We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Douglas Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Didim, Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Recently we visited friends from overseas staying at the Port Douglas Motel. We liked it so much we checked in and stayed one night, and returned again with our daughter and her husband and stayed over Easter.
What a great motel! It is family owned and operated. Lillian, John and Bernie are excellent hosts, very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They have lived in Port Douglas for over 30 years and their local knowledge is invaluable.
The property is well maintained, the rooms are spacious, well appointed, extremely clean and recently renovated. There is a small well equipped kitchenette with microwave, toaster etc. Attached to the pool area is a BBQ/kitchen for guests which is a great idea for cooking breakfast etc
You couldn't ask for a better location.....short walk to centre of Port Douglas and short stroll to Four Mile Beach. Free WiFi and free DVD's. Great value for money. Would we stay here again?
Absolutely! Recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Return business says it all. We are so pleased you returned to stay with us and that your daughter and son in law also enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you both in the near future when you come back to Australia from Turkey. Travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    94
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
144
208
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly family runs this Motel and it's a friendly place. Close to the city center. Nice clean and what you want for a budget motel.. We stayed 2 days.. We could easily have stayed 4 and used it as a base..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Hopefully you can stay longer next time you visit Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barber
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed two days at the Port Douglas Motel. It is priced right, offers a fantastic location and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

When we first arrived we were greeted by Lyllian and Bernie, two hosts that could not do enough for you. They ensured we were well informed of our options while in Port Douglas.

Our first night it was rainning, Lyllian ensured we had an umbrella on our way out for dinner. It was a real personal touch.

The rooms have been recently refurbished to an excellent standard. All modern amenities are available and there is free wifi. The bed was comfortable and the room had both air conditioning and a ceiling fan.

Overall we were glad we stayed and will definitely choose to stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a great stay with us and hope that you travel safely on the rest of your journey. We hope to see you both again in Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came up to stay in Port for one night as we are locals in Kewarra Beach. We have stayed in numerous accommodation places in Port and this is great place for a short stay. The accommodation is bright and breezy and Lillian really makes you welcome. Thank you. Will be back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are pleased you chose to stay with us! Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.

Thanks again,

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wongaling Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I just recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and could not think of a better motel, our fav to return to, the Port Douglas Motel. Accompanied by our friends, their first visit and certainly not their last also, was all that we expected and more......Lilian, John and son Bernie made us all feel so welcome and at home, the motel had been recently refurbished to our surprise and a job well done, lovely and bright colours and touches throughout, the rooms are so comfortable and well set up, loooove the shower, so big and so easy to access. Another bonus is to be able to park right outside your room and also the kitchen/ bbq set up around the pool area.
We stayed an extra night, having so much fun and love the fact that you can park your car and walk everywhere, with lovely tips of restaurants and things to do from our wonderful hosts.
Cheers !! Nelly and Lindsay....Vanessa and Dougal (Mohammed Dali ) LOL

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a room downstairs particularly if you have lots of luggage and/or children so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4mission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. You four were great fun! We look forward to welcoming your better half back tomorrow!

See you soon,

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My daughter picked this motel for its location and it was spot on. A short 4 minute walk to 4 mile beach and the same distance in the other direction to the main street in Port Douglas. Recently taken over by new owners trying hard to lift the old image, and they're doing well. The beds are really comfortable and we chose two rooms with an adjoining door. Lillian and Bernie were very helpful and friendly. The little kitchen was a bonus for a motel room but I would have liked breakfast provided as it is a motel.

Room Tip: Chose the highest number rooms away from Davidson Street which may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your time in providing a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback.

Our website does not advertise the provision of breakfast for guests. However, we do provide kitchenettes (which include kettles, toasters, microwave, fridge and utensils) for those guests that want to prepare their own breakfast. There is also a convenience store only two minutes away.

Whether a guest stays in room 1 ( closest to Davidson St) or room 11 (at the rear of the building near Owen St where you stayed) we have no issues with noise. All rooms run perpendicular to Davidson St and furthermore the building is constructed of core-filled Besser Block. We have never ever had a guest complain of road noise.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Port Douglas.

Regards,

Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Treated with total utter rudeness. Arriving back from a function in port douglas I waited for my key I was approached and spoken to by a member of the night staff and accused accused and insulted in front of my child...not a good rating from me, which
is a pity because on arrival I would rated
it a 4. Now i rate it
-3.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Front Office Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We have considered your unfavourable review. Our Motel is for the comfort and pleasure of all guests. At 11.45 p.m. (15 minutes before midnight) management requested your husband to keep the noise down. Sitting on the step outside your room you informed me you had been to a party and was waiting for your room key to be returned to you as it had been left in a car. I offered to provide a duplicate key to you. You refused the offer. I was neither rude nor insulting. We pride ourselves on our customer service. The feedback from other guests is positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
661 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Property: Port Douglas Motel
Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing