We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Coconut Grove Serviced Appartments was exactly what we were after to relax and recharge. The staff at the reception desk were incredibly helpful and were very happy to assist in booking transfers, recommend restaurants and booking tours. Its' location is very good- about 500m to the beach and is at the quiet end of the main street, but is across the road from Foodworks and next door the the walk up bottle shop. We didn't have or need a car while we were in Port, but there is undercover security parking if required.

We stayed in the Penthouse apartment and found it to be spotlessly clean and very stylishly decorated. We only used 1 of the 3 bedrooms, but all seemed to be of similar quality when peeking through the windows. Each room has a celing fan in addition to air conditioning. The bed was very comfortable.

There is a fully functioning kitchen and our package included a complementary bottle of Verve and a cheese/fruit platter which was delicious. The kitchen has a breakfast bat which seats up to 6 and there is an additional stable setting on the downstairs balcony. The lounge area had a flat screen TV a couple of chairs and a comfy sofa.

The main bedroom has a door leading onto the downstairs balcony and a small table and chair. Looking out over the balcony, you can see the downstairs apartment's private plunge pool and spa. You can kind of see the street, but it is well set back, which means there is much less noise that many of the other main street accommodation.

There is a walk in wardrobe with full length mirrors and dressing table which then leads into the main bathroom. There is a double sink and freestanding spa tub and wet shower and a toilet behind a frosted screen. The toiletries were L'Occitane which was a bit of a treat!

Upstairs is acessed via stairs just inside the front door of the apartment. At the top of the stairs is an outdoor kitchen set up with a bar fridge and BBQ- this is undercover. The terrace is on 3 levels. on the bottom level is an 8 seater setting and umbrella. The next level is the spa and the top level is the plunge pool and 2 lounge chairs. Although there is no shade up there, the umbrella is on a stand and can be moved to where ever you want it, which worked perfectly for us. The pool and spa are the same temperatures and are not as hot as you would have further south, but I think it would be too hot to have it heated anyway. The terrace is fairly private, it is possible for the apartments either side to poke their heads around the corner and see in.

There was also a public lap pool which was freezing cold but refreshing! While we were there, it did not seem to get much sun...

All in all, we could not fault Coconut Grove, it would be one of the best place we have stayed in QLD.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twisty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed at Coconut Grove for 5 nights in a balcony apartment. The apartments are absolutely beautiful. Modern, clean, and spacious. We only used 2 bedrooms but had the option to use the third bedroom at no extra charge. Our apartment had a large outdoor balcony with our own bbq and a lovely view of the mountains. The location is also hard to beat - a couple of minutes to the beach and the same to the shops.

Staff were fantastic and when we arrived there was a welcome gift in the fridge - a platter with cheese, fruit and chocolate. It's the extra things like this that make a difference.

The unusual design relates to the way the balcony apartments overlook the terrace apartment pools! We could look directly into three pool/spa areas. Whilst this was not a problem when we were there - we only saw one person use their pool in the whole five days - this could be an issue when the apartments are full. It could be very noisy for us and not very private for them.

As we didn't book the apartments with their own pool (these are expensive) we were hoping to use the main pool on the ground floor. Lovely area again with another BBQ area - however, the pool & spa were not heated and very very cold even though it was 28 degrees every day we were in Port Douglas! This was extremely disappointing as they had just spent 5 days in Palm Cove swimming every day. When I spoke to the manager about this he did say that they were in the process of getting quotes to have heating installed. Hopefully next time!!

Yes, I would definitely stay again, if the pool was heated and the price was right.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We've been travelling to Port Douglas every year for the last 5 years and this place was perfect! Luxury all the way, spacious living areas, beautiful bathrooms, awesome rooftop plunge pool and spa, luxurious L'Occitane products, all the creature comforts of home with all that Port Douglas has to offer right on your doorstep! Ultimate privacy with your own deck chairs and pool. Two penthouses to choose from, ours was a roof top but also another penthouse on the mezzanine level with covered lounging areas (we'd book this for the wet season). Aircon was loud, but we kept the windows open and slept better! I don't think you could find better than this so close to town and with all the luxury and creature comforts. Thumbs up for us - best in Port!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurtyandDovse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My husband booked this as a surprise for me for his 40th birthday. This place was gorgeous,luxurious,fabulous. How nice to be able to wander down to the many top restaurants in Port Douglas , without getting into a vehicle. We felt very spoilt and loved every minute of our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhysNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Our family of four (2 boys, 5 and 3) stayed in a Terrace apartment for 8 nights. The location was fantastic, only 100m to the beach and 200m - 400m to all the cafes, shops, restaurants, etc. of Macrossan Street. Even though Port Douglas operates 2 bus services between the main street and all the major resorts / apartments, I was really happy that we chose to stay on Macrossan Street itself. It was very easy to go out and grab a coffee, some prawns, something from the supermarket, etc.

The apartments are massive. There is a secure foyer / entry that is great for leaving scooters, beach gear, etc. and all the sand at the front door. All rooms are "full" size, the kitchen is kitted out with quality appliances and cupboards are fully stocked with everything you need for dining in (and a BBQ outside). The ice maker with the fridge got a work out after each walk or beach trip! The living area includes a large plasma TV, PayTV, and DVD player. The main bedroom also has a TV. The bathroom has a stand alone bathtub / spa and I really liked the way the shower area is designed, great for washing the kids! (see photos) The outside area is about the same size as the entire interior of the apartment. It could do with a bit more foliage to brighten it up, but otherwise perfect.

Service was excellent. We had a minor problem with the surround sound system and TV, it was fixed the same day. Reception were always friendly and nice to the kids, and knew us by name. They were very helpful at the front desk, allowing me to use their office computer and printer to do a web check in for out departing flight.

The apartments were very clean. We opted for the daily service, which wasn't really required in hindsight. It is quite a bit more expensive. They did a reasonably good job most days, sometimes doing more than what was required, e.g., stacking the dishwasher and turning it on, unstacking it, etc. but sometimes didn't do everything that you'd expect, e.g., vacuuming didn't always seem to be done, or was patchy at best. You are provided with plenty of towels for both the apartment and beach, and the toiletries are excellent (L'Occitane).

The price was high, compared to most other places, but then the quality was the best. I would opt out of the daily service next time. We were originally looking at going to Fiji, but after comparing the accommodation that you get here, plus what you have access to in a town versus a resort (top quality seafood, reasonable prices for all food and beverages, larger choice), easier and cheaper flights, it was pretty good value overall.

I'd definitely stay at Coconut Grove again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unwind_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We recently stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for six days in early May. From the beginning to the end of our vacation, we felt like we were living the life of luxury. The apartments are beautiful, linens lovely, and the master bathroom is truly divine. The kitchen is very well stocked and every time we went to look for something, it was just magically there (corkscrew, scissors, garbage bags, etc.) Having our private pool and jacuzzi along with BBQ are on the roof top meant we could dine and enjoy the views of Port Douglas from the privacy of our own apartment. Although we did have a couple of days of rain, it just did not matter when you woke up to enjoy coffee on the covered terrace and watch the sun rise and the mountains and the ocean. The staff were friendly and helpful and the resort is kept in immaculate shape. If you want pure heaven, peace and tranquility - then Coconut Grove is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaAustralia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

This place is amazing. I stayed there with my bridesmaids before my wedding in a terrace apartment. The interior of the apartments is outstanding. Beautiful linen and appliances and gorgeous L'occitane toiletries. The staff were fantastic! The views were amazing, especially if you get a penthouse apartment... Wow! For the rest of our honeymoon, on a well known exclusive island in the whitsundays... my husband and I kept thinking about the gorgeous coconut grove. If you love modern, brand new accommodation then go here. We will definitely go back.. we cant wait!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 57 in Port Douglas
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £186 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing