We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top place to stay in Port Douglas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Top place to stay in Port Douglas”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

On arrival we were very impressed, agree with all previous reviews - very well equipped luxurious apartments. We had one of the penthouses which we shared with 4 other friends, nicely equipped with good linen, well stocked kitchen and a nice roof-top terrace with BBQ. The receptionist was very helpful in booking a last minute reef trip. It would have been nice to have daily housekeeping which would have added to the stay though. The only problem we had in our apartment was our walk-in wet room shower in that unless we put towels on the edge, because of the poor design it flooded the room and seeped into the bedroom!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonbeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    65
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
140
205
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Well equipped apartment clean and very spacious total luxury. The apartments are situated on the main street in Port Douglas close to the beach, cafés and restaurants. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Rarely are my expectations with hotels and especially apartments exceeded, but Coconut Grove apartments managed that in many ways. Starting with the apartments: they are fully self contained, beautifully designed, high quality equipped, with air conditioning and ceiling fan in each room. Swimming pool although not for big enough for swimming is great for indulgence (glass of wine and strawberries). if you prefer bubbles - spa is connected.
It is in the middle of the town, next to the Four mile beach, boutiques and restaurants. It is so good we almost didn't want to leave it for diving, and I love diving!
We will surely come back here!!

Room Tip: Pick a room with swimming pool - well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drazen_tomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed in many wonderful places around the world and this place is very good. The location is outstanding with the patrolled beach being 140m away. You are right in the middle of town. You don't need a car here as you can walk everywhere. The unit is very clean with great self contained facilities. The private deck upstairs with BBQ, pool and sun chairs makes this an outstanding place to stay. When we are back in Port Douglas we would not consider any other accomodation.

Nothing to fault.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A truly amazing apartment.
Cleanliness is impeccable, there was nothing we could fault.
Appliances were state of the art and kitchen utensils and crockery fully stocked.
By far the most impressive 5 star place we have stayed in and we will definitely be back every year.
If it is total luxury you are looking for than look no further, the best place to stay when in Port Douglas!!!!

Room Tip: All apartments are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed for 1 week during late October for our wedding. We had 5 groups also stay there and everyone loved the apartments. We had a 3 bedroom penthouse with rooftop pool and BBQ which was lovely to share with friends there for our wedding. The pool does get too warm so it wasn't all that pleasant to swim in. Rooms were lovely and clean and the kitchen and laundry facilities were a big plus. The location to the beach is great and of course it is on Macrossan so a walk to restaurants and pubs. Car parking was ample in fact we didn't bother parking in the apartments section which was accessed through remote. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and overall we had a great stay. The only think I would note is that some rooms do have nicer furniture than others. I believe some are privately owned but let out - we did go into our parents room which was a lot nicer in terms of furniture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_Kiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This place is fantastic. All the apartments are fully self contained and feature high end fit out and amenities. We stayed on the middle level, which doesn't have it's own spa or plunge pool, but balcony still features an outdoor kitchen and dining table, and the communal pool area was sufficient for our needs. Really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La-Da_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Property: Coconut Grove Apartments
Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing