We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This is a first-rate campsite. The camp kitchen and showers/toilets are very clean and well-maintained. The grounds are also well kept.

The friendly staff are a mine of information on things to do in the area - and they can book reef trips etc.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaze2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2010

We recently stayed 9 nights at Glengarry and were very happy with it, is about 6 klms from Port Douglas which appealed to us as we wanted somewhere to relax without busy roads and a lot of noise, yet be close to a great beach and shops. Park is huge and extremely well maintained the gardens are amazing not a leaf out of place. Staff were fantastic and gave great advice and had a thorough knowledge of the area. There some great fishing spots in the local area even better if you have a boat ask Rob one of the staff as he is a keen fisherman. I believe it gets very busy late May through September so pays to call ahead and make a booking. If you are fairly fit and want a great local experience do the Beach hunting adventure at Cooya Beach with Brandon Walker my 10 year old son and I did it and was the best tour we have done, every!! It was great value and you get to eat the catch afterwards, ask staff about it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mercuryprinciple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: emplacement camper van avec électricité
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PasciW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank klinkou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir waren auf einem Power Platz mit Ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ugo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margy B, Owner at BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jancalleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
889 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
656 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#8 of 57 in Port Douglas
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
3.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park

Address: 70 Mowbray River Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £80 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the Great Barrier Reef and the Ancient World Heritage Rainforest, Port Douglas is a unique link to the diversity of Australia, with its accessibility to the Reef, Rainforest and Outback.Up here in Far North Queensland you have an area that is unique to any other part of Australia, and Port Douglas is so close to many area's that offer so much for a traveller to experience. For the more adventurous there are many varied tours and activities that are sure to wet the appetite of the most intrepid traveller.After choosing your camp site, powered or ensuite site or checked into a cabin or two bedroom villa there is plenty to see and do in Port Douglas and surrounding areas. Explore the Markets, the many and varied shops or have a coffee in one of Port's cosmopolitan Cafes, explore our natural attractions, take a trip to the Reef or self drive to Daintree National Park. A must see is Mossman Gorge with it's gorgeous 2.8Km walk around the national park, through some of the most spectacular rainforest (this is the start of the Daintree Rainforest). There is also the option of day trips to places such as Kuranda via the Train and Skyrail, the Atherton Tablelands, Cape Tribulation or even Cooktown. Alternatively, if you would like to catch up with news from home, we have FREE wireless access in our internet kiosk/hotspot area. Surrounded by natural wonders, Port Douglas offers a relaxing holiday destination with its spotless beaches and sparkling freshwater creeks. It is impossible to see and enjoy all that this area has to offer in a day. Our guests so often book in for 2 nights and end up staying for quite a few more just so they can experience all that the area has to offer. Experience all BIG4 Glengarry Holiday Park, Port Douglas and surrounds have to offer while enjoying the gorgeous weather of the tropics. We all need time out now and again whatever the weather, so discover the breathtaking northern tropics of Australia in our "GREEN SEASON" months at Port Douglas (December to March). The "GREEN SEASON" is often dramatic, wildly beautiful and eagerly awaited by our tropical rainforests. Without our annual rainfall, there would be no rainforest and, as many visitors discover, our 'Liquid Sunshine' doesn't usually interfere with diving, snorkeling or touring. The climate is seductive. Balmy days dissolve into tropical evenings. The tropics are a feast for the senses whether we have summer showers or warm sunshine during Winter. If all this is not enough, only 40 minutes drive to the south is Cairns with its shops, movie theatres, restaurants and beautiful Esplanade lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Port Douglas Glengarry Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing