliding door to block it off from the main sitting area, en suite bathroom and small but well equipped kitchen (with stove top but no oven).

The good:
* The price. Despite being school holidays and very busy, we got an excellent rate for our room
* The location. Very central and an easy walk to everything
* Modern fittings- new fridge, stove top, tv and accessories
* The pool- LOVELY, well maintained, very clean with sun loungers
* The pool area- BBQ, fridge and table and chairs available
* The host Jakob is very friendly and knowledgeable.

The not-so-good
* The bed was not very comfortable
* The apartments are self contained which means no room service. Towels were replaced once during our week-long stay. 1 towel and 1 face cloth per person and 1 bath mat were provided. No hand towels were supplied.
* An initial supply of toilet paper was provided but you otherwise have to supply your own consumables including tissues and any additional toilet paper needed.
* Wireless internet is extremely expensive. $5.95 for 15 mins!

None of these issues were deal breakers. I would stay at Palm Villas again on a budget trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganEF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a very centrally located, self-serviced apartment resort: just a few minutes walk from the main street and within close proximity to tourist facilities. Ample free off-street parking but, when that is full, there is plenty of space available in the street outside the complex. Apartment comprised lounge with kitchen annex, bedroom and bathroom. Lounge/kitchen were spacious; bedroom and bathroom were adequate. Some fittings and finishes are showing their age and starting to look a bit "tired" but, overall, the place is clean and tidy. Laundry facilities are very good. The shining star has to be the owner, Jakob, who was extremely efficient, helpful and friendly. He took time to explain places of interest that are well worth a visit, made recommendations and arranged bookings. Well worth another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had ten days here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The apartment had everything that we needed, and was clean and comfortable. Location perfect - a short walk to cafes, restaurants. Jacob was the perfect host - provided very good advice and was very helpful without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

When you plan a trip with several "Ports of Call" something won't exactly fit. Port Douglas should reasonably have been that place for me. I scheduled a two night stop in the middle of the monsoon season (mid January). I must have had the luck of the Irish. It was hot (42°C) and very humid but the rainy weather was two weeks overdue. Because of this I had a great day out on the reef.

Palm Villas is a bit on the old side and the in room air conditioning was a bit taxed by the the fact that I was in a winter hot spot in the warmest part of summer. That said, there was a television, wi-fi (not free but reasonably priced), a large comfortable bed, a spacious bathroom and a kitchenette complete with a full stove and fridge. There was also a small patio outside the sliding doors from the room, a small pool near the entrance and a large library of travel brochures directly across from the reception kiosk.

However, the Palm Villa come highly recommended by me for the simple opportunity to meet Jacok, the manager. When I arrived I had no specific plans to visit the reef. He quickly made me reservations while I arranged my luggage. He advised me on a selection of restaurants. Gave me directions to the local Coles food store (and adjacent bottle shop) and sat and gave me various tips on all the local things worth seeing (while we had a couple of cold "Little Creatures" beer that I'd picked up at the aforementioned bottle shop).

If you want to experience the best that Palm Villas has to offer, set aside some time to talk with Jacob!

Room Tip: my room was close to the entrance (and the main desk) - I didn't see any of the other rooms but...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Thank you Jakob for making our holiday stay in Port Douglas most enjoyable. The complex although older was most comfortable and always clean and sparkling. We appreciated Jakob's friendly manner, willingness to assist and always being available.
The location of Palm Villas is great, close to everything.
We would recommend Palm Villas to anyone who wants value for money, convenience and a friendly, caring manager who is on site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#4 of 55 in Port Douglas
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Newport on Macrossan
The Newport on Macrossan
#22 of 55 in Port Douglas
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#5 of 55 in Port Douglas
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villas Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villas Port Douglas

Address: 40 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £55 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Villas Port Douglas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Villas is located in the center of town within easy walking distance to the beach, marina, restaurants and shops on the Macrossan Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Villas Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing