We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Villas Port Douglas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hibiscus Resort & Spa(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garrick House(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
68
84
13
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
84
13
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmacrossan streetgreat locationminute strollfree laundryshops and restaurantseasy strollgood sizeclose to main streetnice pool arealovely balconycooking facilitiesstayed nightscoles supermarketwould stay againair cona great staythese apartments
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked Palm Villas based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, especially the comments about Jakob and we were not disappointed.
Before we had even unpacked Jakob had booked all our trips based on our internet searches before we left home and his vast knowledge. He clearly loves his job always greeting you with a big smile, asking how your day has been and whether you enjoyed your trips. He even offered to check in online and print off our boarding passes for our flight to Sydney, plus he phoned Krystal Transport (Excellent company) to check our pick up time to Cairns Airport.

The apartment was clean, a very good size, with a very comfortable bed and had everything we needed plus tea, coffee, sugar and an initial supply of milk. The location is very quiet but excellent backing onto the main street (Macrossan Street) a 5 minute walk from both the marina and four mile beach. A large Coles supermarket is less than 10 minutes walk away so we were able to cook meals some evenings.

We used BTS tours for a day trip to the Daintree rainforest which was excellent and we also went with them on a half day to the Mossaman Gorge for the Kuku-Yalanji Dreamtime Walk, which is a real must. We went on a days snorkelling trip on the outer Barrier Reef with Calypso which was amazing and thanks to Jakob for his handy hints on where to sit on the boat etc.

This was meant to be a once in a lifetime visit to Port Douglas, the Barrier Reef and the Daintree but we loved it so much we will be back in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aksBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were more than happy with Palm Villas! The location is ideal, rooms were clean and all that we needed, and an added bonus, the price was right! . Jakob the Manager could not do enough for you and was an expert on all attractions etc in Port Douglas and surrounds. We spoke to other guests at the pool and we all felt the place was great! Highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieJanEtte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our fourth trip to PD and Palm Villas is easily the best we have stayed in. It is exceptionally good value for the cost and positioning is central to everything, shops, restaurants, the famous 4 mile beach and the marina. We had apartment 3 which was great for us, quiet day & night, very clean & neat. Not 5 star flashy but that is not what we like. Comfortable & relaxing.
The host is Jacob who gets 11 out of 10 for his service. A most obliging, engaging & hospitable gentleman who is always there to help you out. Will will be back.

Room Tip: Downstairs at the back is very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetOutdoorsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Palm Villas is in an excellent location, a short walk to the main street of Port Douglas. Apartment had a lounge with a couch, coffee table and flat screen TV, separate bedroom with sliding door to block it off from the main sitting area, en suite bathroom and small but well equipped kitchen (with stove top but no oven).

The good:
* The price. Despite being school holidays and very busy, we got an excellent rate for our room
* The location. Very central and an easy walk to everything
* Modern fittings- new fridge, stove top, tv and accessories
* The pool- LOVELY, well maintained, very clean with sun loungers
* The pool area- BBQ, fridge and table and chairs available
* The host Jakob is very friendly and knowledgeable.

The not-so-good
* The bed was not very comfortable
* The apartments are self contained which means no room service. Towels were replaced once during our week-long stay. 1 towel and 1 face cloth per person and 1 bath mat were provided. No hand towels were supplied.
* An initial supply of toilet paper was provided but you otherwise have to supply your own consumables including tissues and any additional toilet paper needed.
* Wireless internet is extremely expensive. $5.95 for 15 mins!

None of these issues were deal breakers. I would stay at Palm Villas again on a budget trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganEF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a very centrally located, self-serviced apartment resort: just a few minutes walk from the main street and within close proximity to tourist facilities. Ample free off-street parking but, when that is full, there is plenty of space available in the street outside the complex. Apartment comprised lounge with kitchen annex, bedroom and bathroom. Lounge/kitchen were spacious; bedroom and bathroom were adequate. Some fittings and finishes are showing their age and starting to look a bit "tired" but, overall, the place is clean and tidy. Laundry facilities are very good. The shining star has to be the owner, Jakob, who was extremely efficient, helpful and friendly. He took time to explain places of interest that are well worth a visit, made recommendations and arranged bookings. Well worth another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews