We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family room in centrally located motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Douglas Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely family room in centrally located motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well appointed and modern family room with good attention to detail. The room has 2 doubles and 2 singles; a kitchenette with microwave and fridge, and bathroom with good quality fittings and nice soaps and shampoo provided. Lovely pool area with beautiful outdoor kitchen. Easy 2 minute walk to Macrossan street and Beach, but nice and quiet for a good sleep. We were able to book just one night for the triathlon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hales4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Being the closest Motel to all of the action we are very well placed to host guests for triathlons. A few minutes to the beach and a great spot for spectators to watch the cycling. And the good part is you can leave your vehicles at the Motel until events finish so no need to TRY and find a parking spot. We hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    94
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
144
208
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Port Douglas Motel. We were there for the Port Triathlon and it was great...so close to everything, walked everywhere, the car didn't move until we checked out.The owners are very friendly and helpful, Lillian made us feel very comfortable even when we accidentally went into the wrong room and set up our things..ooops hahaa. And our daughter said it was the "best holiday ever" so that topped it off for us. Thanks again guys, hope to be back again real soon :D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you kindly for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you are fit and well for work. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This beautifully clean, fresh and super family friendly motel is a sure winner for any holiday maker!! Lillian and John (owners) have done a truly remarkable job creating a warm, extremely friendly, 'home-away-from-home' atmosphere, the outdoor kitchenette by the pool being the perfect place to cook (utensils, pots, pans, spices all courtesy of the beautiful owners) while having a relaxing drink and watching the kids play in the pool. Coles and Main Street a few steps away, ultra central location but still private, this is a sure fire winner!! Thank you Lillian and John ❤️ from the Melbourne girls who loved your garden.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ainsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Ainsley and friends - Thank you for your review of our lovely Motel. . We thoroughly enjoyed your company and it makes us feel great to read such encouraging words. We hope to see you all again in Port Douglas. Safe travelling Lillian and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is perfectly positioned, walk to anything and, yet, quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. The rooms are modern, clean, and well appointed and represent great value for money. John and Lillian are ideal hosts and we found there tips for places to go to be very helpful. We only stayed the one night this time but would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JamaleHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for very much for your review. With our Motel being so close to everything this is a real bonus for our guests. See you next time you visit our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hi Lillian, John, thank you for all the efforts you have put into this motel since taking over, much appreciated, well equipped kitchen area for all to use, big BBQ and pool area, nice to get to know others, think we all enjoyed this motel in port Douglas more than the 5 star property and was half the price. Keep up the good work as i know you are still developing the property. Location also best in town, takes only 2 minutes along main streeet and all the resturants, hope you make it over our way in Rotorua to lakes lodge so we can look after you guys, -2 today loved your 28 degrees, cheers Nick and Richelle

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickoo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Nick and Richelle,
Thank you for your very encouraging review. Since you left we have widened the driveway and it looks fantastic. We came across an inground swimming pool when we started digging...it was challenging removing it. We hope to see you all again in Port and when we next travel to NZ we will come and stay with you at your lodge. Regards to all Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed in a large room with 5 people. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pool area also had a communal kitchen and BBQ area that would be great for cooking your own meals.

The motel owners were very helpful with giving us info on what tours were good and helped us book the tours with discounts. They were very welcoming and more helpful than we could have hoped. Thank you again for the wonderful stay! I hope we can return someday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you all had a great stay with us and that we were able to offer good advice for tours and eating out. The Surf Club is still cooking great dishes!!
We will see you next year and we have a date for the Niagara Falls. See you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Smartly updated and owned/operated by a friendly local family. Spotless and updated rooms with good air conditioning, revamped bathrooms and unlimited complementary wi-fi. The motel also has several hire cars that guests can hire.

Extremely well located, close (50m) to Port Douglas's main strip and good restaurants/pubs/bars/takeaway. They can also get you discounts on nearby tours and excursions booked through them. Great value for money but also just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DytallixBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are now widening the driveway and it is starting to look great - very welcoming. We hope to see you again when you next visit Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Property: Port Douglas Motel
Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing