We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bliss overlooking 4 mile beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balboa Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balboa Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bliss overlooking 4 mile beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were lucky enough to spend 7 nights at the Balboa apartments in a 3 bedroom apartment overlooking the beach. We listened to the waves from our balcony and bedroom and watched the sunrise over palm trees each morning.. it really was bliss! The apartment was spacious, clean and in perfect working order. Located at the quiet end of Macrossan St, you're only a few minutes from the shops, pubs and great eating places and only a 60 second stroll to the sandy beach. Our hosts, Lynette and Andrew were welcoming and helpful. We certainly hope to return to Balboa before too long.

Room Tip: We had the corner apartment Apartment #14 (the penthouse) with beautiful views over Macrossan and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
96
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We can't praise Balboa Apartments highly enough, spacious and modern, fully equipped a real home from home. Lynette and Andrew are so helpful and really welcoming. Our trip to the Great Barrier Reef came on a very rough day but thanks to our hosts we were supplied with travel pills so we enjoyed the day very much. Port Douglas is a great base to explore the area and the apartments are so close to the beach and the drinking and eating places that we would recommend them highly.
Carol and Phil Fisher

Room Tip: Ground floor has big patio
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My partner and I had the opportunity to stay at Balboa for 10 nights. The apartments are extremely spacious and modern and unbelievable value for money. You couldnt ask for much more in regards to location either as is situated 10 second walk from the beach which our balcony looked out onto. You are surrounded by lush plants and palm trees and feel that if there is a paradise this is it! Lynette and Andrew are extremely friendly and helpful if you need any help. Lynette recommended a snorkelling day trip which suited our needs and turned out to be a fantastic day. Im glad we could glean a local's knowledge as the choice of trips is extensive and a little confusing so thanks Lynette for tailoring out trip to suit what we needed. Cant recommend Balboa highly enough and it felt like our home away from home except we did not want to leave!! We will definatley be returning to Balboa and the beautiful Port Douglas soon

Room Tip: All rooms are great - a balcony over looking the sea is awesome which most appartments have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just had a weeks stay at Balboa Apartments and we can't say enough about how wonderful this place is. It is our second year staying at Balboa apartments and we have booked again for next year. Lynette and Andrew are such wonderful hosts who are responsible for making this place a winner! The apartments are such a fantastic size, most are 3 bedrooms with huge kitchen living and dining areas and separate laundry. Whether you need all three bedrooms or just one bedroom this place is the only place to stay in Port Douglas. The apartments are kept spotlessly clean and the grounds, pool and gardens are immaculate. Balboa is in such a wonderful location just a very short walk to shops restaurants and a stones throw to four mile beach. We wouldn't stay anywhere else and we can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Balboa Apartments in Port Douglas are in a fantastic location, with views of the beach from many of the apartments. They are very spacious and filled with light and the bathrooms are well appointed. The kitchens have everything one needs for preparing a meal and the managers are extremely helpful and keep the whole place in immaculate condition.
All the shops, restaurants and cafes are a very short walk away and there is nothing more relaxing than sitting on the balcony listening to the sounds of the waves.
I highly reccomend these apartments

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Balboa is the best accommodation in Port Douglas and Lynette and Andrew are the nicest hosts. This is our 5 th visit to Port Douglas and finally we have found our home away from home. The rooms are huge, the kitchen is beautiful and the family dinning would suit a huge family. Beach chairs, beach umbrellas and children's beach toys are available at no cost and with the beach across the road it makes for a very relaxing holiday. Looking forward to next year, have booked already.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julienne813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Can highly recommend these apartments. We had No 7, ground floor one bedder.. Very spacious, grounds pool etc kept immaculately, wonderful location as a block from four mile beach, and a short walk into town. Lyn and Andrew very accommodating in every way, we have booked a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hepburnsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#30 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 58 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Holiday Apartments

Property: Balboa Holiday Apartments
Address: 1 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balboa Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Balboa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing