We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Welcome”
Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Douglas Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Welcome”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at this motel for a few days. The room was great! It was quiet and peaceful. Freshly painted, clean, new bright soft furnishings, colourful art work, comfortable beds and really good pillows. This motel is within walking distance of all the restaurants, shops and the markets. The welcome was friendly and the service fantastic. I would recommend all travellers to consider this motel if they are planning to travel to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your time in providing a review of our motel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Being a family owned and operated business we strive to make sure all guests have a great stay with us. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    95
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
147
218
54
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Port Douglas Motel is in a great location, walking distance to shops, restaurants and beach. The Motel is run by a lovely family, parents Lillian, John and their son Bernie. They were very helpful and helped us book airport transfers, tours and car hire.

We stayed for three nights in the Queen + single Guestroom (and rollaway bed was supplied) with our 2 teenage daughters and were quite comfortable and then moved for rest of holiday to a Twin Double + single Guestroom, this was a lovely room with plenty of room for the four of us. (Thank you to the great cleaning staff that transferred all our luggage to our new room)

Motel has been recently renovated and rooms looks bright, clean and fresh.

We had a great holiday here and hope to stay again!

Stayed July 2014, with family

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MareeAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We so pleased you all had a great stay with us and that the weather was bright and sunny. We hope to see you all back in Port Douglas for your next well deserved holiday. Don't work too hard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Really friendly welcome - nothing was too much trouble, and we asked lots of questions!!(all answers happily provided). They even booked all our tours and arranged pickups at a discount; Great central location. Fresh, clean, quiet, bright and cheerful. Spacious and all the little comfort details attended to. Walking distance to all the highlights of Port Douglas. Would definitely recommend to anyone I know wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelinegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We greatly appreciate your review and thank you both for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back to our Motel should you choose Port Douglas for next year's reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My partner and I didn't actually stay at Port Douglas Motel but we hired a Hyundia Getz from Go Topless Car rentals (part of the motel) at the beginning of this month. Usually the cars are ready for collection from 8am once being returned by the previous customer. However, my partner and I were due to do a skydive in Cairns early morning and so needed the car at 7am. The owners were so helpful and friendly! They let us pick up the keys to the car the evening before, but also let us leave the car on their premises and we had no parking, so then we could just come to collect it whatever time we needed it that morning. They charged us no extra even though we were having the car slightly longer. After we returned it and the following days we had left in Port Douglas, whenever we saw the owners they would always say Hello and ask how we were. The car hire was the cheapest we found and the owners were such genuine, friendly people, who went out of their way to help us in any way they could! I would highly recommend you use Go Topless for Car Hire if you are looking for a cheap, hassle free and friendly service.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We greatly appreciate your review and thank you both for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back to our Motel should you choose Port Douglas for next year's reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a family run business and they treat you kinda like family. I stayed here for 2 nights. I came to PD to snorkel the reef and see the rain forest. There were issues with one of my tours and when the tour operator tried to reach me a the hotel and couldn't Bernie found a way to reach me while I was still in Sydney. This was thoughtful and much appreciated! I also want to mention something about Lillian and her husband. The night after I had spent a day suffering from a lot of sea sickness during that reef tour, I came to the front desk to ask for directions. Lillian was there to help me, she noticed that I looked awful!! She was so empathetic with my situation, she offered me fruit and aspirin etc. It was very thoughtful and I just want to say thanks! My short interactions with all three of the owners were fantastic. Just nice people.

As for the motel itself. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, this is not it. If you are looking for a luxury apartment this is not it. This is about a 3 star MOTEL. I was very surprised by how clean and neat the room was. It is clear that the place has been through a complete reno recently. It was extremely close to the center of town. Everything was in walking distance. The room was quiet and I personally felt very comfortable. The little mini fridge and the microwave were a nice bonus. There was also a small table to have a meal or to work on your laptop.

I would certainly recommend this place (and have already to Aussie friends) and would certainly stay there again without a doubt. If you need a comfortable place to put your head at the end of the night this is it!

Thanks again Lillian, you're a treasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms are not only comfortable and clean but also quiet. If you ever return to Australia, we hope to see you back in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareeba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Living on the tablelands we often pop down the coast for overnight/s stay." Very impressed!!" The service was exceptional, thankyou Bernie. Rooms spacious, modern, extremely clean and comfortable AND affordable. Only a couple of minutes to beach, shops and restaurants. So good, have just re-booked for 2 nights in Oct. As they say,when your on a good thing, stick to it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSuth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your time providing your review of our Motel. We are really pleased that you are coming back to stay with us again in October. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had 7 nights in a family room with 2 teenagers and couldn't fault the comfort or cleanliness.The location is fantastic only 3 minutes to the beach (even supplied with free beach towels) and 2 minutes to Macrossan st.The owners couldn't have been more helpful with organising tours for us.And all at a very affordable cost. Hopefully we will be going back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheelaghAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are pleased you all had a great stay with us and went back to Adelaide fresh and relaxed. It's a shame you couldn 't take the warm weather with you. We hope to see you all again next time you visit sunny Queensland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Property: Port Douglas Motel
Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing