We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Coffee Shop”
Review of The Coffee Club

The Coffee Club
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Coffee Club at Port Douglas is open 7 days a week from 7am and offers a welcoming and relaxed place to dine either al fresco or in air conditioned comfort. Whether you are looking for an all-day breakfast menu, a light snack,a long lunch with a glass of wine or coffee and cake, The Coffee Club is the perfect destination for you. We welcome families and offer a great kids menu with colouring in sheets to keep the kids occupied.
Nambour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just a Coffee Shop”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Must state that this location was very busy while we were there but the staff were very young and inexperienced and the location lost many customers in the short period we were there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoffeeClubPD, Manager at The Coffee Club, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Timandlee,

Thank you for your feedback.

I apologise that you feel our team is young and inexperienced, I can only relate this to our floor team whom are juniors and like many people, have to learn the ropes somewhere.

However our core team has many years of experience and takes pride in providing experiences for our customers. Like all businesses in Port Douglas, the saturation of customers over holiday periods challenges all business operators and I appreciate that some customers may move on quickly when they notice a queue for orders.

kind regards

Sam.
Store Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    69
    51
    35
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very weak coffee - do not recommend”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Cafe is well located on main street, and service was fine... but coffee was really weak, and overpriced. Look elsewhere!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoffeeClubPD, Manager at The Coffee Club, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Ronzos,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your coffee experience.

We apologise that your coffee was not to the intensity that you appreciate. Our team is always willing to assist and increasing the intensity, or re-making a coffee should it not be to your liking.

Given that coffee is such an individuals taste, you should never walk away unsatisfied, so please next time come and talk to our baristas about how you like your coffee.

regards,

Sam
Store Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great take out coffee!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Best coffee in town! Good quality, good service, I re visited several times, and I'm a coffee snob........

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoffeeClubPD, Manager at The Coffee Club, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Redsaway,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your experience with The Coffee Club - Port Douglas.

It is always appreciated to hear, and even more appreciated to read positive experiences.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Port Douglas.

regards,

Sam
Store Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great Coffee / Poor Ambiance / Outrageous Prices”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Summary: Excellent coffee! I have never had an issue with the quality of coffee and I have been coming here for six years. The meals are small and expensive. It they are very good and freshly prepared. I am rating this highly partly because it is so conveniently located. But I would not go out of my way to find it.

Food: Very good and never had a bad experience. The food is freshly made and the ingredients all appear to be fresh as well. The menu is complete and you can get just about anything you want.

Ambiance: Like most Coffee Clubs, it is located in a shopping center. Because of this, it does not have much personality. But you can sit outside in the sun or the shade so it is nicer than most Coffee Clubs I have been to.

Big Negative: The prices are outrageous. Nuff said.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoffeeClubPD, Manager at The Coffee Club, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear DHWShanghai,

Thank you for your feedback and comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed our coffee and returned on many occasions.

Our shop is currently reviewing options for a renovation which will improve our ambiance.

With regards to our pricing, The Coffee Club has national pricing structure that we adhere in which I believe is fairly priced based on the local competitive set.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards

Sam
Store Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Cappuccino was bitter, service was slow, food was tasteless and looked like it was just slopped on the plate. would not recommend this café to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharonhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoffeeClubPD, Manager at The Coffee Club, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your review, apologies for my late response.

Firstly, I apologise for the dining experience you had whilst visiting The Coffee Club - Port Douglas.

With the little detail provided it is hard for us to comment or offer any assistance o others regarding the meal you ordered and were provided with, I have previously requested these details without response.

regards

Sam Leo
Store Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Club also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to The Coffee Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing