We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Port Douglas Motel
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in room 3 And loved our overnight stay.A beautiful exceptionally clean and modern room with a toaster,kettle,microwave and a bar fridge.Lovely big walk in shower,nice towels and I loved the bedding especially that gorgeous doona cover.As our vehicle wouldn't fit in the parking they let us park in their yard next door.Bernie and Lillian were very friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gandtmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our comfy guestrooms. We are glad we were able to accommodate your large vehicle on our adjoining property. This large parking area comes in really handy for those travellers with campervans or caravans. See you next time you come to Port Douglas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Port Douglas Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Parking was cramped to say the least, why not dump the smokers chairs outside their rooms and make it easier to park your car-after all this is a Motel not a Hotel.
I would have given it 4 stars but found someone elses dental floss in the shower on arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We have considered your review. As you occupied a family room, there are no small tables and chairs outside this upstairs area. The hallway is uncluttered. I am totally at a loss to note your reference to "smoker's chairs outside their rooms". The small tables and chairs are located outside some of the downstairs rooms. These are for the comfort of guests who wish to sit outside their room and enjoy the ambience of our property. The parking area is more than adequate. Most guests reverse into the parking spot and have no trouble with ingress/egress. My cleaners pride themselves on their cleaning ability and spotless state in which they leave guest rooms so I cannot comment on your complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

So happy with our one night stay - comfort, comfort, comfort and very clean - best pillow ever. The location is really good - surrounded by fab restaurants and the beach is close by. We stayed with our grown up child but with small kids it would be lovely too. Was the first time we stayed anywhere our son didn't jump on the bed (which was a sad growing up sign!!)

Room Tip: all rooms are equally as nice
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We thank you for your review. Yes, new beds and pillows make for a good night's sleep. And, you cannot beat our location...in the heart of town!!! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights here and had a great stay. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A mini kitchen with fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster was great for breakfast. The big walk in shower was perfect. The room also had free wifi. There is a covered kitchen and barbie area outside for guest use. Also a laundry. We didn't use either. Our son loved the pool. The owners Lilian and John were very friendly and welcoming and their son Bernie really helpful too. Bernie booked us on a couple of great day trips, snorkelling and rainforest, we we very impressed.
Thank you so much :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helssuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are pleased you had a great stay with us. We hope the rest of your holiday is fun before you return to the cold weather. Our cleaners take great pride in their work and thank you for your compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We only stayed one night, but were impressed. The room was large with a new bathroom and undercover parking. It is an older style hotel, but very clean and comfortable, also with a little kitchenette.The manager was very friendly and helpful. Great location, right in the middle of town. The pool was only small - not a resort style motel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan-Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review. You couldn't ask for a better location - right in town. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here and had a pleasant stay. The motel is very basic but comfortable. Staff are also friendly from our 2 encounters (check in and check out). Compared to other hotels we stayed at along our trip this one was on the more expensive side for what you got, however you pay more being in a holiday destination. The bed was not very comfortable and the water pressure for showering was very low. we had to give average rating as it didn't quite fit the 4 star very good rating. A comfortable stay and friendly staff, but we would probably go somewhere else for the value next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littletripper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thankyou for your feedback. Yes our staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We are sorry that our Motel did not meet your expectations. We hope you have better luck the next time you travel to Port Douglas.

Regards,

Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel but had to rate it a 5 because it was more than expected for the price. Perfectly clean, wonderful Lillian to help you at the front desk, an absolutely perfect location for heading to the beach, the marina or Macrossan street. The bed was comfortable, good pillows and towels. The room was spacious and had a little kitchen with dishes and a kettle and toaster -- and microwave and fridge. Really there was nothing to complain about! Even has undercover parking for free! Can't go wrong with this place in PD.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jaymelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for providing your review of our Motel and staff. We greatly appreciate the feedback. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Address: 9 Davidson St | Just 50 metre from Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: £63 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing