We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable Stay”
Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Douglas Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at Port Douglas Motel for 2 nights. The room was updated, very clean and very comfortable plus it was quiet. The staff treated us like part of their family, were most helpful with various things to do and see in the area. The location was close to main street and we walked to the beach. A very good choice for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We greatly appreciate your kind review. Being so close to everything Port Douglas has to offer is a real plus for our guests and the comfortable surroundings make for a pleasant stay. We hope to see you when you next visit .
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    96
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
147
218
54
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Myself and my Mum stayed here for one night in Port Douglas. The location is amazing, about 1 minute walk from the main strip, the staff are really friendly and the room was lovely, bright and clean with a great shower. I definitely would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great stay with us. Being the closest motel to Macrossan Street certainly has advantages for our guests. No need for a bus or a hire car!

Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A clean, cute motel. It looked freshly painted. The room was comfortable and had a small kitchen with a few dishes and utensils. They also had free dvds to borrow in the office. We liked the location too as it was close to many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank doublebeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thankyou for your review. Yes our location is very handy (being that it is right in town). We hope to see you next time you return to Australia!

Kind regards,

Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great Motel, located in central Port Douglas, just a few metres from the ocean and the shops. The Motel itself is completely renovated and spotlessly clean and modern. We loved being there. The owners are very friendly. It was definately one of the best Motels I stayed on a 2 month trip through the Country. A pool and barbecue facilities are provided. Ahhh and free Wi-Fi which is really handy :) I wish Port Douglas Motel all the best!!! Sandy from Cologne/Germany

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SandyJ0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are really pleased to be one of the best Motels you stayed at while travelling Australia. We are totally committed to ensuring all of our guests have a pleasant stay with us. Your kind words are very encouraging. See you next time!

Kind regards,

Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The owners are welcoming, laid-back, kind, and truly love people
It really shows in the quality of the accommodations and guest experience. They will help you by giving you a local tour - or sharing a beer.
Close enough to walk everywhere you need to get too and far enough away from things that you can get a very nice, quiet nights rest.

Will return here the next time we are in Australia!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank-you for your kind review. We really enjoyed both of your company. It is a pleasure getting guests that appreciate our hard work to ensure they have a great stay at our Motel.

Hopefully I will see you in the U.S.A and if not I will post the earrings back to you from the States!

Kind regards,

Lillian, John and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel stays in a good location. Everything was very comfortable, organized and clean. The staff was very kind, you feel like if you were part of their family. They have a shared kitchen very clean, practical and modern. Laundry wright beside the swimming pool. 5 stars in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank digofarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to do a review. We strive to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Definitely a great place for the right price. Room was very large and clean with lots of storage space to unpack. The BBQ area is wonderful and also has a full size stove, with oven and a little fridge in the area. There is a cupboard in that area that has all the pots and pans and dishes so makes it easy. Also a sink for cleaning up. It's a great arrangement. There is a washing machine in this area also. The property is an easy walk to the restaurants and shops and the beach. You can also hire a car here, as they have a few available. Also very close to the BTS if you need transporation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LadyDianaNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Property: Port Douglas Motel
Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing