We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of bel cibo

bel cibo
Ranked #32 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: US$16 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: bel cibo is a stylish yet informal Italian restaurant in the heart of Port Douglas with superb food, great service & alfresco dining, on the mezzanine floor of the Saltwater building, perfect for watching the day go by or the activity along the Macrossan Street.
1 review
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

A friendly greeting as we walked in was the start of a lovely dinning experience. The menu well catered for our family. The food was delicious and fresh. The wine list impressive. Will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are glad to hear that the whole family enjoyed bel cibo & more so that you will be returning again, the best compliment. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    376
    120
    55
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Really good food and service”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We enjoyed eating here and everything we ordered was really good. It was nice to people watch as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dabbler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for your great comments & glad to hear you enjoyed dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Cuisine”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived with no booking. Were told we might have a half hour wait but were seated in 5 minutes. Everything was superb - service, food, atmosphere. Prices are some of the most reasonable in Port Douglas for the quality cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank andrewbW8364KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Very happy to hear that you had a great time with us, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I was appalled at how rude the wait staff were”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We didn't even get to a table because the wait staff members were extremely rude to us. As soon as we entered the restaurant (near the bar) staff members were walking directly past us without saying a word. We were standing there waiting for just over 5 minutes. Finally someone came over and very rudely asked us if we had a reservation. We said no. And she said curtly to wait and walked off. Someone else came over and was again very rude, saying that since we didn't make a reservation we can't eat here.
I'm a very understanding person, and understand that it was a busy night for them but don't understand why the wait staff were so rude. They should have made us a priority right when we walked in and been a little bit more accommodating (For example by saying oh I am very sorry we are completely full for dinner tonight but if you would live to make a reservation for tomorrow we can certainly do that for you).
I work in the restaurant industry, and that is NOT how you treat your guests.

On a happier note, the menu looked good, and it would have been nice to try it if we had a better first impression of the restaurant and it's wait staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for your review but I must say I find it rather an odd tale, we are far from terrible & considering you didn't eat here it's a unfair rating. We are an extremely busy restaurant & we simply cannot accommodate all the clients we would like to. If the staff member stopped & greeted you & asked if you had a booking & you didn't then it is handed to the manager to possibly find a table but if there isn't one then & there what can we do? If you are in the restaurant industry surely you know to book, it's common sense. Thanks & I hope you enjoyed dining in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, despite service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Overall the food was fine. However our experience at this very busy restaurant was marred by service - First when we arrived for an 8 o' clock dinner booking - our table was not ready and so we waited. The food was quite slow in arriving and then at the end we were asked to wait for the bill while they punched in the order of a large table that could not be interrupted as there was only one computer - although the restaurant did apologise for this latter event. Any one of these would be acceptable, but added together made for poor service experience on this occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review & great comments in regard to the food.
Unfortunately on the night you dined we did have a issue with the hardware on the till system & it could not be rectified during the service. This did slow the service down & for your waiting I apologise. This also added to the to the issue that your table wasn't ready upon your arrival.
In regard to having to ask for the bill, I've mentioned this before, it's a fine line between pushing a guest out & realising they are ready to go, as everyone is different. Just last night I cleared a tables mains & was asked for the bill, they were very happy but wanted an early night, I never would have given them the bill had they not asked. thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed bel cibo also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to bel cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing