We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Villas Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Jakob was fantastic, so helpful with information around the area! He was always so happy and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, you don't need any more, and the location could not have been better - we were walking distance to everything!
We appreciated the free laundry too. The pool was great if the beach was too windy or rough, and the balconies are huge for two people - great for afternoon drinks or reading.
Thank you, we would definitely recommend Palm Villas and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    78
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
113
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This Villa has the best location! I block away from the main street, a couple blocks from the beach and a couple to the pier. The Villa is nothing fancy but it has everything you need and it's very clean and comfortable. Kitchen has all the main dishes you'll need, coffee, tea, sugar, salt and pepper. The grocery store is very close. Each unit has it's own balcony and air conditioning. Jakob is a great host, he will let you know all the best places to check out. Wifi is a little expensive, I paid $50 for 7 days you can get hourly rates but if you'll need wifi for the whole time you're better off getting the week rate. Complimentary washer/dryer which is great when traveling.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was our second stay at Palm Villas, the first about seven years ago.
A great location in a quiet street, a short stroll to the beach and marina and just around the corner to Macrossan Street for the cafés, shops and restaurants.
While an older style property we enjoyed our stay and would recommend due to the location, and the friendliness and helpfulness of Jakob the proprietor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked Palm Villas based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, especially the comments about Jakob and we were not disappointed.
Before we had even unpacked Jakob had booked all our trips based on our internet searches before we left home and his vast knowledge. He clearly loves his job always greeting you with a big smile, asking how your day has been and whether you enjoyed your trips. He even offered to check in online and print off our boarding passes for our flight to Sydney, plus he phoned Krystal Transport (Excellent company) to check our pick up time to Cairns Airport.

The apartment was clean, a very good size, with a very comfortable bed and had everything we needed plus tea, coffee, sugar and an initial supply of milk. The location is very quiet but excellent backing onto the main street (Macrossan Street) a 5 minute walk from both the marina and four mile beach. A large Coles supermarket is less than 10 minutes walk away so we were able to cook meals some evenings.

We used BTS tours for a day trip to the Daintree rainforest which was excellent and we also went with them on a half day to the Mossaman Gorge for the Kuku-Yalanji Dreamtime Walk, which is a real must. We went on a days snorkelling trip on the outer Barrier Reef with Calypso which was amazing and thanks to Jakob for his handy hints on where to sit on the boat etc.

This was meant to be a once in a lifetime visit to Port Douglas, the Barrier Reef and the Daintree but we loved it so much we will be back in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aksBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were more than happy with Palm Villas! The location is ideal, rooms were clean and all that we needed, and an added bonus, the price was right! . Jakob the Manager could not do enough for you and was an expert on all attractions etc in Port Douglas and surrounds. We spoke to other guests at the pool and we all felt the place was great! Highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieJanEtte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington Peninsula
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our fourth trip to PD and Palm Villas is easily the best we have stayed in. It is exceptionally good value for the cost and positioning is central to everything, shops, restaurants, the famous 4 mile beach and the marina. We had apartment 3 which was great for us, quiet day & night, very clean & neat. Not 5 star flashy but that is not what we like. Comfortable & relaxing.
The host is Jacob who gets 11 out of 10 for his service. A most obliging, engaging & hospitable gentleman who is always there to help you out. Will will be back.

Room Tip: Downstairs at the back is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetOutdoorsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Palm Villas is in an excellent location, a short walk to the main street of Port Douglas. Apartment had a lounge with a couch, coffee table and flat screen TV, separate bedroom with sliding door to block it off from the main sitting area, en suite bathroom and small but well equipped kitchen (with stove top but no oven).

The good:
* The price. Despite being school holidays and very busy, we got an excellent rate for our room
* The location. Very central and an easy walk to everything
* Modern fittings- new fridge, stove top, tv and accessories
* The pool- LOVELY, well maintained, very clean with sun loungers
* The pool area- BBQ, fridge and table and chairs available
* The host Jakob is very friendly and knowledgeable.

The not-so-good
* The bed was not very comfortable
* The apartments are self contained which means no room service. Towels were replaced once during our week-long stay. 1 towel and 1 face cloth per person and 1 bath mat were provided. No hand towels were supplied.
* An initial supply of toilet paper was provided but you otherwise have to supply your own consumables including tissues and any additional toilet paper needed.
* Wireless internet is extremely expensive. $5.95 for 15 mins!

None of these issues were deal breakers. I would stay at Palm Villas again on a budget trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganEF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#34 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Port Douglas Backpackers
Port Douglas Backpackers
#26 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#17 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#5 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villas Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villas Port Douglas

Property: Palm Villas Port Douglas
Address: 40 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Villas Port Douglas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Villas is located in the center of town within easy walking distance to the beach, marina, restaurants and shops on the Macrossan Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Villas Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing