We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise”
Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Douglas Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great surprise”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We were intending for port Douglas to be a stop along the way but this great motel made us change our minds, at about Aud95 a night it was an amazing place to stay, the owners were extremely nice and amenable to our requests, the rooms were beautiful and the outdoor cooking area was really great.
Only issue was the internet which was only in the communal area outside and not in the rooms which basically meant no internet.
Still highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eladkatz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Your kind review is much appreciated. And you will be pleased to know the new high speed internet has been installed. It's as quick as a flash. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    99
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
150
229
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Port Douglas Motel for 4 nights in late October. It would seem that the word "motel" conjures up a negative impression for many people, however this place has everything you need for a perfect stay in Port Douglas. The rooms are spacious, very clean with comfortable beds and some cooking facilities (microwave, kettle, toaster) and crockery. A much larger communal kitchen is located by the pool area and has a very well equipped pantry, cooker with oven and large separate barbecue. The small swimming pool is clean and ideal for taking a dip any time of the day (or night). There are laundry facilities with a clothes line to hang out your washing and with the lovely sunny days the laundry was dry within a few hours. The motel is ideally located at the end of the main road into Port Douglas within a few minutes walk to the beach. The marina with access to all the Great Barrier Reef excursions are a 15 minute walk and the nearby Sunday market is well worth a visit. Most importantly the staff (Suzie, Leo, Lillian and the boys) went out of their way to be helpful and friendly suggesting things to do and places to eat. We would like to thank especially Suzie who went took the trouble to return by post all the way to Scotland (and at her expense) a jacket that my wife had left behind in our room. We had a wonderful stay in Port Douglas and would have no reservations in recommending staying at the Port Douglas Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks for the review. We all look forward to seeing you both next time you are in Port Douglas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

we didnt really like the idea of staying in a motel and got totally suprised by this gem! dont really know why its called a motel as its so so much more than that! it can easly pass as a 5 star hotel!
the rooms are big,modern,immaculate and quality furniture! there is a kitchenette with a fridge and microwave in the rooms and a fantastic new kitchen with great bbq and all the cookery and crockery one can imagine. car parking is free and available too. plus a little pool.its a 1min walk to the main drag. on top of it the owners are very friendly and chatty and helpful. you can also book all kind of tours at their reception plus rent a car.
we can totally recommend this unique motel to everyone!

Room Tip: stayed in a room on first floor. the whole place is brandnew and tastefully furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here in early November for my bday and found it fantastic. The staff were lovely and helpful, even helping rescue a local bird we found. The rooms were clean and the location very central, only short walk to the town centre and beach, with the option of leaving the motel in 2 different directions. We loved that our room had kitchen facilities as well as stove/oven and bbq facilities near the pool, and outdoor setting, which allowed us to stick to our budget and cook great meals at the motel :) The pool was clean and bed comfy :) Highly recommend and would stay again. Thanks :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We are pleased you had a great stay with us. Good news as well - the little bird survived and is doing well at the Habitat. We look forward to seeing you both again when you next holiday in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I cannot speak highly enough about the Pot Douglas Motel! I spoke to Burnie & Lillian before arrival as we had a late flight and wouldn't get in till midnight. Nothing was too much trouble. We arrived to find aircon on, milk for a cuppa and bedside lamps on. The room was fresh and clean and so welcoming and comfortable. Large tellie & DVD player. The bathroom was very clean & even a hairdryer. All crockery & cutlery provided, small fridge & microwaveThe BBQ area was wonderful with an outstanding pantry stocked with all you need (oil, salt, pepper, utensils, the lot!) and the pool is beautiful with plants and rocks around to feel like a real escape. Close to main street, Beach & shops. Even a selection of DVD's to choose from if you like. Absolutely outstanding accommodation, high standards and great value. Lillian and family are excellence hosts more than willing to help, so friendly and kind. Would suit couples and families alike. Thank you for a wonderful stay! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you both again. Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Incredibly nice family run motel, completely renovated with very good taste (tropical), spotlessly clean, nice pool, excellent location (some of the best restaurants in town round the corner) and less than five minutes walk to the beach. Absolutely central! You feel as if you have found a "home". I stayed for 3 nights (Pool, laundry, guest kitchen, BBQ, all there for you). Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hspinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to give feedback. Thanks so much for your kind review! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and the outback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulhouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A motel where we know what it is like in reception!
The hotel was made fresh, it is fine. As at home.
Liliane the owner is adorable…
Pool, laundry, guest kitchen, BBQ,… it is to be here.
Even the free wifi
A very pleasant stay in this charming accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeline68100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for the review! It was a pleasure having you as guests.

Enjoy the rest of your time in Australia and we shall see you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Property: Port Douglas Motel
Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing