We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Sassi

Sassi
Ranked #7 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had booked to eat at Harrisons, but after deciding not to eat there and leaving, we walked around the corner to Sassi.
What a completely different experience, Sassi's staff were friendly and welcoming and the cocktails and food were great. Thank you for recovering our evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    200
    69
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply superb Italian!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

What a great experience! After reading many reviews on T.A we decided on Sassi for dinner our last night in Port.
My partner & I shared the salt cod crochettes & some beautiful scallops from that days specials. Entrees were well presented and timed well after our drinks.
We had to try the pasta so had the spaghetti puttanesca & tagliatelle between us. All meals were superb, and more than compare with what we had when travelling through Italy last year! Give Sassi a go!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bren813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had lunch here and the meal was quite nice although the presentation could do with some spicing up... Food was average and the staff we consistent ... Not too bad

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katattack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“By far best Italian restaurant in Port Douglas”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We visited Port Douglas for a week and ate here 5 times! The food compared to some of the best Italian restaurants I have dined at in LA, NY, Rome etc.. The pasta was delicious and the steak was incredible. The service was amazing and friendly. We tried Bucci and it can't even compare to Sassi! If you want Italian food in Port Douglas .. This is your best choice!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Went for cocktails stayed for dinner”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Wandering the streets we decided to stop at sassi for a drink before deciding on a dinner destination..... Cocktails, bottle of wine and several dishes later we rolled out. The pizza was simple, fresh and unbelievable! Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sassi also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing