We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Directly opposite the lovely Zinc restaurant and a few minutes stroll to the beach and Coles, Coconut Grove is perfectly located. We recently stayed in a pool terrace apartment for 13 nights. The apartment was modern, spacious and extremely comfortable and clean. The outdoor entertaining area was fantastic along with our own pool and spa. It made life easy to come and go from the pool to the apartment with our 8 month old bubs.
The apartments are not serviced daily but you can ask for fresh towels and other items like dish washing detergent etc....
Having a laundry with Miele washing machine and dryer was very handy too.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Feefeeb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Coconut Grove would have to be the best accomadation we have ever stayed in !
Lovely friendly staff and very helpful , the best quality and sparkly clean , we are definitey going back .
If we could change anything it would be more privacy for your private pool .
Love Love

Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy from above floors looking on to balcony areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Late September 2013 we booked 2brm penthouse apartment with pool & spa. The accommodation doesnt have big street frontage, just the glass doors which is a walk thru to carpark and then apartments. The car park is accessed via driveway straight off Macrossan. They have remote controlled garage which is a bonus. Once inside we were very happy with the cleanliness and open feel of the apartment, kids loved their bathroom and especially the pool. Its perfect size for about four kids, as we had two little visitors later that week. Having pre teens it was a great form of entertainment when staying in - at any time of the day as the water was bath temperature the whole stay. Having said that, even the beach was the warmest Australian water I have been in - and thats including summer months everywhere else.

Im not sure why we had a spa bath tub, it took up too much space. Having the pool, outdoor spa and a great shower, we didnt need it and could have done with the extra space in the shower area. Thats my only advice as all else was in excellent order.

Had a small issue with the toaster that popped with a zap but within 10 min of calling, the manager was in and problem solved. That in itself satisfied any question about five star service. Middle aged Lady at front desk provided excellent service also (experienced showed thru).

We also visited Cairns, an hours drive on beautiful scenic roads (very winding). Cairns outdoor public pool is the best for families, so much space as its a very large pool with a mini beach patch at one end. We also went to Daintree Mossman Gorge. A 20min drive from Port, we arrived at the very modern centre, paid our fare and hopped on the bus for a few min drive straight to the Gorge. Its a special location as the mountain water is freezing compared to everywhere else. The giant boulders scattered in the rock pool (should call it the boulder pool), is fronted by a small patch of grainy sand. Many people in the water but we could only stand ankle deep. It made for amazing photos as the lighting was perfect. The walk thru the rainforest also spectacular. On the way back we caught the electric open air bus with commentry.

We ate at On The Inlet, great whole fried fish (didnt see George), The Larder for coffee & breakky, Zinc for late nite coffee, Tortillas for great Mexican, Bookshop cafe (should have gone more often), Cafe Ecco for lunch great BLT, relaxed seating at back of shop and Surf Club for casual dinner by the beach. All very good and would return, not only for food but service also.

Lastly the beach was 2.5 min walk from apartment. At 7am one morning had an epiphany to walk on beach. It was so beautiful, me and the other 3,000 people had the same idea - great minds.....

Best day trip - Quicksilver Low Isles Catamaran. Chosen for - family friendly, less people, snorkle off island. This was worth the cost even though less than the other day trips. We had glassbottom boat for non snorklers, and with kids, snorkling off the island was a more comfortable option. The coral was better viewed via the glassbottom boat as we saw many more variety and knowledgable staff gave great insight to the protected area. We didnt see that many colourful fish but it was a great introduction for the kids. We did however see a small lot of fish including baby shark from the catamaran which made for some great shots. Theres something a bit more special about a boat with a sail and the ride was smoothe, coffee & bickkies in morning, small buffet for lunch. Snacks at bar. We took water, sunscreen, towels & our own snacks and had a fantastic day. Lycra suits were very cheap to hire - they take profess shots of you in them which was very funny...we werent going to purchase but once saw them, couldnt resist!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LiLosAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We loved our 7 night stay at Coconut Grove! We treated ourselves to a penthouse apartment and loved having our own pool and spa. The BBQ area was fantastic and it was a great place to sit and enjoy dinner at sunset. The location was perfect and an easy walk to the beach and shops. The kitchen was well equiped and bed comfy. Staff were friendly and helpful with planning activities and day trips.
We would probably stay here again but may look around at other places first that are less expensive. We agree with others that at these prices wifi should be included. Overall a great place to stay especially if looking to treat yourself to a bit of luxury!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpecaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in November in a terrace pool apartment.
The location is perfectly located, close to the beach & restaurants.
The apartment was beautiful with a massive flat screen tv. The kitchen was fully appointed with Miele appliances - we eat out on holidays but it would be great for families. I only wish it had a coffee machine, not just a plunger.

After a long day trip returning to the plunge pool & spa was heaven.
The communal pool was a nice size for swimming laps.

My only annoyance was that wifi is not free - for accommodation of this quality I found this ridiculous.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cmccgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights. Having spent 5 nights in Auckland and then the same in Sydney both in self catered accommodation we found this to be in a league of its own. Our apartment was two bed-roomed and had a spectacularly equipped kitchen and great furnishings. (better than my kitchen at home!) The staff were very helpful and accommodating and we had a great stay in this very convenient location. I would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gillianb710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the property for 5 nights from October 1-6 for our honeymoon. We stayed in a balcony apartment for the first three nights and stayed in the penthouse for the last two nights. We enjoyed our stay in the balcony for the first three nights. However, our stay in the penthouse on October 4 was very miserable. We arrived back at the property on October 4 after a day long tour. We immediately went to our new room. We were very exited to be staying in the penthouse based on the pictures. However, when we first arrived we used the bathroom and noticed hair on the floor. It was very upsetting to see the hairs on the floor. We then saw a puddle of water coming out of the freezer. The water extended to the island in the kitchen. It was very messy and unsettling. I went to the freezer and noticed that the ice machine was not in all the way. I inserted the ice maker in and the freezer closed properly. After cleaning up the mess, we finally started unloading the grocerys. It was at this point we noticed all the ants in the kitchen. It was very disgusting. We did not even feel comfortable leaving our grocerys out. We left the grocerys bagged and enclosed in hopes no ants would get at the food. It was very uncomfortable. We did not even use or enjoy the kitchen because of the outbreak of ants. We then decided to make the most of the penthouse and went to the pool and jacuzzi. We were again sadly disappointed. The water was filled with dead bugs. It was clear that no one cleaned the pool or jacuzzi prior to our stay. I searched for a net to clean it myself but there was none. We decided to take a bath inside then. We went inside and started filling the jacuzzi. After filling the tub we tried to turn it on. However, it was not working. We could not believe it! We were so exhaused and frustrated at that point. However, the problems did not end there. I tried to dry my hair with the blow dryer in the bathroom and the electric outlets were not working. I went inside the closet to try and still no luck. I was so frustrated and upset at that point I went into the kitchen and blow dryed my hair. I had to blow dry my hair surrounded by ants all over the counters. It was so disgusting. We had enough at that point and just wanted to sleep and deal with all the issues first thing in the morning when the office opened. However, when we went to open the sheets the sheets had black marks on it. We were so exhausted, frustrated and unhappy at that point. We paid extra to stay in the penthouse hoping it would make our honeymoon truly unforgettable. However, it made it unforgettable for all the wrong reasons. Everywhere we went in the penthouse there was a negative issue. I have stayed in many hotels and apartments around the world and have never come across such issues. It was very upsetting and heartbreaking. We were on our honeymoon and could not even enjoy it.

We went to the office first thing in the morning. We explained all the issues. There was no manager on site but the receptionist took the message. When we returned after a day long tour we stopped by the office again. Again there was no manager on site. We spoke with the receptionist. We were very upset with her response to our issues. She stated we should have called the emergency number last night so someone could have taken care of the issues. That response was ridiculous and rude. Instead of apologizing for having such a horrible experience she blamed us for not calling. Looking back I should have called the emergency number 7 Different times throughout the entire night to deal with all the issues as they came up. I'm still shocked and hurt that we received such a cold response to all the issues. Also, we were told that ants were a common problem. I've stayed in many tropical hotels and apartments throughout the world and have never seen ants throughout the kitchen. Ants are easily treated and it was clear that the apartment was not treated prior to our stay. We were very shocked and upset the response. I asked to speak with the manager and the receptionist stated that he was on Holiday and could not get good reception. It was very frustrating not being able to talk to a manager or to you to explain how we felt.

I would NOT recommend this property!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank int_traveler_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,580 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 56 in Port Douglas
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £193 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing