We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food tasty service & management poor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bucci Italian Restaurant

Bucci Italian Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: US$8 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bucci Italian Restaurant has been a favorite with locals and tourists alike for modern urban Italian, since 2009. Established by Spencer Patrick, Bucci delivers Italian buzz to the heart of Macrossan Street. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days per week, Bucci is family friendly affordable and delicious.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food tasty service & management poor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This was my second trip visit to this restaurant, food is very nice however this time service was appalling. Staff were scattered, they all seemed a bit lost and that was even before it got busy. Some staff standing around that could have been helping. Our son who's 2.5 got his meal way before us and in fact people that came after us got served their mains before us. After over 30min I asked how long it was going to be, the waitress looked over only to find our meals were sitting on counter waiting to be brought out. Mums lasagne was amazing in taste but like warm. Kids meal of veal scaloppine came as a veal steak, not something I would have orderd had I have known, as not a toddler type of dish. Good quality though and soft meat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lollybear75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    323
    126
    62
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classic Food, Modern Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Popular place with a good atmosphere. Wait staff seemed a bit new or confused, but nothing to be overly worried about. Spaghetti with meatballs = delicious. The burrata was also one of the best I've ever tasted. If you want more of an adult atmosphere, go after 7:30 as there are many families with kids earlier on.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SSShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Would go Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Made an early reservation, as I didn't know how busy they would be. It was not busy yet and we had a table up front. We started with the Bruschetta. It was mushroom. The flavor was good, but it came on Ciabatta. We prefer a toasted thin bread.

I ordered the veal which was excellent. My husband had the T-Bone. It was cooked to order and he said it was really good. The portions are adequate. Yes, it is expensive. This was our splurge dinner in Port Douglas.

When we finished it was starting to get busy. We walked down the street and when we came back, the line to get in was long. I would recommend a reservation, less stress for everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorkellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food lovely: service surly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Rather expensive, but very nice food. Portions adequate. Ambience reasonably satisfactory which could have been improved if the waiter had been a tad less condescending and arrogant. Wouldn't bother revisiting on my next trip to Port Douglas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mimistella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We didn't even make it in to this restaurant. We asked for a table for two and the arrogant maître d' (male) told us we'd have to wait (even though the restaurant was barely half full). We were asked to wait on some stools at the side of the restaurant. We weren't offered drinks. After 10 minutes of watching chaotic service, and not being approached with an update on our expected wait, we gave up and headed to the nearby Mexican restaurant for a lovely meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bucci Italian Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Bucci Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing