We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A winner,everyone raved.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A winner,everyone raved.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Invited our adult kids and their partners to celebrate a special occasion. Coconut Grove was a hit. Everyone was very impressed. The setup was perfect for a group like us. We had a 2 apartments, a one bedroom and a 3 bedroom. They were really very spacious and both were equipped to entertain 8. Both had indoor and outdoor seating options for meals together. The penthouse pool and spa provided another set of relaxing and dining options. The staff were also very helpful throughout our visit. I would definitely stay there again, for another special celebration.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomoreschoolfees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    65
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
139
202
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Coconut Grove is a fantastically luxurious place to spend a week, located right in the heart of Port Douglas on Macrossan street. No expense has been spared to give you a wonderful holiday.  Spotlessly clean, the apartments are very well fitted out. Our 2 bedroom penthouse apartment had 2 dining areas downstairs and one on the roof with sunset views to die for, right next to your own pool and BBQ. The bathrooms come with l'occitane toiletries and a spa bath. The kitchen is fully kitted out, including a large fridge with ice maker and chilled water. Finished off with 3 large screen TVs, separate air conditioners for living and sleeping areas, full laundry, and tons of space, these are great places to relax.  Especially good for families with children or teenagers...where the kids can chill out around your own secure private pool. The staff were very helpful and helped recommend great places to eat in the area. While the prices are at the upper end, I would thoroughly recommend Coconut Grove to anyone coming to Port Douglas. 

Room Tip: Splash out on a penthouse apartment, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZDread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at a cheaper hotel for a few nights so that we could afford a few nights of luxury at Coconut Grove and we were so pleased that we did. We had a penthouse two bedroom apartment which was huge, modern, spotlessly clean and very well fit out with great quality appliances. The only thing missing was a coffee machine although I realise guests probably break them through not knowing how to use them properly.
Rooftop area is gorgeous with dining table and chairs, outdoor kitchen with BBQ, pool spa, sun lounges and three outdoor couches,and has an umbrella for shade.
Location is very central but still quiet at night.
I did find it strange that reception hours are so short (closing at 5pm) and it did give a slight feeling that it is run on a skeleton staff. We noticed this again when we offered to pay for a late check out. They said that they did not need our apartment for an arrival that day, but we couldnt have a late check out because they had an arrival the next day. I guess either housekeepers only work on certain days or else they dont want to pay extra for housekeeping on a Sunday. Either way it was a little annoying as we were kind of homeless for 8 hours.
All in all I would definately reccommend this place and we hope to go back for longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

stayed 5 nights in a terrace room, it was perfection,fairly pricey but worth every cent,definately worth saving for the luxury,staff very welcoming.

Room Tip: we stayed in a terrace room and preferred it over the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reidnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

On our most recent visit to port douglas we decided to treat ourselves and stay at coconut grove, and we are so glad we did! The apartment was luxurious with more than ample space and the standard of cleanliness was immaculate! It was a little more than we would usually spend but just goes show you get what you pay for!
We found the staff extremely helpful and feel our stay would only have been less enjoyable without the services of Alisha who manned the office, she answered every question we had and recommend some great activities, and to top it of every restaurant she recommend to us didn't disappoint (which I found important being a retired chef)

All in all a fantastic experience and well worth the extra dollars!

We will be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingchef75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

These apartments are pure luxury. My husband and I stayed for 7 nights in a one bedroom terrace apartment. The apartment had its own plunge pool and spa on the terrace with sun lounges and a covered outdoor BBQ area. The fit out is first rate with Meile appliances and we found that their attention to detail was extraordinary. Location is excellent and staff attentive. Highly recommended and we'll be returning.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights in a 3 bedroom unit here. It was a wonderful experience. We were on the second floor which has great view of the activity on the street below, yet privacy of your own outdoor spa/living/barbecue area. All was very welcomed as we had three generations of family with us each with differing needs.

Our room were very clean and had lots of nice upgrades. Since we had a full apartment, we ate in several times and found everything we needed for appliances and cooking. The outdoor dining was a real treat and being able to cook and serve outdoors made our vacation all the more pleasurable.

The location was fantastic, one short walk to four mile beach and the Port Douglas main street (Macrossan) in the other direction to the pier/marina.

Our stay included several trips and the recommendations of Sharyn were appreciated; she was helpful and knowledgeable. We had a minor repair of one of the AC systems and Colin handled it professionally and unobtrusively. These things are very important to us when traveling to a new area.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying at Coconut Grove. We plan to return to explore more of Northern Queensland in the future and we’ll likely stay here.

Room Tip: I'd choose a unit on the second floor as the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4everSeekingSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Property: Coconut Grove Apartments
Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing