We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Grove Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here in these apartments on our trip around Australia in March and what a fabulous find, heaven on earth. The staff were really helpful and efficient. The apartments were so new, luxurious and comfortable. The were so central in Port Douglas we were spoilt for choice in restaurants and the beach. Anyone travelling round Australia could not go wrong by booking a stay here for as long as possible.

Room Tip: All the apartments had access to swimming pool, and were quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critic45_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    63
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
136
197
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for a week as a couple in the terrace units. The whole place was immaculate, the room was immaculate and there were people out cleaning the whole resort everyday. The apartment had everything you needed, great kitchen, spacious lounge, good barbeque area immediately outside the lounge. The staff were very helpful. We had tried to book a penthouse but it was fully booked when we needed to travel. We were a little disappointed with the units pool. It has a spa pool and a small swimming pool. Both were the same temperature about 30 deg whereas we would have expected the spa pool to be hot. The terrace apartment pools are in full view of he balcony and penthouse apartments so not very private. If you are tossing up between a balcony and terrace and you are not desperate to swim in your own personal pool then i would defintiely choose the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The apartment was immaculate as were all areas of the building, It was a beautifully appointed apartment and so close to all amenities. The staff a very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in early June 2014 for the first time. We are from the US but stayed with a couple who are our Australian friends. The place had every comfort of home. Location wise it was right in the heart of quaint ol' Port Douglas with an easy walk to the beach one way and the marina the other way. Very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up obviously have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKLonghorn_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family and I just spent four nights in port Douglas and we loved it! Coconut Grove is nicely located along the main dining and shopping street, with close proximity to the beach. We stayed in a penthouse suit which was very large in size. The apartment was luxurious and we were even treated with a complimentary cheese platter. The service was fabulous as well. The only complaints we had were that the private pool was not heated so it was too cold to go for a swim, and the wifi in the apartment only allowed for two devices to log on every hour which was hard considering everyone in my family wanted to be on the internet at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123ella123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very well appointed with name appliances at the right end of town, but very noisy (from within the complex) and not for those wanting some privacy. If you pay to have a private pool, expect two levels off apartments to oversee you. We stayed for about a week and upon arrival pool alarms were going off and the internet wasn't working. Staff were very friendly and attended to the problems. Unfortunately everyday the pool alarm problems reoccurred and to top it off we had an alarm in the bedroom going off every 2-5 minutes, took about three sleepless nights to isolate to the air conditioning unit and the problem item removed. Why housekeeping didn't pick it up earlier I don't know. The apartment above occupied 3 persons with concrete feet which at 7am in the morning wasn't appreciated. Reported the matter to David who said he would come back with some options - he never did. So after 6 sleepiness nights we unfortunately didn't feel very rested. We look for quiet " luxurious" accommodation so unfortunately this place didn't suit us and we won't be going back or recommend to those looking for the same. Paying that little extra didn't produce the results we were after.

Room Tip: You'll pay much more but if you do stay, the top terrace apartments will avoid the noisy rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TCTravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very clean apartment. Excellent for a long weekend. Location is a plus. A minor issue with the heating of the pool was solved promptly and appropriately. Very relaxing place. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevalierlatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 58 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Property: Coconut Grove Apartments
Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing