We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stay Down Under”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Family Stay Down Under”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our family stayed at the Coconut Grove (CG) apartments during our stay in Port Douglas. What a fabulous alternative to a hotel. The apartment included a fully equipped kitchen and laundry room. We went to the store and bought breakfast items and stuff for one dinner. This made it easier with the kids and saved money and time (restaurants are quite expensive in Australia). There was a great balcony where you could enjoy a beer or some wine at sundown. We even cooked some shrimp and steak on the BBQ that is included with the room and had a nice outdoor meal. The staff was quite helpful and very friendly. They are not there 24/7 like at a hotel, but it was fine. CG is located close to the beach and the dining and shopping areas. We were there during rainy season so the town was a bit deserted, but we loved. We'd go to CG again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfpucknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    66
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
143
209
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

It's not often that a place is better than you had imagined. Coconut Grove is by far the most amazing place I have ever stayed. Our terrace apartment is very spacious with lovely open plan living, walk in robe and a gorgeous large bath in the ensuite. The outdoor pool is everything you see in the photos and more. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday in luxury, then this is your place. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A380FlyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We choose coconut grove for our honeymoon on the recommendation of our flight centre travel agent. We can not fault anything with the room. What we were told we were getting we got & more. The terrace apartments (we were in 206)are quite spacious & defiantly bigger than what we thought. We also decided on the coconut grove as we wanted our own pool & spa facilities & as opposed to others we had looked coconut grove defiantly stood out above the rest price wise, facility wise & location. Thank you very much we will defiantly be back & recommend you too others who ask us.
Dave & Kylie

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We arrived very last minute on a Sunday evening after checking out of (or not checking into) another Port Douglas resort. Reception were really helpful and provided keys to inspect Penthouse, Balcony and Basic rooms. One look was enough and we spent the next three days in a luxuruious and immaculate 3 bed Balcony Room.
The staff were very unobtrusive, but always there when we needed anything and added a nice personal touch from check to checkout.
I can highly reccomend the Coconut Grove as a very affordable 5 star option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed 5 exquisite nights in a penthouse at Coconut Grove and could not fault anything. Amanda on reception was extremely helpful, pleasant and went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable, happy and nothing was a problem.
Coconut Grove is excellent walking distance to all the beautiful restaurants of Port Douglas. The penthouse was immaculate, provided privacy, your own rooftop pool, spa and stainless steel BBQ facilities. The kitchen was well equipped with all Miele appliances as was the laundry facilities. I would totally recommend Coconut Grove to anyone especially couples as most of the units have their own pools. The common pool area is also beautifully maintained so Im sure the other units are just as well equipped.

Room Tip: The penthouses have their own rooftop view including pool, spa and BBQ with sufficient deck chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Coconut Grove Apartments were a perfect base for five days in Port Douglas. They lived up to the positive expectations set by earlier reviews on Trip Adviser, and we saw none of the negative aspects. Notably WiFi is free and reasonably fast (the only hassle is having to reconnect every hour).

The apartments are large and finished to a very high standard and quality appliances including washer and dryer, stainless steel BBQ. Easy secure undercover parking.

Alicia on the front desk was exceptional. Genuine friendly and helpful service, Ask Alicia for restaurant recommendations - she knows them well.

February is definitely the off peak month - but don't be put off. Yes it rains for a while (and hour or so) every second day, but ask for umbrella's. Coconut Grove is very accessible to the main street and all the restaurants, pubs etc. February means bookings are not required anywhere!

Room Tip: The Penthouse level has the advantage of a roof top pool, large deck and BBQ. They are reasonably pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The old adage you get what you pay for is true at Coconut Grove. We stayed in a one bedroom Penthouse - just the two of us. Amazing, clean, clean, clean - how often do you see staff vacuuming the outer corridors?!. The whole experience was blissful!

I read every review on Trip Advisor before making a decision. There were the complaints about ants, a hair on the floor, weather, the shower, price, warmth of pool. Seriously, people? Ants can be a problem in the tropics…so what? We didn't see one! The shower just needs adjusting to prevent it from flowing on to the bathroom floor - easy! The weather - can't be controlled and even on a cloudy day, the Coconut Grove experience spirited us away to an oasis of calm and relaxation. We were stunned at how quiet it was, very well designed. Exceptional facilities in all respects.

The pool - was a perfect temperature even on a very hot day and the best place to luxuriate in at dawn and sunset when the skies above are busy with bird life. Forget wet season, we used the plunge pool at every occasion. It was heavenly. I agree with one reviewer that the landscape on the terrace could be softened with a few plants, but also realise that this adds further maintenance expense. The umbrella on our balcony was quite tatty looking. None of the others looked like ours (402). So, I got out my nail scissors and gave it a trim. When you stay in luxury accommodation, these little things matter too!

The service - well, Alicia understands the true meaning of customer service and was just a darling to deal with. In fact, all the staff were happy, giving and a joy to come into contact with.

WiFi - I was perplexed by the comments about 'no free WiFi". Yes, it is available by logging off/on from time to time. There is only a charge if you want unlimited access, uninterrupted by logging off/on. From our end - it wasn't a hassle.

Thank you to all at Coconut Grove for making our brief stay so memorable. We will certainly be back to languish in the Grove. Counting the days….1-2-3-4…..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceceloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Property: Coconut Grove Apartments
Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing