We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in all aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balboa Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Castlemaine, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous in all aspects”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were a group of 9 High School friends celebrating a significant O birthday! From my first enquiries nearly 12 months earlier Lynette and Andrew were extremely helpful. We had apartments 1 and 7 on the ground floor with only the pool separating us. We loved the spaciousness in each of the 3 bedroom apartments and all the facilities. The beach is a few steps in one direction and the shops and restaurants only a few more in the other. So very handy to everything. Lynette and Andrew were also very helpful with organising bus transfers to and from the airport and a couple of half-day tours for some of our group. We would highly recommend the Balboa apartments and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andlyn49, Manager at Balboa Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We were delighted to have you all stay and in awe of the fact that you have been doing these togethers for so many years. Come again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

There was nothing I did not like in this apartment we stayed in. It was clean, spacious, the pool was warm and clean, the owners were delightful and politely enforce a quite curfew after a certain hour making it a VERY peaceful and a respectful space to relax and enjoy. Even the fellow travellers were friendly. Overall I think people are in tune to the happy and relaxed feel. The location is perfect. Is situated a stone's throw to the beach where the life guards and stinger nets are located and right at the foot of the shopping strip but it is not noisy at all. I would stay again and I have recommended it to others.

Room Tip: The apartment we stayed in was up on the top floor overlooking the pool. Other balconies overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lliDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Our decision to stay at Balboa was based on all the great Tripadvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed. Our apartment was spacious and bright, perfect for a family with three teenagers, and great value for money. Andrew and Lynette were perfect hosts, particularly helpful in the days prior to our arrival when Cyclone Ita was threatening Port Douglas. Balboa is in a fabulous location, so close to beautiful Four Mile Beach and within moments of all the shops and restaurants Port Douglas has to offer. We were amazed that we could leave all our windows open day and night with no screens, and we had no bugs or mozzies in the apartment (No. 14, second floor). The pool area was great for relaxing. A brilliant holiday and would love to come back one day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location of the apartments was so central to the beach, shops & restaurants. Everything was in walking distance. We stayed in apartment 11 which had a huge balcony and everything we needed. Very spacious & well appointed. Can't wait to come back to the Balboa again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Apartment 11 is very big with a great balcony & view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Balboa was recommended by friends who stay regularly. We stayed with 3 other couples from overseas for three nights and were mightily impressed. Lynette was an outstanding host and incredibly helpful. Cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Lynette and Andrew are great hosts, unobtrusive, but very helpful if called upon, and they made our stay most enjoyable. The apartment itself is huge (number 14) and all the basics and quite a few extras are there. Undercover, shaded parking was very useful in the heat and humidity of the summer. The location is perfect, yards from 4 mile beach and easy walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and the harbour for the cruise boats. The whole experience was hassle-free and very comfortable. Many thanks to you both Lynette and Andrew.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salobrenaholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A group of us flew in from UK for 3 weeks of sun, fun and relaxation during the Xmas period. Between us we stayed in 3 of the units (10,11 and 14) and had a great time.We have travelled extensively but we were very pleasantly surprised at the level of service we received - there wasn't anything that was too much trouble. I would stay there again, especially as the location was so perfect. All the units were clean, bright and well equipped with views to the beach and easy walking distance to everything you could possibly want! We were sorry to leave, but are already planning our next trip to Balboa very soon.

Room Tip: Unit 11 has a huge wrap around balcony which gets the sun for much of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#3 of 55 in Port Douglas
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Holiday Apartments

Property: Balboa Holiday Apartments
Address: 1 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balboa Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balboa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing